Geoffrey Miller

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
Website

Genre

Member Since
May 2012

URL


Podcasts, blogs, next book:
http://www.thematinggrounds.com/

Geoffrey F. Miller, Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of New Mexico, is an American evolutionary psychologist in the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Daniel Dennett and Steven Pinker.

Miller is a 1987 graduate of Columbia University, where he earned a BA in biology and psychology. He received his PhD in cognitive psychology from Stanford University in 1993 under the guidance of Roger N. Shepard. He was a postdoctoral researcher in the evolutionary and adaptive systems group in the School of Cognitive and Computing Sciences at the University of Sussex, UK (1992–94); Research Scientist at the Center for Adaptive Behavior and Cognition, Max Planck Institute for Psycholog
...more

Average rating: 4.03 · 3,816 ratings · 280 reviews · 10 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Mating Mind: How Sexual...

4.10 avg rating — 2,106 ratings — published 2000 — 18 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Spent: Sex, Evolution, and ...

3.83 avg rating — 954 ratings — published 2009 — 14 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mate: Become the Man Women ...

by
4.17 avg rating — 704 ratings — published 2015 — 12 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
THE MATING MIND

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Flesh: The Dino Files

by
3.06 avg rating — 35 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
On the origin of art

by
3.67 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mating Intelligence: Sex, R...

by
3.75 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2007 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Extreme Prematurity: Practi...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Intertextual Explorations i...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Software Testing Techniques...

by
3.67 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2004 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Geoffrey Miller…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Geoffrey’s Recent Updates

Geoffrey Miller is now following Ryan's reviews
74759
Geoffrey Miller rated a book really liked it
Deng Xiaoping and the Transformation of China by Ezra F. Vogel
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book really liked it
Risk Intelligence by Dylan Evans
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
Emotion by Dylan Evans
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book liked it
The Nurture Assumption by Judith Rich Harris
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
The Road to Serfdom by Friedrich A. Hayek
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
The Demon-Haunted World by Carl Sagan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book really liked it
The 4-Hour Body by Timothy Ferriss
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Geoffrey's books…
“Men write more books. Men give more lectures. Men ask more questions after lectures. Men post more e-mail to Internet discussion groups. To say this is due to patriarchy is to beg the question of the behavior's origin. If men control society, why don't they just shut up and enjoy their supposed prerogatives? The answer is obvious when you consider sexual competition: men can't be quiet because that would give other men a chance to show off verbally. Men often bully women into silence, but this is usually to make room for their own verbal display. If men were dominating public language just to maintain patriarchy, that would qualify as a puzzling example of evolutionary altruism—a costly, risky individual act that helps all of one's sexual competitors (other males) as much as oneself. The ocean of male language that confronts modern women in bookstores, television, newspapers, classrooms, parliaments, and businesses does not necessarily come from a male conspiracy to deny women their voice. It may come from an evolutionary history of sexual selection in which the male motivation to talk was vital to their reproduction.”
Geoffrey Miller, The Mating Mind: How Sexual Choice Shaped the Evolution of Human Nature

“Imagine a young Isaac Newton time-travelling from 1670s England to teach Harvard undergrads in 2017. After the time-jump, Newton still has an obsessive, paranoid personality, with Asperger’s syndrome, a bad stutter, unstable moods, and episodes of psychotic mania and depression. But now he’s subject to Harvard’s speech codes that prohibit any “disrespect for the dignity of others”; any violations will get him in trouble with Harvard’s Inquisition (the ‘Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion’). Newton also wants to publish Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica, to explain the laws of motion governing the universe. But his literary agent explains that he can’t get a decent book deal until Newton builds his ‘author platform’ to include at least 20k Twitter followers – without provoking any backlash for airing his eccentric views on ancient Greek alchemy, Biblical cryptography, fiat currency, Jewish mysticism, or how to predict the exact date of the Apocalypse.

Newton wouldn’t last long as a ‘public intellectual’ in modern American culture. Sooner or later, he would say ‘offensive’ things that get reported to Harvard and that get picked up by mainstream media as moral-outrage clickbait. His eccentric, ornery awkwardness would lead to swift expulsion from academia, social media, and publishing. Result? On the upside, he’d drive some traffic through Huffpost, Buzzfeed, and Jezebel, and people would have a fresh controversy to virtue-signal about on Facebook. On the downside, we wouldn’t have Newton’s Laws of Motion.”
Geoffrey Miller

“Existing political philosophies all developed before evolutionary game theory, so they do not take equilibrium selection into account. Socialism pretends that individuals are not selfish sexual competitors, so it ignores equilibria altogether. Conservatism pretends that there is only one possible equilibrium—a nostalgic version of the status quo—that society could play. Libertarianism ignores the possibility of equilibrium selection at the level of rational social discourse, and assumes that decentralized market dynamics will magically lead to equilibria that yield the highest aggregate social benefits. Far from being a scientific front for a particular set of political views, modern evolutionary psychology makes most standard views look simplistic and unimaginitive.”
Geoffrey Miller, The Mating Mind: How Sexual Choice Shaped the Evolution of Human Nature

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 87275 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more



No comments have been added yet.