Christian Readers discussion

Promote Your Book > Fight the Powers: What the Bible Says About the Relationship Between Spiritual Forces and Human Governments

Comments Showing 1-50 of 323 (323 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7

message 1: by Cody (new)

Cody | 8 comments Greetings! I'm an author who had just completed a book about the relationship between negative spiritual powers and human governments and am hoping to start some conversations about how Christians should think about the state and their involvement in it.

To begin with, I'm curious how many folks here have heard in church the idea that political power is connected with demonic power. How many of you have come across it in your Bible reading?

Thanks!

message 2: by Joel (new)

Joel Thimell | 22 comments I have not heard that connection. Paul states the exact opposite in Romans 13:1-2:

"Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves."

Peter agrees as well in 1 Peter 2:13:

"Submit yourself for the Lord's sake to every authority instituted among men; whether to the king, as the supreme authority, or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right.

Hard to see how political power is rooted in demonic power...

message 3: by Rod (new)

Rod Horncastle Well, there are those liberals.

message 4: by Emily (new)