Poetry

Poetry is a form of literary art in which language is used for its aesthetic and evocative qualities in addition to, or in lieu of, its apparent meaning. Poetry may be written independently, as discrete poems, or may occur in conjunction with other arts, as in poetic drama, hymns or lyrics.

Poetry, and discussions of it, have a long history. Early attempts to define poetry, such as Aristotle's Poetics, focused on the uses of speech in rhetoric, drama, song and comedy.[1] Later attempts concentrated on features such as repetition and rhyme, and emphasised the aesthetics which distinguish poetry
...more

Useless Magic
William Shakespeare's Jedi the Last: Star Wars Part the Eighth (William Shakespeare's Star Wars, #8)
A Carnival of Losses: Notes Nearing Ninety
Planting Gardens in Graves II
Songbreaths
Melodrama
A Poem With Your Name
Founder
With
Neither One nor the Other
The Terrible: A Storyteller's Memoir
American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin
I Hope My Voice Doesn't Skip
Lessons In Camouflage
The Hatch

Giveaways

  • Limericks Haiku and Other Short Poems by Vanessa Ngam
    Limericks Haiku and Other Short Poems
    by
    Release date: Jun 15, 2017
    Enter the chance to win a digital copy of LHAOSP by Vanessa
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 78 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Aug 14 - Aug 21, 2018

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Glimmerglass Girl by Holly Walrath
    Glimmerglass Girl
    by
    Release date: Aug 03, 2018
    **SIGNED COPY GIVEAWAY**
    For readers of Rupi Kaur and Lang Leav, this debut poetry collection is about womanhood and femininity.

    Enter to win 1 of 10 l
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 928 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jul 25 - Aug 22, 2018

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Longest Night by Ranata Suzuki
    The Longest Night: A Collection of Poetry from a Life Half Lived
    by
    Release date: Aug 24, 2018
    Enter now to win one of 3 signed copies of 'The Longest Night' by Ranata Suzuki!

    To celebrate the upcoming release of my long-awaited debut poetry coll
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 3 copies available, 544 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jul 27 - Aug 23, 2018

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Sun and Her Flowers
    The End We Start From
    Any Man
    Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too
    Useless Magic
    For Every One
    Sea of Strangers
    The Terrible: A Storyteller's Memoir
    Adultolescence
    Light Filters In: Poems
    When I Hit You: Or, A Portrait of the Writer as a Young Wife
    Blood Water Paint
    The Universe of Us
    One
    Breakout
    The Hobbit by J.R.R. TolkienThe Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. TolkienHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeeAnimal Farm by George Orwell
    Works of Pure Genius
    445 books — 579 voters
    The Complete Stories and Poems by Edgar Allan PoeThe Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson by Emily DickinsonDuino Elegies by Rainer Maria RilkeThe Cantos by Ezra PoundAutumn Sonata by Georg Trakl
    Your Favourite Book of Poetry.
    551 books — 585 voters

    The Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenGone Girl by Gillian FlynnThe Martian by Andy WeirWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart
    What we've read so far in...2015
    10,225 books — 2,122 voters
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsHell's Gate by Benjamin DanielsThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenInsurgent by Veronica Roth
    My Favorite Books of 2012
    464 books — 500 voters

    Where the Sidewalk Ends
    Milk and Honey
    Leaves of Grass
    A Light in the Attic
    Ariel
    The Princess Saves Herself in this One (Women are Some Kind of Magic, #1)
    Howl and Other Poems
    The Odyssey
    The Sun and Her Flowers
    Beowulf
    Paradise Lost
    The Iliad
    Sonnets
    The Waste Land and Other Poems
    Les Fleurs du Mal

    Related Genres

    Billy Collins
    Billy Collins Aimless Love: New and Selected Poems
    His Favorite Works of Poetry: The former poet laureate and Goodreads Choice Best Poetry Finalist for the collection Aimless Love offers his top five.
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    G.K. Chesterton
    Poets have been mysteriously silent on the subject of cheese.
    G.K. Chesterton, Alarms and Discursions

    E.E. Cummings
    Unbeing dead isn't being alive.
    E.E. Cummings

    More quotes...
    The History Book Club "Interested in history - then you have found the right group". The History Book Club is the lar…more

    16,321 members, last active 4 hours ago

    ¡ POETRY ! No pretensions: just poetry. Stop by, recommend books, offer up poems (excerpted), tempt us, tau…more

    21,167 members, last active 4 hours ago

    Rayan Riener - Fun Club Hello everybody!! I alternative model, blogger, writer and poet from Ukraine. Thank you for your…more

    3 members, last active 3 months ago

    All About Books We're here because we like reading and we like chatting about reading. But we are here especiall…more

    4,127 members, last active a moment ago

    Little Angel Was My Muse
    3 chapters — updated Jun 01, 2016 04:12PM — 99 people liked it
    Roses and Myrhh
    41 chapters — updated Nov 20, 2016 12:37AM — 0 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: poetry, genre__poetry, poems, poesia, poesía, and poetry-books