Igor Tokmovtsev

I want to read more books like that one! Please recommend :)

To answer questions about Ready Player One, please sign up.
Jason Cox I just finished RPO and found it to be awesome!

3 that I would recommend are:

1. Neuromancer by William Gibson
2. Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
3. Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson

All of those are excellent reads, fast-paced, and leave you wanting more.
J. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ I recommend Mr. Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore to all my friends that enjoyed Ready Player One. It has the same pace and feel.
Christa Red Rising series by Pierce Brown
Tim I just finished the novel, as well. I would definitely recommend:

1. Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card: It has that same fast-paced action and vibrant world and just keeps you wanting more. Though, I am a huge junkie for space military science fiction I think this would be a great match. You just can't beat generic experiments to fight a hostile alien race.

2. ECHO's Revenge by Sean Austin: What I really enjoyed about ER was the fact that it was based on two boys who are struggling at home and to escape their reality, they immerse themselves into the online gaming world. As this becomes a habitual way of life for them, the online gaming company has big aspirations for next game in the lineup. A real 35-foot tall game boss found in the gaming series has been created and has plans of it own. This is a YA adult novel that is meant for teens, but I still enjoyed it a lot. Reminded me of Transformers....A LOT.

3. MetaGame by Sam Landstorm: The reviewer who also mentions this novel is right. It has a great amount of that video game, futuristic feel. Though I wouldn't say it was all that fast-pace, I still thoroughly enjoyed the novel and would recommend it to RPO fans. If you enjoy life as one huge game, and depending on how good you are at life you get points which equate to currency, try it out.
Simon I'm surprised that no one has mentioned For The Win by Cory Doctorow.
Brandon I'm surprised nobody has suggested Daemon by Daniel Suarez, and its sequel, Freedom™.

Great book, very much in a similar vein. (Perhaps too much so for some people)

I highly recommend it.
David I had the same reaction after finishing this book. I've read a few books suggested here, but the one at the top of my list, I didn't see mentioned, would be Off to be the Wizard by Scott Meyer. It is super excellent and the best news is there are 3 of them.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1...
Clark After reading Ready Player One, I was rabid for more books with video game themes. I suggest the following series as follow ups:

1. Armada by Ernest Cline. Standalone book. Same author as Ready Player One so written in a similar style and plenty of American cultural references to go around. The main character finds out that the aliens in his favorite video game are actually really invading the real world. Ready Player One is unarguably a better book all around than Armada, but this one can help scratch the itch if you need more.

2. Threadbare by Andrew Seiple. Book 1 in a Completed Trilogy. This is a litRPG story that takes place in a Fantasy World where all the people gain RPG classes and skills in everyday life and can level up from various feats both extraordinary and everyday. The Main Character is super awesome and adorable since he is a sentient stuffed bear with an attachment to his little girl who makes many powerful and oddball friends along the way. Threadbare goes from being a child's toy to a very powerful fighter as he goes on his journey to find her again. This story is full of puns, some clever and some more on the nose but I had a good chuckle several times and had a lot of fun reading this series. As lighthearted as this story appears at first, it does have some grimdark elements and tells a good story. I recommend this to those who like the RPG Video Game aspects of RPO and also like some goofy humor.

3. Off to be the Wizard. Book 1 in the Magic 2.0 series by Scott Meyer. Very quirky story that has a feel similar to Ready Player One as far as cultural references. The main character discovers that the entire world is actually a computer program. For a reason I won't spoil, he travels back in time to Medieval Europe to imitate a Wizard (since his manipulation of the computer world looks like magic). Very cool story. He doesn't play in a video game, but instead makes the "real world" his video game world. I highly recommend the audible version of this one since the narrator is hilarious.

4. Ascend Online by Luke Chmilenko. Book 1 in a new litrpg series. The main character joins a new immersive MMORPG and finds a rural village where he establishes roots. The NPCs are uncannily lifelike and he worries that when the main base of players reach the village they will abuse or treat the NPCs poorly. His real life friends meet up with him and they work hard to defend the village from an incoming army of violent players. Really cool story, the characters level up and gain new skills, magic, and abilities.
Mark If you like the gaming aspect of this novel, The Player of Games (Culture #2) by Iain M. Banks is fantastic. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1...
Marta Salek The Otherland series by Tad Williams.
Stephanie I don't have an answer to this but I had the same question as the OP. Just wanted to let you all know I really appreciate the recommendations and have pillaged this list. I LOVED this book and was bummed to see it end!
Cory Williams If you like the pop-culture references in Ready Player One then I highly recommend Year Zero by Robert Reid.. It's on the comedy side but sometimes comedy can get away with more than drama can.
Jose Maria I would say The diamond age by Neal Stephenson
Elduderino Reamde by Neal Stephenson, great book
Ali the westing game by ellen raskin is a great book-- it has the "competition for a rich guy's estate" aspect with a bit of murder mystery / whodunit? thrown in.
Antonio Try the Otherland series (https://www.goodreads.com/series/4376...) by Tad Williams.
Eric Jackson Soon I will be Invincible by Austin Grossman
Drakes Otherland by Tad Williams. Its world is quite similar - also VR, with a flavour of magic and legend.
Janusz Mrozek Add another vote for Snow Crash.
Nikola Gogic Epic by Conor Kostick is also in VR :D
Ali Definitely read Epic by Conor Kostick if you liked the reality video game part of the book. It's a YA novel (for teens) but I think it can be read by anyone. The world is extremely well thought out and the video game seamlessly interacts with the characters on a fascinating level that I found refreshing (Like Oasis, Epic is a game that the entire world plays and much of society interacts through it). Very fast paced and an all around great book!
Kevin Haven't completely finished RPO, but the first book that popped to mind while reading was Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall. It's not sci-fi or virtual reality oriented, but for me it was also one of those fast-paced, very original idea book that you only come across once in a while.
Trey Loved RPO, nothing really comes close; however, I thought MetaGame by Sam Landstrom is in the same futuristic/gaming/hi-tech vein and I liked it a lot.
monie-rosie Heir Apparent by Vivian Vande Velde is fantastic (I liked it better) -- it is for a slightly younger audience, but it also takes place in a virtual reality game/world.
Jeremiah MogWorld is about an NPC that is trying to beat the user's in an MMORPG.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7...
Taylor Kole Virtual Heaven. A 2018 novel based in VR with a gaming vibe
Graycelin I've never read Ready Player One, however I read Warcross and it was fantastic. I've read the summaries of both books and I think they would be similar in the virtual reality aspect :)
Fin Poole the bible, two boys kissing
Yash Based on your reading preferences, you might like books like the hunger games or the maze runner
Carrie G DEFINITELY "The Eye of Minds" and its sequels by James Dashner.
Matt Kowalski If you enjoyed the tone and comedy, check out Redshirts by John Scalzi.
Andrew Fans of RPO should definitely check out "A Game of Universe" by Eric Nylund. A sort of futuristic space wizard must race across the stars against several others to find and return the Holy Grail to a wealthy dude who offers planets and unbelievable riches in exchange. But if he does not find it in the allotted time, he forfeits his soul. Oh, and that space wizard has the power to absorb the talents and personalities of others.
John Millard Loved (almost done) Snow Crash so I would listen to Jason about this.
Lauren Stephens You should try The Silence of Six by E.C. Myers.
Ina Bruce Bethke: Headcrash.
Mommooshka I agree that you'll enjoy Mr. Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore and Ender's Game if you liked Ready Player One. The first has a similar treasure-hunt driven plot and the second involves a world that is similar to the OASIS in this book.
Cat The Eye of Minds by James Dashner is similar because it is set in a world with a virtual reality video game like OASIS. Not an 80s pop culture story though, and they have their own equivalent of Sixers.
William So far what I have read under Cyberpunk category:
Novel & Graphic novel
1. Transmetropolitician

2. Snow Crash

3. Android: (Netrunner) Free Fall (crime solving)

4. Do Androids Dream of electric sheep?

5. Star Wars: The Bounty hunter wars
Shannon Prescott I agree with others on Otherland by Tad Williams.
Andrew I'm only about a third of the way through Ready Player One, so things may change drastically- so far the book has reminded me A LOT of Killobyte by Piers Anthony.

If you like one I imagine you'll enjoy the other as well.
Mark Hebwood Po Bronson, The first $20 million is always the hardest. I read that - it's great!

Douglas Coupland, Microserfs. On my to-read list. This is set in the 90s, I think.
Jerel Price I have not seen the wonderland gambit listed here. This book has made me want to read that series again.
Amy Otherland by Tad Williams most definitely!
Johannes A I would recommend Survival Quest by Vasily Mahanenko!

Fun LitRPG that is easy to read :)
Brandon Pate I would definitely suggest Armada by Ernest.
Tiffany Armada wasn't bad.
Amy The Chaos Seeds series by Aleron King is amazing, as is the Metamorphosis Online series by Natalie Grey. Both, I think, were actually better than Ready Player One.
Aditi There is a series like this by The Maze Runner series' author, James Dashner. It is called the Mortality Doctrine. The first book is The Eye of Minds.
Aditi There is a series like this by The Maze Runner series' author, James Dashner. It is called the Mortality Doctrine. The first book is The Eye of Minds.
Kevin Axillon99 by Matthew S. Cox
This book literally could be Ready Player One's better looking, slightly darker twin. It took all of the best elements of the book and improved them. While they have many similarities Axillon99 simply does it better.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3...
Laura E. Mackey I know it's been awhile since you posted this and I am not going thru 65 answers to see if this book was mentioned. Virtual Heaven by Taylor Kole, is like Ready Player One in that there is a virtual universe that everyone on the planet can access. There is not really a contest, just a fight for control over the universe.
Christy the eye of minds- james dashner
Philip Hodson Thanks to everyone for these suggestions (downloading the first Otherland book now!).
I second Snow Crash and Reamde: Snow Crash if you’re looking for AR/VR as (sort of) plot device into a broader discussion on American society/consumerism/memetics, and Reamde if you’re looking for VR as the backdrop to a more conventional (by Stephenson’s standards) thriller.
I’ll add ‘The Anubis Gates’ by Tim Powers. It’s a little steampunky with some time travel and mythology. There’s no VR, but there are similar themes, great characters, and lots of interesting twists.
Jason of course "1984," and "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?" (inspiration for the movie BLADE RUNNER)
Barbara Sherrick The Game by Terry Schott
Chloe-Louise Finch Warcross by Marie Lu
Male Reader Infinite
by Jeremy Robinson

If you liked RPO you will like Infinite.
Matthew Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson and Vurt by Jeff Noon are books I've read in similar settings (virtual reality within a dystopian real world) and I recommend them both.

I'd also mention a book I read called Superfolks by Robert Mayer, although I can't recommend it, it is the only other book I've read that is crammed with as many pop culture references as Ready Player One. It isn't 80scentric as it was written before that decade, and the subject is superheroes, not cyberpunk, but like I said, if you want to see a lot of pop culture references, it has that.
Bryan Hovey I really liked the Dominion Trilogy by Robin Parrish. https://www.goodreads.com/series/58525
Marc Cardinal I really enjoyed Hovercar Racer by Matthew Reilly! It was a lot of fun with a very respectable story set in a super interesting sci-fi setting, kinda like this one!
Laura The Mortality Doctorine series by James Dashner (The Eye of Minds, The Rule of Thought and The Game of Lives). 100% recommend this series and this author.
Ashley Partials Trilogy
Doesn't have to do with gaming, but is set in a futuristic Earth where civilization and humanity are deteriorating, similar to in Ready Player One.
Zenia warcross by marie lu is said to be similar. i havent read warcross yet so i dont know how accurate that is but i'm currently reading ready player one
Stefanie MagMag I know this is a very late reply, however I have been told that the book Warcross is a good one that is just as good and similar.
Pete Tyler Fountellion in The Spiral by Ade McOran-Campbell.
Nature 'survival adventure' game parallels with real world (known as 'the Source').
Dmitry Daemon by Suarez. Same "I am dead, but here is this program that will do weird stuff" idea, but done better
Kieran Fanning EPIC by Conor Kostick
Dawn Silence of Six by E. C. Meyers
Ryan St.onge Replay by Ken Grimwood
Replay by Ken Grimwood
Replay by Ken Grimwood
Replay by Ken Grimwood
REPLAY BY KEN GRIMWOOD!
Mpho3 The Coyote Kings of the Space-Age Bachelor Pad by Minister Faust
Anarchist44life Do you think they will make a second one?
Karsyn Erebos by Ursula Polnanski
Eye of the Minds by James Dashner
Mike I would recommend Alter World. I really enjoyed RPO and a friend recommended Alterworld. It's pretty good so far. Granted I am not too far into it.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2...
Image for Ready Player One
by Ernest Cline (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

About Goodreads Q&A

Ask and answer questions about books!

You can pose questions to the Goodreads community with Reader Q&A, or ask your favorite author a question with Ask the Author.

See Featured Authors Answering Questions

Learn more