Most Read This Week In Memoir

As a literary genre, a memoir (from the French: mémoire from the Latin memoria, meaning "memory", or a reminiscence), forms a subclass of autobiography – although the terms 'memoir' and 'autobiography' are almost interchangeable in modern parlance. Memoir is autobiographical writing, but not all autobiographical writing follows the criteria for memoir.

Memoirs are structured differently from formal autobiographies which tend to encompass the writer's entire life span, focusing on the development of his/her personality. The chronological scope of memoir is determined by the work's context and is
...more

Most Read This Week Tagged "Memoir"

Greenlights
Educated
Crying in H Mart
Yearbook
Untamed
The Comfort Book
Somebody's Daughter
Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood
The Anthropocene Reviewed
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
When Breath Becomes Air
Becoming
Maybe You Should Talk to Someone: A Therapist, Her Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed
Becky: The Heartbreaking Story of Becky Watts by Her Father Darren Galsworthy
Notes on Grief
A Promised Land
There's a Hole in my Bucket: A Journey of Two Brothers
In the Dream House
Between Two Kingdoms: A Memoir of a Life Interrupted
The Wreckage of My Presence: Essays
This is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor
No One Is Talking About This
The Happiest Man on Earth
Broken (in the best possible way)
Brat: An '80s Story
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
Know My Name
This Is Your Mind on Plants
You'll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey: Crazy Stories about Racism
Live Your Life: My Story of Loving and Losing Nick Cordero
Broken Horses
A Very Punchable Face
Group: How One Therapist and a Circle of Strangers Saved My Life
The Puma Years: A Memoir of Love and Transformation in the Bolivian Jungle
Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds
Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body
The Soul of a Woman
Due vite
How Y'all Doing?: Misadventures and Mischief from a Life Well Lived
Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning
The Choice: Embrace the Possible
Uncomfortable Conversations With a Black Man
Trejo: My Life of Crime, Redemption, and Hollywood
Open Book
The Salt Path
Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike
The Secret to Superhuman Strength
Le Consentement
The Ride of a Lifetime: Lessons Learned from 15 Years as CEO of the Walt Disney Company
Everything I Know About Love
¡Hola Papi!: How to Come Out in a Walmart Parking Lot and Other Life Lessons
Dear Girls: Intimate Tales, Untold Secrets, & Advice for Living Your Best Life
Thanks for Waiting: The Joy (and Weirdness) of Being a Late Bloomer
Dolly Parton, Songteller: My Life in Lyrics
The Beauty in Breaking
Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man
Calypso
They Called Us Enemy
Intimations
Memorial Drive: A Daughter's Memoir
Please Like Me (But Keep Away)
Think Like a Monk: Train Your Mind for Peace and Purpose Every Day
The Answer Is…: Reflections on My Life
The Ugly Cry
Lady in Waiting: My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown
Is This Anything?
Rememberings
The Pale-Faced Lie
The Rural Diaries: Love, Livestock, and Big Life Lessons Down on Mischief Farm
On Juneteenth
I'm Still Here: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness
Solutions and Other Problems
Nobody Will Tell You This But Me: A True (as Told to Me) Story
Nowhere Girl: A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood
The Babysitter: My Summers with a Serial Killer
Wintering: The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times
Homeland Elegies
Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion
On the House: A Washington Memoir
World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, and Other Astonishments
One Life
High Achiever: The Incredible True Story of One Addict's Double Life
Freedom
All Boys Aren't Blue
Why Fish Don't Exist: A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life
It Never Ends: A Memoir with Nice Memories!
The Psychopath: A True Story
After the Fall: Being American in the World We've Made
Hungry
The Sound of Gravel
Uncanny Valley
Girl, Wash Your Face: Stop Believing the Lies about Who You Are So You Can Become Who You Were Meant to Be
Leaving Isn't the Hardest Thing
Sunshine Girl: An Unexpected Life
Gender Queer
The Making of Biblical Womanhood: How the Subjugation of Women Became Gospel Truth
Beautiful Things: A Memoir
World Travel: An Irreverent Guide
I Want to Be Where the Normal People Are
Eat a Peach

Piper Kerman
We have a racially based justice system that overpunishes, fails to rehabilitate, and doesn't make us safer. ...more
Piper Kerman, Orange Is the New Black

Gail Caldwell
I know now that we never get over great losses; we absorb them, and they carve us into different, often kinder, creatures. ...We tell the story to get them back, to capture the traces of footfalls through the snow.
Gail Caldwell, Let's Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship

More quotes...
*~Can't Stop Reading~* Everyone is welcome, this is a book club for all genres! For those of us who like to read everyt…more
2,431 members, last active 25 days ago
Newbie reads This group is dedicated to our newbie goodreads users, to help them learn how to engage in buddy…more
51 members, last active 6 minutes ago
Books by Erin Reese Discussion Group A book discussion group for readers of Erin Reese's books, Truth Seeker: A Spiritual Adventure o…more
2 members, last active 2 months ago
Four girls in a book club who meet on Saturday nights and take turns talking about the book of t…more
4 members, last active 3 months ago
War of the Bloods in My Veins
1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:33PM — 2 people liked it
Leave the Light On: A Memoir of Recovery and Self-Discovery
1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:33PM — 6 people liked it

Tags

Tags contributing to this page include: memoir and memoirs