Fantasy

Fantasy is a genre that uses magic and other supernatural forms as a primary element of plot, theme, and/or setting. Fantasy is generally distinguished from science fiction and horror by the expectation that it steers clear of technological and macabre themes, respectively, though there is a great deal of overlap between the three (collectively known as speculative fiction or science fiction/fantasy)

In its broadest sense, fantasy comprises works by many writers, artists, filmmakers, and musicians, from ancient myths and legends to many recent works embraced by a wide audience today, including
...more

Lapvona
Glow (The Plated Prisoner, #4)
Ordinary Monsters
Forging Silver into Stars (Forging Silver into Stars, #1)
Blade Breaker (Realm Breaker, #2)
The Dead Romantics
The Measure
Juniper & Thorn
Our Crooked Hearts
Stealing Infinity (Stolen Beauty, #1)
For the Throne (Wilderwood, #2)
This Vicious Grace (The Last Finestra, #1)
Hell Followed With Us
The Blood Traitor (The Prison Healer, #3)
Nolyn (The Rise and Fall, #1)
  • Lost Rings and Other Things by Vanessa Raccio
    Lost Rings and Other Things (Rathburn #1)
    by

    Release date: Aug 23, 2022
    Enter to win a SIGNED ARC of LOST RINGS AND OTHER THINGS, the first installment of a new fantasy series. 10 winners will be chosen.
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 5318 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jun 06 - Jul 06, 2022

    Countries available: U.S. and Canada

  • You Only Live Once, David Bravo by Mark Oshiro
    You Only Live Once, David Bravo
    by

    Release date: Sep 20, 2022
    From award-winning author Mark Oshiro comes a time-bending adventure for fans of Sal and Gabi Break the Universe. Enter to win an ARC!
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 2616 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jun 09 - Jul 06, 2022

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Drowned Woods by Emily Lloyd-Jones
    The Drowned Woods
    by

    Release date: Aug 16, 2022
    Enter for a chance to win one of fifteen advanced reader copies of THE DROWNED WOODS by Emily Lloyd-Jones!

    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 15 copies available, 7286 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jun 08 - Jul 06, 2022

    Countries available: U.S.

  • He Who Fights With Monsters 6 (He Who Fights with Monsters, #6)
    The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air, #3)
    The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air, #2)
    This Time Tomorrow
    The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air, #1)
    Circe
    Portal to Nova Roma: Venice
    Sorrow's Song (Lizzie Grace #9)
    House of Sky and Breath (Crescent City, #2)
    How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air, #3.5)
    The Room in the Attic
    Quicksilver
    The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (The Hunger Games, #0)
    Shadow Kissed (Magic Side: Wolf Bound #4)
    Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked, #1)
    The Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. RowlingThe Wise Man's Fear by Patrick RothfussHarry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
    Best Fantasy Books of the 21st Century
    2,926 books — 9,683 voters
    Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne JonesThe Darkangel by Meredith Ann PierceThe Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie PopeMairelon the Magician by Patricia C. WredeDragon's Bait by Vivian Vande Velde
    Hidden Gems: YA-Fantasy Novels
    2,052 books — 4,373 voters

    Graceling by Kristin CashoreThrone of Glass by Sarah J. MaasAlanna by Tamora PiercePoison Study by Maria V. SnyderVampire Academy by Richelle Mead
    Best "Strong Female" Fantasy Novels
    3,942 books — 19,379 voters
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingThe Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. TolkienA Game of Thrones by George R.R. MartinThe Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussThe Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
    Best Fantasy Series, Trilogies, and Duologies
    1,908 books — 11,610 voters

    The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey NiffeneggerOutlander by Diana GabaldonThe Time Machine by H.G. Wells11/22/63 by Stephen KingA Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle
    Best Time Travel Fiction
    1,745 books — 5,088 voters
    The Final Empire by Brandon SandersonThe Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingThe Way of Kings by Brandon SandersonThe Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
    Most Interesting Magic System
    2,430 books — 8,544 voters

    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
    The Hobbit
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)
    A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)
    The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, #1)
    A Clash of Kings  (A Song of Ice and Fire, #2)
    The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)
    The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2)
    The Return of the King (The Lord of the Rings, #3)
    A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, #3)
    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia, #1)

    Related News

    Now that we’re halfway through the year, it’s time to check in on the 2022 Goodreads Reading Challenge, our rigorous annual initiative for book...
    Patrick Rothfuss
    It's the questions we can't answer that teach us the most. They teach us how to think. If you give a man an answer, all he gains is a little fact. But give him a question and he'll look for his own answers. ...more
    Patrick Rothfuss, The Wise Man's Fear

    George R.R. Martin
    They can keep their heaven. When I die, I’d sooner go to Middle-earth.
    George R.R. Martin

    More quotes...
    Lo Scaffale Tematico Tante letture a tema e sfide sempre nuove e originali. Unisciti a noi e al nostro obiettivo: leg…more
    549 members, last active an hour ago
    Worlds Beyond the Margins Celebrating Adult Fantasy, Scifi, and Horror books that promote diversity and inclusion. ✵Re…more
    1,048 members, last active 3 hours ago
    Nothing But Reading Challenges (click on image to go to discussion) We believe reading is fun and find unique a…more
    22,912 members, last active an hour ago
    For Love of a Book This group was created to connect lovers of stories across the internet with their characters an…more
    4,925 members, last active 9 minutes ago
    Reborn
    5 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:25PM — 125 people liked it
    A Writer's Prayer
    3 chapters — updated Nov 04, 2010 09:20AM — 148 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: fantasy, fantastical, fantastyka, fantasy-fiction, fiction_speculative_fantasy, fiction--fantasy, fiction-fantasy, genre-fantasy, tag--fantasy, and фэнтези