R.L. Stedman

more photos (1)

Deb
Deb
740 books | 157 friends

Cas
Cas
1,466 books | 643 friends


Katerina
688 books | 524 friends

Averie ...
1,702 books | 159 friends

J.S.
986 books | 572 friends

Hylla
507 books | 17 friends

Liz
Liz
915 books | 266 friends

More friends…

R.L. Stedman

Goodreads Author


Born
in New Zealand
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
February 2013


Hi there! I'm Rachel Stedman, writing as R. L. Stedman. I live in the wild and windy town of Dunedin, New Zealand. My first novel, A Necklace of Souls, was published in 2013, and won a number of exciting awards - including Best First Novel, 2014!

You can find out more about me on my website www.rlstedman.com - plus, if you feel like reading a FREE fairytale collection, then copy and paste this link into your browser: https://dl.bookfunnel.com/66nq33qkbm

Hope you enjoy, and happy reading!
...more

R.L. Stedman is currently not accepting new questions.

Popular Answered Questions

R.L. Stedman I never have it. I have fear, which is a different thing all together.
R.L. Stedman You get to write :). And learn lots of things about random subjects.
Average rating: 3.85 · 240 ratings · 105 reviews · 13 distinct worksSimilar authors
A Necklace of Souls (SoulNe...

3.79 avg rating — 128 ratings — published 2013 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Inner Fire

3.73 avg rating — 37 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Skillful Warrior (SoulNec...

4.27 avg rating — 11 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Memory of Fire (SoulNeckl...

4.60 avg rating — 10 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Prankster and the Ghost

4.27 avg rating — 11 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Upon A Time

3.75 avg rating — 12 ratings5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Between the Pages

3.57 avg rating — 7 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Welcome To Faery: A Spellbi...

3.50 avg rating — 6 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The SoulNecklace Stories: B...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 9 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ghostly Melodies (The Danci...

4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by R.L. Stedman…

Looking For an Escape? 17 Books To Help You Avoid Reality.

Escape Reality Through Reading The great thing about reading is that for a couple of hours, we get to escape. At the time of writing this, I’m desperate to escape. Because, along with most of the planet, I’m in lockdown thanks to COVID-19. Right now, reality seems over-rated. Here’s a list of 17 of my […]

The post Looking For an Escape? 17 Books To Help You Avoid Reality. appeared first on R. L. St

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on April 11, 2020 20:52
A Necklace of Souls A Skillful Warrior A Memory of Fire The SoulNecklace Stories: B...
(4 books)
by
3.89 avg rating — 158 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

R.L.’s Recent Updates

R.L. Stedman wrote a new blog post

Looking For an Escape? 17 Books To Help You Avoid Reality.

Escape Reality Through Reading The great thing about reading is that for a couple of hours, we get to escape. At the time of writing this, I’m despera Read more of this blog post »
R.L. Stedman rated a book really liked it
The Rift by Rachael Craw
The Rift
by Rachael Craw (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rachael Craw is one of those writers you KNOW you want to read, as she has a gift for creating action-packed young adult adventures.

This review is an excerpt from a longer review written for Scoop Review of Books http://books.scoop.co.nz/

The Rift is
...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book really liked it
All the Little Bones by Ellie Marney
Rate this book
Clear rating
Here's a truncated review from my upcoming review on Scoop Books (http://books.scoop.co.nz): Seventeen year old Sorsha Neary and her friend Colm MacKay are on the run. Escaping from a crime Sorsha never meant to commit, they’re travelling south to Kl ...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book it was amazing
The Kingfisher's Debt by Kura Carpenter
The Kingfisher's Debt
by Kura Carpenter (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Truncated review here - the full review is on Scoop Books (http://books.scoop.co.nz)
It’s been a long time since I’ve read such an engrossing urban fantasy. This wonderfully written story is sure to appeal to fans of Ben Aaranovitch, Brendon Sanderso
...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book it was amazing
Warrior's Touch by Deb E. Howell
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a truncated version of a review written for Scoop Books http://books.scoop.co.nz . I received a copy from the author in return for an honest review.

I totally enjoyed Warrior’s Touch. I really enjoyed the main characters of Jonas and Llew – a
...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book it was amazing
A Pocketful of Crows by Joanne M. Harris
Rate this book
Clear rating
A wonderful reworking of myth and legend: the tale of a girl who can take any form she chooses, for she has no name - and the prince who takes her heart. If you're a fan of Angela Carter, you'll love this lyrical, perfect fantasy. Gorgeously illustra ...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book liked it
Seveneves by Neal Stephenson
Seveneves
by Neal Stephenson (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
This science fiction story is a really, really massive book. It's about the size of a concrete block (and about the same weight), so it's not for the faint of heart.
I'm torn about recommending it, TBH.
In Seveneves, the moon explodes into seven frag
...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book it was ok
The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
Rate this book
Clear rating
I read this on a FIRST EDITION - so I was totally excited to give this a go...

The Gods Themselves is the story of a discovery of a technology from an alternative universe, and how this discovery affects both the scientists involved and the aliens who
...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book it was amazing
When Our Jack Went to War by Sandy McKay
When Our Jack Went to War
by Sandy McKay (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sandy Mckay’s gorgeous ‘When our Jack Went To War’ is a story that deals with small life events set against world-changing wars. The book is told as letters between Tom, a young boy in Dunedin, and Jack, his older brother.
In 1916, when The Great War
...more
R.L. Stedman rated a book really liked it
The Larnachs by Owen Marshall
Rate this book
Clear rating
A beautifully told tale of a forbidden love affair. This story is based on the true story of Constance Larnach and her step-son, Dougie Larnach, and her husband, William Larnach, a self-made millionaire, politician, and dreamer. Larnach's now mostly ...more
More of R.L.'s books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
! YA Heroines !: !YA Heroines! 400 Member Giveaway! (International) 10 40 Jun 26, 2013 04:27AM  
David Mitchell
“A half-read book is a half-finished love affair.”
David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas

Markus Herz
“Be careful about reading health books. Some fine day you'll die of a misprint.”
Markus Herz

Samuel Orchart Beeton
“Generally speaking, it is injudicious for ladies to attempt arguing with gentlemen on political or financial topics. All the information that a woman can possibly acquire or remember on these subjects is so small in comparison with the knowledge of men...”
Samuel Orchart Beeton

Jerome K. Jerome
“It is always the best policy to tell the truth, unless of course you are an exceptionally good liar.”
Jerome K. Jerome

Jerome K. Jerome
“I should never make anything of a fisherman. I had not got sufficient imagination”
Jerome K Jerome

45059 Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy — 6931 members — last activity May 26, 2020 06:59PM
A place for those who walk the green forests of Middle Earth, cross the pale sands of Arakis, sail the blue waters of Earthsea, slip among the shadows ...more
52937 Around the World in 80 Books — 20751 members — last activity 7 hours, 35 min ago
Reading takes you places. Where in the world will your next book take you? If you love world literature, translated works, travel writing, or explorin ...more
87589 ! YA Heroines ! — 843 members — last activity May 16, 2020 03:17AM
Welcome girls, Here at ! YA Heroines ! we are all about... ~Gals who can kick butt. -Damsels who can rescue thems ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 107922 members — last activity 21 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
88432 The Perks Of Being A Book Addict — 24297 members — last activity 53 minutes ago
This group is for anyone who loves books from different genres. Every month we have group Books of the Month which you can join, reading challenges, a ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 33823 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
16548 Beyond Reality — 1891 members — last activity 9 hours, 57 min ago
Welcome to the Beyond Reality SF&F discussion group on GoodReads. In Beyond Reality, each of our members may nominate one SF and one fantasy book per ...more
117075 Ask Meg Rosoff - Monday, November 4th! — 122 members — last activity Jul 01, 2014 10:44PM
Join us on Monday, November 4th for a special discussion with author Meg Rosoff! Meg will be discussing her book How I Live Now. The movie adapt ...more
95296 All About Fantasy! — 520 members — last activity May 03, 2020 08:38PM
This group is for anyone who likes fantasy books of all kinds. Whether it's magic, vampires, zombies, fairies or anything else imaginable, this is the ...more
More of R.L.’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.