Megan • Reading Books Like a Boss (book blog)

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Megan • Reading Books Like a Boss (book blog).

https://readingbookslikeaboss.com
https://www.goodreads.com/ireadlikeaboss

End of Day
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Loading...
Emily St. John Mandel
“The beauty of this world where almost everyone was gone. If hell is other people, what is a world with almost no people in it?”
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

Emily St. John Mandel
“She was thinking about the way she’d always taken for granted that the world had certain people in it, either central to her days or unseen and infrequently thought of. How without any one of these people the world is a subtly but unmistakably altered place, the dial turned just one or two degrees.”
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

Emily St. John Mandel
“Cold rain, the sidewalk shining, the shhh of car tires on the wet street. Thinking about the terrible gulf of years between eighteen and fifty.”
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

Iain Reid
“Are small, critical actions enough? Small gestures make us feel good—about ourselves, about others. Small things connect us. They feel like everything. A lot depends on them. It’s not unlike religion and God. We believe in certain constructs that help us understand life. Not only to understand it, but as a means of providing comfort.”
Iain Reid, I'm Thinking of Ending Things

Emily St. John Mandel
“But anyway, I look around sometimes and I think - this will maybe sound weird - it's like the corporate world's full of ghosts. And actually, let me revise that, my parents are in academia so I've had front row seats for that horror show, I know academia's no different, so maybe a fairer way of putting this would be to say that adulthood's full of ghosts."

"I'm sorry, I'm not sure I quite --"

"I'm talking about these people who've ended up in one life instead of another and they are just so disappointed. Do you know what I mean? They've done what's expected of them. They want to do something different but it's impossible now, there's a mortgage, kids, whatever, they're trapped. Dan's like that."

"You don't think he likes his job, then."

"Correct," she said, "but I don't think he even realises it. You probably encounter people like him all the time. High-functioning sleepwalkers, essentially.”
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

102203 Grab Your Pole Group Therapy — 101 members — last activity May 19, 2018 02:21PM
I've fallen in love with Jenn Cooksey and her GYP world. I know I'm not the only one and I think it's time we had a place to come together to swoon ov ...more
74205 The Indie Bookshelf — 1732 members — last activity Dec 23, 2020 02:00PM
We are a group of avid readers and bloggers who review independent author's books. We offer our services free of charge and sincerely wish to bring mo ...more
43574 Romance on Audio — 204 members — last activity Nov 06, 2019 05:02PM
If you love romance audiobooks, or would like to know more about them, this is the place to be. I love to read, but in our busy life it seems to get h ...more
year in books
Estelle
1,627 books | 280 friends

Flatiro...
272 books | 1,385 friends

Wil Lov...
2,890 books | 2,176 friends

Giselle
1,767 books | 520 friends

Hannah ...
537 books | 2,622 friends

Asheley
1,819 books | 1,286 friends

Amy
Amy
1,949 books | 2,624 friends

Liz
Liz
2,089 books | 2,229 friends

More friends…



Polls voted on by Megan • Reading Books Like a Boss (book blog)

Lists liked by Megan • Reading Books Like a Boss (book blog)