Poetry

Poetry is a form of literary art in which language is used for its aesthetic and evocative qualities in addition to, or in lieu of, its apparent meaning. Poetry may be written independently, as discrete poems, or may occur in conjunction with other arts, as in poetic drama, hymns or lyrics.

Poetry, and discussions of it, have a long history. Early attempts to define poetry, such as Aristotle's Poetics, focused on the uses of speech in rhetoric, drama, song and comedy.[1] Later attempts concentrated on features such as repetition and rhyme, and emphasised the aesthetics which distinguish poetry
...more

Dearly: New Poems
Home Body
What Kind of Woman: Poems
I Would Leave Me If I Could: A Collection of Poetry
Earth Keeper: Reflections on the American Land
LOVE, HOPE AND MAGIC
And the People Stayed Home
We Want It All: An Anthology of Radical Trans Poetics
My Name Will Grow Wide Like a Tree: Selected Poems
Inheritance
The Tale of a Niggun
My Dawn Is Only Five Hours Away
Adjusting to the Lights
Gateway 2000 & Other Poems
Best Canadian Poetry 2020
  • Dear God by Bunmi Laditan
    Dear God: Honest Prayers to a God Who Listens

    Release date: Jan 26, 2021
    Enter for a chance to win one of 20 advance copies of Dear God by Bunmi Laditan.

    This broken world so often breaks our hearts and sends us searching
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 20 copies available, 597 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 30 - Dec 11, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Carson Clare's Trail Guide to Avoiding Death by Bruce McCandless III
    Carson Clare's Trail Guide to Avoiding Death (And Other Unpleasant Consequences)
    by

    Release date: Nov 11, 2018
    Parents with adolescents! Adolescents with parents! Teachers! Babysitters! Shapers of America's future! Sign up now for your chance to win a free copy ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 252 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Dec 04 - Dec 13, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • If I Tell You the Truth by Jasmin Kaur
    If I Tell You the Truth

    Release date: Jan 19, 2021
    Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur, this heartrending story told in prose, poetry, and illustration weaves together the stories of a ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1732 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 16 - Dec 14, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse
    The Sun and Her Flowers
    I Will Judge You by Your Bookshelf
    Long Way Down
    Dearly: New Poems
    What Kind of Woman: Poems
    Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel
    Before the Ever After
    Punching the Air
    I Am Every Good Thing
    Here Is the Beehive
    Heart Berries
    The New One: Painfully True Stories from a Reluctant Dad
    On the Horizon
    Beowulf: A New Translation
    Kürk Mantolu Madonna by Sabahattin AliTutunamayanlar by Oğuz AtayAylak Adam by Yusuf AtılganPuslu Kıtalar Atlası by İhsan Oktay AnarSaatleri Ayarlama Enstitüsü by Ahmet Hamdi Tanpınar
    Best of Turkish Literature
    545 books — 801 voters
    The Complete Stories and Poems by Edgar Allan PoeThe Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson by Emily DickinsonDuino Elegies by Rainer Maria RilkeThe Cantos by Ezra PoundThe Waste Land and Other Poems by T.S. Eliot
    Your Favourite Book of Poetry.
    710 books — 725 voters

    Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuireThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenHopeless by Colleen HooverDivergent by Veronica RothFallen Too Far by Abbi Glines
    What we've read so far in 2013...
    8,082 books — 2,801 voters
    The Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenGone Girl by Gillian FlynnThe Martian by Andy WeirWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart
    What we've read so far in...2015
    10,116 books — 2,152 voters

    Una Historia de Ayer by Sergio CoboNicu II and Victoria's Incestuous Romance by Kenneth Jarrett SingletonMurder In Absentia by Assaph MehrDreams Come True by Bridgitte LesleySecrets of the Realm by Bev Stout
    Self-Pub or Indie Books Worth the Read
    1,147 books — 1,073 voters
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsHell's Gate by Benjamin DanielsCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenWild by Cheryl Strayed
    My Favorite Books of 2012
    462 books — 500 voters

    Milk and Honey
    Where the Sidewalk Ends
    The Sun and Her Flowers
    The Princess Saves Herself in This One (Women Are Some Kind of Magic, #1)
    Leaves of Grass
    A Light in the Attic
    Ariel
    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson
    Howl and Other Poems
    The Odyssey
    Beowulf
    Paradise Lost
    Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair
    Shakespeare's Sonnets
    The Iliad

    Related Genres

    Related News

    This June, as we observe LGBTQ Pride—the annual celebration of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning communities—we...
    Plato
    Every heart sings a song, incomplete, until another heart whispers back. Those who wish to sing always find a song. At the touch of a lover, everyone becomes a poet.
    Plato

    E.E. Cummings
    Unbeing dead isn't being alive.
    E. E. Cummings

    More quotes...
    Flappers and Philosophers Welcome to the Flappers and Philosophers Book Club. While the name of this book club itself…more
    3 members, last active 15 days ago
    The Poetry Spot This group is for poets, published poets, and lovers of poetry. Do you have a published poetry…more
    331 members, last active 3 days ago
    A Year of Shakespeare This is a group for people interested in reading Shakespeare in 2020. The schedule is for one…more
    40 members, last active 3 days ago
    Résumé Book Club 20-something ukulele playing francophones with philosophy degrees reading together
    2 members, last active 10 days ago
    Poems
    48 chapters — updated May 20, 2020 04:51AM — 12 people liked it
    Poems
    8 chapters — updated Jun 12, 2013 02:09PM — 145 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: poetry, genre__poetry, poems, poesia, poesía, and poetry-books