The Seasonal Reading Challenge discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
711 views
FALL CHALLENGE 2012: WATER > Fall Challenge 2012: Completed Tasks - DO NOT DELETE ANY POSTS IN THIS TOPIC

Comments Showing 1-50 of 2,321 (2321 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 46 47

message 1: by Dlmrose (new)

Dlmrose | 16922 comments Mod
This thread will open on SEPTEMBER 1.

The Fall 2012 challenge will begin on September 1, 2012 and end at Midnight, Eastern time, November 30, 2012.

This is where you will need to post information about completed tasks - updates to the Readerboard will be based on what is posted HERE AND ONLY HERE.

Please do not delete or edit any post in this thread!! Even if the post is not reflected on the Readerboard yet, I've often logged the post on my spreadsheet already and I will not know that you've made the changes.

*** I do not go backwards in this thread to pick up points. If you need to make a change, just make a new post.

Please refer to the posting requirements for what must be included, and for guidelines that will help us keep the challenge running smoothly.
Posting Requirements

NOTE:
1. You MUST post a link to books claimed for a task.
2. If you claim a book that only exists in e-book form, you MUST provide either a line reference to the approved book spreadsheet or the post number in which the book was approved.
3. If the task requires information about an author, you MUST include the author link.
4. If the task requires a cover element, you MUST include the cover when you post.
5. Remember to include all "Required" task elements

Please post tasks in numerical order, from smallest to largest.

Any problems with task postings will be posted in the questions/problems thread. Please post there if you have a question about your points, Goodreads authors, or Big Books.

Questions/Problems

Good luck and have fun!


message 2: by JennRenee (last edited Sep 01, 2012 07:33AM) (new)

JennRenee (jennreneeread) | 1332 comments 10.2 Trick or Treat read Madly & Wolfhardtby M. Leighton(GRA) Main character is/my costume would be a mermaid


Points this Post: 10
Total points- 10
Tasks Completed: 1
Books read: 1
Pages Read : 266
GR Authors: 1
Big Books: 500+(0), 750+(0), 1000+(0)






message 3: by Stacie (new)

Stacie (shorty_320) | 1382 comments STACIE MI

Task 10.9 - 9...10...11

I read a book with 136 pages (1+3+6=10)

The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out by Robert Kirkman

Points this task: 10
Total points: 10
Tasks completed: 1
Books read: 1
Pages read: 136
Goodreads authors: 0
Big books: 500+ (0); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0)


message 4: by Jensownzoo (new)

Jensownzoo | 125 comments Task 10.9

Changing the World: All-New Tales of Valdemar

352 pages: 3+5+2 = 10

Points this task: 10
Total Points: 10


message 5: by Sheila (new)

Sheila (sheilaj) | 2240 comments Sheila

20.10 Group Read

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel

I posted a comment in the discussion thread post #2

Total Points - 20


message 6: by Aleksandra (new)

Aleksandra (aleksandrakonwa) | 777 comments Aleksandra

10.1 Show you care be aware

Idol by Carrie Duffy by Carrie Duffy - pink cover

Task points 10
Total points 10


message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

5.1 - I Did It!

Read a book that contains the phrase "confession(s) of" in its title or subtitle.

Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader by Anne Fadiman

5.9 - Colder AND Bigger!

Read a book that has a nine in the total number of pages.

A Bone to Pick by Charlaine Harris

199 pages

Points this task: 10
Total points: 10
Goodreads authors: 0
Big books: 500+ (0); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0)

Tasks completed: 2
Books read: 1
Non-fiction read: 0
New authors read: 1
TBR pre-2012: 0


message 8: by Jen (new)

Jen (jayebee) | 252 comments Readerboard ID: JENBENT


5.10 - What Else Can I Read?

Broken Harbour by Tana French

Broken Harbour is found on the Gone Girl Read-A-Like List.

533 pgs, claiming Big Book Ticket


Points this task: 5
Total points: 5

Goodreads authors: 0
Big books: 500+ (1); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0)


message 9: by Rhiannon (new)

Rhiannon | 219 comments 5.1 I Did It! Confessions Of A Teenage Drama Queen

Total Points Earned: 5/1110
Total Pages Read: 272/22926
Total Books Read: 1/62
Good Read Authours:
Big Book Tickets: 500(), 750(), 1000()






message 10: by TeresaFL (last edited Sep 01, 2012 05:12PM) (new)

TeresaFL | 96 comments 10.9 -- 9...10...11
Dangerous to Know by Tasha Alexander (a GR author). Have the hardcover version and it is 306 pages, which added together equals 9.

Points this Post: 10
Total points- 10
Tasks Completed: 1
Books read: 1
Pages Read : 306
GR Authors: 1
Big Books: 500+(0), 750+(0), 1000+(0)


message 11: by Liz (new)

Liz   (lizvegas) 10.8 Fall TV
Wonder.
My Favorite tv show of all time is Wonder Years.

Points this post: 10
Total points: 10


message 12: by Midu (last edited Sep 02, 2012 06:19AM) (new)

Midu Hadi | 903 comments 30.12 -- Coralie's task: A Tour of Melbourne, Australia

Stop 5: Melbourne museum and Carlton Gardens
Dig up a fossil by reading a book that has been on your TBR list for too long.

Gale Force (Weather Warden, #7) by Rachel Caine by Rachel Caine

Stop 9: Waterfront City Docklands
Read a book with ‘water’, ‘front’, ‘city’, ‘dock’ or ‘land’ in the title or subtitle. Variations are fine as long as the word is present in its entirety.

The Water Thief by Nicholas Lamar Soutter by Nicholas Lamar Soutter (Goodreads Author)

Points this Post: 30
Total points: 30
Tasks Completed: 1
Books read: 2
GR Authors: 1
Big Books: 500+(0), 750+(0), 1000+(0)


message 13: by Connie N. (new)

Connie N. 10.1 - Show You Care, Be Aware - pink cover

Sweet Talk by Susan Mallery

Sweet Talk (Bakery Sisters, #1) by Susan Mallery

Points this post: 10
Total Points: 10


message 14: by Sheila (new)

Sheila (sheilaj) | 2240 comments Sheila

5.2 - Do It Again


Sea Swept by Nora Roberts

would also work for 5.5 By the Sea (Sea in title)


5.3 - Sail Away

Set Sail for Murder by Carolyn Hart

takes place on a cruise ship

Total Points = 30


message 15: by [deleted user] (new)

10.3 -- Moniker Challenge

Read a book written by an author whose first, middle, or last name starts with the letter I, Q, U, V, X, Y, or Z.

Angel with Two Faces by Nicola Upson

Points this task: 10
Total points: 20
Goodreads authors: 0
Big books: 500+ (0); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0)

Tasks completed: 3
Books read: 3
Non-fiction read: 1
New authors read: 1
TBR pre-2012: 0


message 16: by Donna Jo (last edited Sep 02, 2012 12:00PM) (new)

Donna Jo Atwood | 3157 comments 10.3 Moniker Challenge:
The Duke And I by Julia Quinn

Today's total: 10
Grand total: 10


message 17: by Keltie (new)

Keltie (keltie_lee) | 315 comments Keltie Lee

10.7 -- School Supplies


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6) by J.K. Rowling by J.K. Rowling
*book on cover*

10.4 -- Water Signs

A Nanny for Nate by Lisa WorrallGRA
line 21 on the SRC ebook Verification page
*Lisa Worrall born March 03*

Points this post: 20
Total points: 20/1110
Tasks: 2
Books: 2
Goodreads Authors: 1


message 18: by Erin (last edited Sep 02, 2012 01:24PM) (new)

Erin (eecamp) | 0 comments Erin C.

5.3 Sail Away

Pacific Vortex! by Clive Cussler

Takes place almost entirely on a submarine and salvage ship.

Points this Post: 5
Total points: 5
Tasks Completed: 1
Books read: 1
GR Authors: 0
Big Books: 500+(0), 750+(0), 1000+(0)


message 19: by Rhiannon (new)

Rhiannon | 219 comments 5.4- In Honor of Your Birthday Glazed Murder(message 1041 page 21 my birthday is July 21st)

Total Points Earned: 10/1110
Total Pages Read: 563/22926
Total Books Read: 2/62
Good Read Authors:
Big Book Tickets: 500(), 750(), 1000()






message 20: by N. (new)

N. (nonodisco) | 203 comments 30.12 A Tour of Melbourne, Australia

Stop 2, Federation Square: Possible Side Effects by Augusten Burroughs
Stop 12, South Bank and Yarra River: Idoru by William Gibson (part of a series called the Bridge Trilogy)

Points This Post: 30
Total Points: 30

Total Tasks Completed: 1
Total Books Read: 2
Total Pages Read: 691
Total GoodReads Authors: 0
Total Big Books: 500+ (0), 750+ (0), 1000+ (0)


message 21: by Ritika (last edited Sep 02, 2012 06:43PM) (new)

Ritika (ritikap) | 212 comments 15.9 - Starry, Starry Night

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This is a big book (516 pages)

Points this Post: 15
Total points: 15
Tasks Completed: 1
Books read: 1
GR Authors: 0
Big Books: 500+(1), 750+(0), 1000+(0)


message 22: by Kate (new)

Kate (kathrynlouwca) | 1038 comments 15.7 - Show Your Stripes

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman - This book takes place in Russia.

***This is a big book: 625 pages***

Points This Post: 15
Total Points: 15

Total Tasks Completed: 1
Total Books Read: 1
Total Pages Read: 1281 (including partial reads)
Total GoodReads Authors: 0
Total Big Books: 500+ (1), 750+ (0), 1000+ (0)


message 23: by Maggie (new)

Maggie (maggie4007) | 114 comments 10.1 Show You Care, Be Aware -- Loving Summer by Kailin Gow , Kailin Gow GR Author

Points This Post: 10
Total Points: 10/1110
Books Read: 1
Pages Read: 250
GR Author: 1
BB Tix: 0


message 24: by Meera (new)

Meera | 123 comments 30.9 -- Sandy's task: Fall Happenings

Book 1: In honor of Back to School: The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin by Benjamin Franklin

Book 2: To prepare for the elections: The Collectors by David Baldacci Found in The Political Thrillers list.


Points this post: 30
Total Points: 30
Books read: 2
GR Authors: 0
Big Books: 500+(0),750+(0),1000+(0)


message 25: by Wendy UK (new)

 Wendy  UK (wendyuk) | 756 comments 20.10 - Group Read


A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

I have commented in posts 2 and 6 of the discussion thread.


Total points 20






message 26: by Robin (new)

Robin (rgage) | 192 comments 20.10 Group read

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel discussion post #3

Total points: 20


message 27: by N. (new)

N. (nonodisco) | 203 comments 15.5 A Drop In the Bucket

I read DMZ, Vol. 8: Hearts and Minds by Brian Wood, #8 of 12 in the series.

Points This Post: 15
Total Points: 45

Total Tasks Completed: 2
Total Books Read: 3
Total Pages Read: 883
Total GoodReads Authors: 0
Total Big Books: 500+ (0), 750+ (0), 1000+ (0)


message 28: by Ally (last edited Sep 03, 2012 08:56AM) (new)

Ally (ally1604) | 64 comments 25.1 Food Network Challenge --

5B Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives
Fingerprints of You by Kristen-Paige Madonia (Goodreads author). This book includes a road trip.

6A The Aarti Party
Ms America and the Offing on Oahu by Diana Dempsey (Goodreads author). Approved for length here. This book has someone smiling on the cover.

Ms America and the Offing on Oahu by Diana Dempsey

Points this task: 25
Total points: 25
Tasks completed: 1
Books read: 2
Goodreads authors: 2
Big books: 500+ (0); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0)





message 29: by Sue (new)

Sue (suetinge) | 1474 comments 15.5 - A Drop in the Bucket

The Quiche of Death by M.C. Beaton

First of 23 in the series.

Points this post: 15
Total Points: 15/1110
Tasks Completed: 1
Books Read: 1
GoodReads Authors: 0
Big Books: 500+ (), 750+ (), 1000+ ()


message 30: by Allison Ann (new)

Allison Ann | 402 comments Readerboard Name - ALLISON ANN


10.9 -- 9...10...11

Glimpse by Stacey Wallace Benefiel (GRA)

262 pp. (2+6+2 = 10)


15.5- A Drop in the Bucket

Cruel and Unusual by Patricia Cornwell (GRA)

Nineteen books and counting in the Kay Scarpetta series.


Points this task: 25
Total points: 25
Tasks completed: 2
Books read: 2
Goodreads authors: 2
Big books: 500+ (0) 750+ (0) 1000+ (0)


message 31: by Jodi (new)

Jodi (readinggirl74) | 95 comments Jodi2
Task 15.2 – On Pins & Needles

A. Read a book with the genre "Suspense" on its main book page.
Before I Go To Sleep

B. Read a book that you have been eagerly awaiting: a new release, a library waiting list hold, the next book in a newly discovered series, a book you haven't had time to read, etc. – This book has been on my “to read” list for months!
Mockingjay

Points this task: 15
Total points: 15
Tasks completed: 1
Books read: 2


message 32: by Kathy G. (new)

Kathy G. | 20 comments Kathy G.

20.10- Group Read-


Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
(I posted in the thread- Post 6)

Total Points- 20


message 33: by Riona (new)

Riona (rionafaith) 20.10 Group Read
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
I've posted in the discussion thread -- message 7.

**This is a Big Book (500+ pages), so I'd like to claim a ticket**


Points This Post: 20
Total Points: 20
Tasks Completed: 1
Total Books: 1
Pages Read: 528
GoodReads Authors:
Big Books: 500+(1), 750+(0), 1000+(0)


message 34: by KarenF (new)

KarenF (cleocleveland) | 274 comments KAREN F

10.1 Show You Care, Be Aware

Killer Insight by Victoria Laurie

Title in pink and the bar at the bottom: Killer Insight (Psychic Eye Mystery, #4) by Victoria Laurie

**Victoria Laurie is a Goodreads Author**

Points this Post: 10
Total Challenge Points: 10
Goodreads Authors: 1
Big Books: 500+(0),750+(0),1000+(0)


message 35: by Jessica (new)

Jessica (sureshot26) | 771 comments Jessica PDX

15.10 - Fancy Free

At Home A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson by Bill Bryson

I am claiming a Big Book ticket for this task.

Points this Post: 15
Total Challenge Points: 15
Goodreads Authors: 0
Big Books Tickets: 1


message 36: by Jenifer (last edited Sep 03, 2012 11:20AM) (new)

Jenifer (jensamaha) | 365 comments Jenifer

10.9 9...10...11


Silenced by Allison Brennan /Allison Brennan is a Goodreads author

416 pages (4+1+6=11)

Points this task: 10
Total points: 10
Tasks completed: 1
Books read: 1
Goodreads authors: 1
Big books: 500+ (0); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0)


message 37: by Rudy (new)

Rudy Hurley | 116 comments 5.7 What's your name again

Girls in White Dresses
Jennifer Close

Points this task:5
Total points: 5
Task completed:1


message 38: by TeresaFL (new)

TeresaFL | 96 comments 10.1 -- Show You Care, Be Aware
A Very Special Delivery by Linda Goodnight by Linda Goodnight who is a GR author.

15.8 - 'Cause This Is Thriller
She's Gotta Be Mine by Jennifer Skully - The Thriller album song was "Baby be Mine". This book is a kindle edition, but was previously published in paperback under another title, Sex and the Serial Killer, so it was approved for length.

Points this Post: 25
Total points- 35
Tasks Completed: 3
Books read: 3
Pages Read : 835
GR Authors: 2
Big Books: 500+(0), 750+(0), 1000+(0)


message 39: by Jen (new)

Jen (jayebee) | 252 comments Readerboard ID: JENBENT

30.6 -- Keltie Lee's task: Reading through Disneyworld


Option 3: Frontierland
The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom
**Historical Fiction**

Option 6: Main Street
The End of Everything by Megan Abbott
**Mystery/Psychological Fiction**

Megan Abbott is a Goodreads Author.



Points this task: 30
Total points: 35

Goodreads authors: 1
Big books: 500+ (1); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0)


message 40: by Anne (Booklady) (new)

Anne  (Booklady) Molinarolo (wwwgoodreadscomAnneMolinarolo) | 939 comments Hello friends,

I have had major problems. My computer died with a virus. Then Issac knocked out my internet connection until today. I fell and sprained my bad ankle. Due to my disabled hand I can't use crutches.

I missed my SRC friends and the challenge.
Glad to be back. Off to see the tasks.


message 41: by Kathy G. (new)

Kathy G. | 20 comments Sorry to hear about your ankle Anne. Glad things are better!


message 42: by Barbara ★ (new)

Barbara ★ | 954 comments Readerboard Name: Barbara★

15.7 -- Show Your Stripes -- Tiger's Curse (The Tiger Saga, #1) by Colleen Houck - Colleen Houck♥ (tiger on cover)
Colleen Houck is a GOODREADS AUTHOR.

15.10 -- Fancy Free -- Vampire Dragon - Annette Blair♥
Annette Blair is a GOODREADS AUTHOR.

Points Earned This Post: 30
Points Achieved to Date: 30
Goodreads Authors: 2
Big Book Tickets:
500+ (0)
750+ (0)
1000+ (0)






message 43: by Joanie (last edited Sep 03, 2012 06:56PM) (new)

Joanie | 95 comments 10.8 Fall TV

The Wonder Years was one of my favorite shows so I read Wonder by R.J. Palacio by R. J. Palacio.

Points-10


message 44: by Danie (new)

Danie (heyydanie) | 57 comments I haven't participated in the last few seasons because I've been so busy, but I'd like to participate in this one!


30.6 -- Keltie Lee's task: Reading through Disneyworld

Option 5 : Ten - has horror listed as a genre

Option 7 : Spark - YA

Both Gretchen McNeil and Brigid Kemmerer are both GR authors.

Points this post : 30
Points so far : 30
GR Authors : 2
Big books : 0


message 45: by Amy W (new)

Amy W | 192 comments I haven't participated in a few seasons, either. I'm glad to get back to it!

30.12 A Tour of Melbourne, Australia

I read books from stops 2 (Federation Square: non-fiction) and 7 (University of Melbourne: college setting). Both books were from the library, so they were free, too!

Stop 2: This Is How: Proven Aid in Overcoming Shyness, Molestation, Fatness, Spinsterhood, Grief, Disease, Lushery, Decrepitude & More. For Young and Old Alike. by Augusten Burroughs - nonfiction book of essays

Stop 7: Size 12 and Ready to Rock by Meg Cabot (Goodreads Author) - set at "New York College"

Points this post: 30
Total points: 30
Tasks completed: 1
Books read: 2
Pages read: 601
Goodreads authors: 1
Big books: 500+ (0); 750+ (0); 1000+ (0) 


message 46: by N. (last edited Sep 03, 2012 09:25PM) (new)

N. (nonodisco) | 203 comments 10.9 9...10...11

I read DMZ, Vol. 9: M.I.A. by Brian Wood (1+4+4 = 9).

Points This Post: 10
Total Points: 55

Total Tasks Completed: 3
Total Books Read: 4
Total Pages Read: 1027
Total GoodReads Authors: 0
Total Big Books: 500+ (0), 750+ (0), 1000+ (0)


message 47: by Megan (new)

Megan Anderson (ms_anderson) | 1481 comments Here we go!

---

5.4 In Honor of My (Fall!) Birthday
Library Wars: Love & War 1
From post 948, pg 19 of the summer challenge thread: http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/9... (Thanks for reading it first, Mrs.soule!)

5.10 What Else Can I Read?
Fun Home
From list "Read-alikes: Sh*t My Dad Says": http://www.carnegielibrary.org/books/...

15.6 Chasin' Those Clouds Away
Heaven Looks a Lot Like the Mall by Wendy Mass

Total: 25 points


message 48: by Jessica (last edited Sep 04, 2012 06:04AM) (new)

Jessica (sureshot26) | 771 comments Jessica PDX

15.3 - Bookends

I chose the one-book option.

Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman by Neil Gaiman (Goodreads Author)

Points this Post: 15
Total Challenge Points: 30
Goodreads Authors: 1
Big Books Tickets: 1


message 49: by Fran (new)

Fran | 736 comments 5.10 - What Else Can I Read?

I read a book from the read-alike list for Gone Girl. I read Josie and Jack by Kelly Braffet.

10.1 -- Show You Care, Be Aware

I read Rock Chick (Rock Chick, #1) by Kristen Ashley , which has a pink cover.

*Kristen Ashley and Kelly Braffet are both GR authors*


Points this post- 15
Total Points- 15
GR Authors- 2


message 50: by Ritika (last edited Sep 04, 2012 03:40PM) (new)

Ritika (ritikap) | 212 comments 30.6 -- Keltie Lee's task: Reading through Disneyworld

1) Option 1: The Graveyard Book by
Neil Gaiman

NEIL GAIMAN is a GOODREADS AUTHOR.

2)Option 2: A Dance with Dragons

THIS IS A BIG BOOK (1112 pages)

Points this Post: 30
Total points: 45
Tasks Completed: 2
Books read: 3
GR Authors: 1
Big Books: 500+(1), 750+(0), 1000+(1)





« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 46 47
back to top
This topic has been frozen by the moderator. No new comments can be posted.