Tiffanie DeBartolo

Cami Ba...
8,483 books | 158 friends

Ashley
676 books | 26 friends

K. Moore
354 books | 667 friends

Heather
1,724 books | 401 friends

Jene
1,429 books | 171 friends

Leila
428 books | 93 friends

Erika
888 books | 414 friends

Mo
Mo
5,350 books | 1,216 friends

More friends…

Tiffanie DeBartolo

Goodreads Author


Born
in Youngstown, OH, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
U2

Member Since
April 2017

URL


Tiffanie DeBartolo's most recent novel is Sorrow. Her previous novels include God Shaped Hole (2002), How To Kill a Rock Star (2005), and the graphic novel Grace: Based on the Jeff Buckley Story (2019). She also wrote and directed the film Dream for an Insomniac (1996) starring Jennifer Aniston and Ione Skye.
Tiffanie is the founder and CEO of San Francisco Bay Area record label Bright Antenna, whose roster of artists include The Wombats, Wilderado, Sports Team, and Prep.
Tiffanie is also the cofounder of the ShineMaker Foundation, a charity organization dedicated to supporting human rights, women's rights, education, animal welfare, and the environment.
In her spare time, she is a runner, hiker, yogi, world-traveler, cook, poet, and artist.
S
...more

To ask Tiffanie DeBartolo questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Tiffanie DeBartolo Sorrow is coming out 10.20.20!
Tiffanie DeBartolo Well, if you would describe my previous books as having "romance" in them, then yes, it definitely does. Though I don't consider myself a writer of ro…moreWell, if you would describe my previous books as having "romance" in them, then yes, it definitely does. Though I don't consider myself a writer of romance. To me, romance is fantasy, and it's one-dimensional. I write about love and the struggles of deep human connection, which is complex and nuanced.(less)
Average rating: 4.06 · 24,112 ratings · 3,570 reviews · 6 distinct worksSimilar authors
How to Kill a Rock Star

4.06 avg rating — 14,901 ratings — published 2005 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
God-Shaped Hole

4.04 avg rating — 8,346 ratings — published 2002 — 23 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sorrow

4.43 avg rating — 597 ratings — published 2020 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Grace: Based on the Jeff Bu...

by
3.83 avg rating — 222 ratings — published 2019 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Squirrel Pancake

4.14 avg rating — 36 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
First Second Winter 2019 Di...

by
3.40 avg rating — 10 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Tiffanie DeBartolo…

Art, Love, & Redemtion

This article was originally posted on Girl Talk HQ on Oct 19, 2020

Art, Love, Redemption Converge In Music Executive’s Poignant Novel Critiquing Masculinity And The Millennial Generation

While doing press for my new novel Sorrow I’ve consistently been asked one question: How difficult was it to write from the point of view of a man? My initial reaction to this query is always, “Give me a break!”

Did Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on November 01, 2020 12:42 Tags: art, fear, feminism, literature, love, masculinity, music, redemption, sensitivity, vulnerability

Tiffanie’s Recent Updates

Tiffanie DeBartolo and 2 other people liked Douglas's review of Sorrow:
Sorrow by Tiffanie DeBartolo
"I just reread the last page, and I'm feeling really touched.

Why does a book rate 5 stars? In this case because it was extremely enjoyable to read. The overall life philosophy was warm and positive. Just the right touch of magical in a grounded story." Read more of this review »
Sorrow by Tiffanie DeBartolo
"This is such a unique story, Joe Harper's story is one I think will be with me for a long time, it was so refreshing from what I usually read in the best way possible. We get to know October a beautiful female artist and Cal Joe's childhood best frie" Read more of this review »
Tiffanie DeBartolo wants to read
Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tiffanie DeBartolo voted for Sorrow as Best Fiction in the Opening Round of the 2020 Goodreads Choice Awards.
Sorrow by Tiffanie DeBartolo
Sorrow by Tiffanie DeBartolo
“Because while a book, a painting, a song, a piece of pottery, a tree can outlive us, none of those things will exist forever. But love is an energy. It's infinite.”
...more
Tiffanie DeBartolo
Tiffanie DeBartolo answered Scott Schumaker's question: Tiffanie DeBartolo
Two years of actual writing. But it was marinating in my head and heart for over a decade before I understood it enough to get it onto the page.
Tiffanie DeBartolo and 7 other people liked Daniele's review of Sorrow:
Sorrow by Tiffanie DeBartolo
"The moment I finished this book tears filled my eyes. This book is art in itself. Creating art. Becoming art. Breathing art.

When I opened this book and began, I knew little of Joe and October and of the trees, what I didn’t expect, but truly knew was" Read more of this review »
Tiffanie DeBartolo and 4 other people liked Laura Brown's review of Sorrow:
Sorrow by Tiffanie DeBartolo
"“There’s no such thing as inaction, Joe. There’s only choice and consequence.” Everyone has those moments they remember so vividly because they shaped your future, for better or for worse. You are a victim of circumstance, you may say, or should have" Read more of this review »
Sorrow by Tiffanie DeBartolo
“Some people think art is pretending, but to me it’s the opposite. It’s the one place where you can’t pretend.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo
Tiffanie DeBartolo rated a book it was amazing
Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Tiffanie's books…
“Did you really want to die?"
"No one commits suicide because they want to die."
"Then why do they do it?"
"Because they want to stop the pain.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo, How to Kill a Rock Star

“Anything less than mad, passionate, extraordinary love is a waste of time. There are too many mediocre things in life to deal with and love shouldn't be one of them.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo

“Personally, I don’t like inherently happy people. I don’t trust them. I think there’s something seriously wrong with anyone who isn’t at least a little let down by the world.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo, How to Kill a Rock Star

Polls

April 2017 BB's Choice
Vote For 1, Top 2 Win

The Obituary Writer The Obituary Writer by Ann Hood by Ann Hood
On the day John F. Kennedy is inaugurated, Claire, an uncompromising young wife and mother obsessed with the glamour of Jackie O, struggles over the decision of whether to stay in a loveless marriage or follow the man she loves and whose baby she may be carrying.
 
  4 votes 30.8%

Behind Her Eyes Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough by Sarah Pinborough
Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes?

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.
 
  2 votes 15.4%

The Handmaid's Tale The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood by Margaret Atwood
Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable.
 
  2 votes 15.4%

A Boy Made of Blocks A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

God-Shaped Hole God-Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo by Tiffanie DeBartolo
Written with the snap, glitter and wit of The Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing, God-Shaped Hole is a memorable, poignant love story that will leave you weeping with laughter. It is told in the wry, vulnerable voice of Beatrice "Trixie" Jordan who replies to a personal ad, "If your intentions are pure I am seeking a friend for the end of the world."
 
  1 vote 7.7%

I'll Take You There I'll Take You There by Wally Lamb by Wally Lamb
New York Times bestselling author Wally Lamb weaves an evocative, deeply affecting tapestry of one Baby Boomer's life—Felix Funicello, introduced in Wishin’ and Hopin’—and the trio of unforgettable women who have changed it, in this radiant homage to the resiliency, strength, and power of women.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

Lone Wolf Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult by Jodi Picoult
A life hanging in the balance…a family torn apart. The #1 internationally bestselling author Jodi Picoult tells an unforgettable story about family secrets, love, and letting go.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

The Butterfly Garden The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison by Dot Hutchison
Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden. In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

13 total votes
More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Books on the Nigh...: What are you reading May 2013? 186 318 Jun 04, 2013 10:21AM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Summer Challenge 2013: Completed Tasks (DO NOT DELETE POSTS) 2515 718 Aug 31, 2013 09:04PM  
Romance Readers R...: Climb the Stairs Q&A Thread 140 485 Nov 05, 2013 08:56PM  
The Seasonal Read...: Spring Challenge 2014: Reading Plans 35 290 Mar 15, 2014 03:13PM  
WACKY READING CHA...: August Group Read - God-Shaped Hole 37 32 Aug 26, 2015 06:56AM  
The Challenge Fac...: Team ~ Sleeping Beauty 879 106 Aug 27, 2015 07:24AM  
Nothing But Readi...: ROUND II: Team Hector 382 248 Aug 29, 2015 11:06PM  
The Challenge Fac...: Team ~ Red Riding Hood ***2nd Place Team*** 1323 134 Sep 03, 2015 01:47PM  
“It is impossible to become less of yourself by doing something you really wanna do. You can only become less by not doing it.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo, Sorrow

“There's nothing like heartbreak to crack a person wide open. But the cracks can sometimes act as reservoirs too.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo, Sorrow

“Some people think art is pretending, but to me it’s the opposite. It’s the one place where you can’t pretend.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo, Sorrow

“Because while a book, a painting, a song, a piece of pottery, a tree can outlive us, none of those things will exist forever. But love is an energy. It's infinite.”
Tiffanie DeBartolo, Sorrow




No comments have been added yet.