Chicks On Lit discussion

Anyone interested in a reading challenge for summer?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 202 (202 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5

message 1: by JC (new)

JC (jmnc) I've joined a few groups since joining GR a few months ago and am interested in doing one of the reading challenges I've seen in other groups, but don't want to be "tied down" to the genre from that group (paranormal romance, urban fantasy, etc.) And I would like more time than a month to complete the challenge. I like the idea of "cover hunts" where you pick your books based on criteria for the covers: blue cover, man on cover, animal on cover etc. as well as title hunts: certain word in the title, single word titles, numbers in the title.
I'm thinking a summer challenge to run the season of summer, so from June 21 - Sept. 21 (I know! June 21 will be here quickly!). I've never done one of these before, and other groups keep "score" with leaderboards etc. I don't have time for that, nor do I know how to organize it, so this would be a just-for-fun challenge and we can keep each other posted on our progress.
Thoughts? Ideas? Has anyone done one before and can offer advice?

message 2: by Jayme (new)

Jayme (jaymetheghostreader) | 4860 comments I done some, I like to do one. I don't know if i would be qualified to run one.

message 3: by JC (new)

JC (jmnc) I don't think we need anyone to "run" it, but I can be "in charge", if that's what we want to call it. Moderate? What were the parameters of your challenge?

Elizabeth (Alaska) Jen, I think you might be interested in The Seasonal Reading Challenge group. Four challenges a year, and the summer one started June 1. You can count anything you've read since then, so you aren't really starting late.

http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/2...

Look at the first post for general challenge "rules",

and specifically, the tasks for the Summer Challenge can be found here:

http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/3...

message 5: by JC (new)