Japanese Literature discussion

Book discussions > Currently Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 877 (877 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 17 18

message 1: by Zala (new)

Zala | 16 comments So, what are you currently reading?
Whatever it is, Japanese or not, share it with us. ;)

I just started The Lovely Bones and it's pretty good. I like the idea a lot and I am excited to see it develop.
I also went and got some Kawabata from the local library to prepare myself while I wait for Beauty and Sadness to arrive. I only got some really old editions, so I don't know what the translation is like, I hope it's decent.

message 2: by Marc (new)

Marc Adler (marcadler) | 25 comments By the way, you're Slovenian, right? Where did you learn your English?

message 3: by Zala (last edited Sep 02, 2009 11:22AM) (new)

Zala | 16 comments Marc wrote: "By the way, you're Slovenian, right? Where did you learn your English?"

Yeah, I'm Slovenian. I started learning when I was six on some English classes, then I started learning it at school when I was 8 (and still learn it) and I learn a lot myself as well, with reading ... There's much to improve, though. :)

message 4: by Lindu (new)

Lindu Pindu (lindacrisan) | 14 comments Hm.. I got a thought, maybe those of us coming from non-Anglophone countries could post one book by a national author, one that others would actually like to read but maybe haven't heard of. I would be interested to hear what Slovenian authors you might recommend.

I'm in the middle of Reading Lolita in Tehran A Memoir in Books, though I didn't bother to update my profile. It makes me feel like I'm on a countdown if I do update the now-reading list, so I'll just add it when I'm done. It has quite a few bad reviews on here, but I like it so far. So much so that I'm in no hurry to finish it. One of my friends converted to Islam, and I've been bugging her with questions like a pesky kid, so that's partly why I'm interested in the culture now.