,
Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Anthropocene Reviewed” as Want to Read:
The Anthropocene Reviewed
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Anthropocene Reviewed

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  60,852 ratings  ·  10,901 reviews
A deeply moving and mind-expanding collection of personal essays in the first ever work of non-fiction from #1 internationally bestselling author John Green

The Anthropocene is the current geological age, in which human activity has profoundly shaped the planet and its biodiversity. In this remarkable symphony of essays adapted and expanded from his ground-breaking, critica
...more
Hardcover, Signed, 293 pages
Published May 18th 2021 by Dutton
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Anthropocene Reviewed, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Fran The majority of it is content that has previously appeared in the podcast with some new essays. Regardless, it is not a transcript of the podcast. Ess…moreThe majority of it is content that has previously appeared in the podcast with some new essays. Regardless, it is not a transcript of the podcast. Essays have been polished and reworked and some are significantly different from their original form.(less)
Katie I was trying to find the answer to this myself. While John is on the episode Fran mentions, it's not the one that he mentions in "Googling Strangers."…moreI was trying to find the answer to this myself. While John is on the episode Fran mentions, it's not the one that he mentions in "Googling Strangers." Someone recently asked John about it during a Reddit AMA and he said that the episode hasn't aired yet, and that he's not sure if Heavyweight will end up using it, but that either way he's grateful for the opportunity.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  60,852 ratings  ·  10,901 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Anthropocene Reviewed
Gabby
I don’t fail to see the irony in reviewing a book that’s essentially all about reviews, but I was actually pretty surprised by this book. One minute he’s talking about hot dog eating contests and Dr. pepper and the next he’s talking about human loneliness and connection and life during a pandemic. It was actually really cool to read a book that talked about COVID and the struggles of living during a pandemic, this is the first book I’ve read that really talks about it. I also really enjoyed hear ...more
Rincey
Jun 12, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
I give John Green's ability to make me view the world with hope and wonder 5 out of 5 stars

Watch me discuss this book in my May wrap up: https://youtu.be/ouTm4bZ6TQw
...more
Mari
May 08, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this audiobook, read by John Green, through libro.fm and their ALC Program.

I am not super familiar with the podcast of the same name, but still, I knew that I was predisposed to love this. And love this I did.

This is perfectly what I enjoy in a collection of essays: each essay well crafted, but all tied together by a strong central theme. Green writes with the flair of a seasoned storyteller so that I can imagine even readers who are not usually fond of or used to non-ficti
...more
a ;
Jan 24, 2022 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: five-stars
edit, jan ‘22: the place this book (and the podcast that i religiously listened to every month for the better part of my teenage years) has in my life is all-encompassing and impossible to articulate—to the point that i feel strangely indebted to it. i am almost certain that the genuine honesty and care with which john green reflects on the human experience will stay with me for the rest of my life.



HAND IT OVER IMMEDIATELY, JOHN.
Mario the lone bookwolf
Podcasts made nonfiction books, pimped with some specially written parts, rule

The Greens know how to make science rock
I knew the Green brothers from the youtube channel sci-show and crash course and expected nothing more than a great infotainment, edutainment overkill. And boy, how they delivered. I´m now even thinking about listening to the podcast to see how much it differs from the written version.

A bit of everything, never too complicated, understandable, and perfectly portioned to fit int
...more
Maxwell
Jul 28, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: non-fiction, owned
I would like more non-fiction from John Green please! I loved it. I give my experience reading this book 5 stars.
Regina
Jul 09, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Anthropocene (noun): the current geological age, viewed as the period during which human activity has been the dominant influence on climate and the environment.

Have you ever heard that term before now? I sure hadn’t before coming across John Green’s excellent 2021 essay collection, written during COVID lockdown, in which he reviews a wide range of aspects of our existence.

Yes, John Green is the author of uber-popular Young Adult novels like The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska. But no
...more
Elyse  Walters
Jun 15, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Audiobook…read by John Green
…..10 hours and 3 minutes

Nothing prepared me for how wonderful this book is.
I’m thrilled that I own it. Paul listen to parts, and now he wants his own copy on ‘his’ phone.

I haven’t had so much enjoyment learning about trivial things that are not really trivial but may be trivial things from an audiobook as much as this one.
And I haven’t thought about the really important issues of life — like this — (to my awareness) either.

I’ve always liked John Green….
I like
...more
Melanie
Sep 05, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Recommended to Melanie by: Lea (drumsofautumn)
this was very powerful and exactly what i needed right now in my life. <3

Blog | Instagram | Youtube | Ko-fi | Spotify | Twitch
...more
Lotte
4.5/5. Such a ✨ soft ✨ book, I loved it.

John Green gave this review 4 out of 5 stars.
...more
Nev
May 19, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2021, nonfiction
I loved this so fucking much. Apparently non-fiction essays were what I needed to rekindle my love for John Green’s writing. Through reviews of different facets of the world he tells stories of his own life, inventions, human connections, loneliness, mental health, living through a pandemic, and so much more.

Some of the aspects of his writing that I started to not appreciate so much in his YA novels definitely work better here in adult non-fiction. His worldview, use of quotes, and deep musings
...more
Kelsey (munnyreads)
Note: Rounded up to five stars because John literally reviewed the font in the copyright section in his own book.

“We all know how loving ends. But I want to fall in love with the world anyway, to let it crack me open. I want to feel what there is to feel while I am here.”

Short chapters/essays, but very entertaining, educational, and thought-provoking, The essay topics range broadly all the way from Air Conditioning to Sunsets, and even The Penguins of Madagascar. John ties the history of the to
...more
Diane Barnes
Jun 10, 2021 rated it really liked it
Shelves: bedtime-books
This turned out to be a great choice for my bedtime book. John Green writes YA books, most notably "The Fault In Our Stars", which was also a popular movie. I read that one during my years at B&N to stay abreast of the teen section, and liked it a lot, though YA is not my favorite genre. It was an emotional novel about two cancer patients who fall in love during their therapy, so of course it was sad in parts, but also well written and not sappy.

This is his first foray into writing for adults, b
...more
Samson
May 19, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
The inherent and possibly intentional ridiculousness of having to write a review for this whole book is hilarious— and stupid. It's a truly, freely, un-ironic, heart-felt examination of what we love, how we love it, and who we love it with. It's humanity reviewed, renewed, examined and explained. The final "chapters" are almost entirely memoir, reflecting John's own participation in The Anthropocene. It's contemporary and classic and entirely, totally timely. It's the best, calmest, most respons ...more
marta the book slayer
A collection of essays about the most random things: air conditioners (this one I actually enjoyed a lot), hot dog stands, canada geese, notes app, etc (that I really did not care about).

It felt like a strange mix of factual information mixed with personal experiences. I fail to properly categorize this as an informative non-fiction or memoir. John Green uses so many quotes (the ones from Kurt Vonnegut I loved, but then I would rather just read something by Kurt Vonnegut) and thus it felt like I
...more
Amina
Dec 05, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
⭐️❤️BEST NONFICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR⭐️❤️

I've seen a lot of books lately with gorgeous, inviting, colorful covers. John Green's The Anthropocene Reviewed is just that, and when I saw it was a sort of autobiographical non-fiction by The Fault in the Stars author, I decided to give it a read.

Wow! This guy knows A LOT. He gets sick with some sort of inner ear issue during COVID and decides to write down his rambling thoughts while on bed rest for six weeks. When I say random, I mean random; the wor
...more
Dave Schaafsma
“We all know how loving ends. But I want to fall in love with the world anyway, to let it crack me open. I want to feel what there is to feel while I am here.”

I got sort of sick of John Green's YA novel voice--his clever boarding school witticisms, his quirky wise-cracking heroes that all sound alike, but knew I had to listen to John Green's actual voice reading this book, as I read many books on climate change and the Anthropocene, most of them grim and frightening. I find in this book that lik
...more
Luffy
Jan 06, 2022 rated it did not like it
My first one star of the year arrived earlier than I would have wished. John Green's schtick in trying very, very hard to come across as a thoughtful, humble, wonderstruck guy does not fly with yours truly.

I know how nice guys think, and John Green is not a pukka nice guy. He is very good at pretending to be one, and has polished his trade, both in terms of writing and also socialising, to a perfection I can only dream of.

Nevertheless, apart from 3 or 4 'essays' if such short on substance and fo
...more
Tatiana
Wow! John Green must have spent A LOT of time watching Nat Geo and wiki-ing. So have I. I wish I had his conviction of a white rich man to spin all the trivia I know into a series of banal and sappy essays where I talk like I am an expert on every thing in this world via reciting easily googlable factoids. But alas, I have a full-time job.

John Green's following is still strong, judging by the average rating of this drivel. I can understand why kids would be impressed by it, but I am stunned this
...more
Rachel Reads Ravenously
4 stars!

I have to admit, when I found out John Green was releasing an adult nonfiction book, my very first thought was “I’m not smart enough to read it”. And then I found out the book was a collection of essays about the current geologic age and I was immediately relieved because I knew I could handle that. I listened to the audiobook which is narrated by Green and I thought it was fantastic. We got to hear all his thoughts and insights as he intended and it was a great experience.

So many top
...more
Timothy Hickson
Oct 21, 2021 rated it it was amazing
The Anthropocene Reviewed asks only one thing of you: to stop and think a bit more deeply about the world we live in. John Green's first foray into non-fiction, it's very clearly a personal memoir in many ways. While framed as a deeper look at unknown and misremembered stories about humanity, it's more truly a deeper look into Green himself—which he willingly admits. As a consequence, it is a book that will appeal more to people who are already familiar with John Green, but I think it's well w ...more
Olivia (Stories For Coffee)
Beautiful, hopeful, and introspective
abigailscupoftea
Jan 22, 2022 rated it it was amazing
i laughed a lot. i cried a lot. and i learned a lot— about history, about the world, and about life through john green’s eyes. i so appreciated john’s vulnerability; it was like reading his innermost thoughts and it was so, so beautiful. the essay that tugged on my heart the most was ‘googling strangers’, which, as john said in the notes in the back of the book: “provided me with hope that i can’t possibly find language for.”
i give the anthropocene reviewed five stars.
Sara
Jun 02, 2021 rated it it was amazing
The Anthropocene Reviewed is a collection of essays in which the author, John Green, reviews everything from famous art pieces to the QWERTY keyboard (yes, really!).

The reviews are insightful, well researched and utterly captivating, the language is beautiful and each and every essay leaves an impression.

I already want to listen to this again.

I give "The Anthropocene Reviewed" 5 stars
...more
Deborah
Jul 28, 2021 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I mean…sure? This is a collection of personal essays by John Green in which he basically just ponders humanity and rambles endlessly about arbitrary topics like scratch-and-sniff stickers, air conditioning, and the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest. It’s pretentious with a sparse sprinkling of insight here and there. I found myself thinking, who cares multiple times throughout the book. I am flabbergasted by the high ratings for this. His target audience is without a doubt, people who already love ...more
alexandra
Jun 05, 2021 rated it really liked it
Shelves: audiobook, read-2021
short, sweet, and just what i needed. i can’t wait to revisit some of these chapters for years to come.
Tom Ives
Sep 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
One of the most beautiful podcasts becomes a book. Such a simple concept, but so illuminating about what it is to be alive, the power of the human spirit and the absurdity of it all. I will always carry googling strangers with me. He is alive.
Hamad
Jul 13, 2021 rated it really liked it
This Review ✍️ Blog 📖 Twitter 🐦 Instagram 📷 Support me

“We all know how loving ends. But I want to fall in love with the world anyway, to let it crack me open. I want to feel what there is to feel while I am here.”


I read three of Green’s books and I was not really a fan of them, I never got the hype and I thought that the writing was almost pretentious! I don’t usually give authors more than 2-3 chances but the thing is this is a non-fiction book and I had a feeling it would work be
...more
destiny ♡ howling libraries
I didn't have "falling back into head-over-heels love with John Green's writing" on my 2021 bingo card, but here we are.

I grew up on JG's books, and they meant so much to me for so long, but somewhere along the way, I think I lost the connection a little. I wasn't even sure I wanted to read this collection of essays, but I decided to borrow it from the library and give it a try — and within the first essay, I was wholeheartedly sucked back into the beautiful way John views the world.

I learned s
...more
Theresa Alan
Jul 29, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“Wonders do not cease. It is our attentiveness that is in short supply, our ability and willingness to do the work that awe requires.”

I hadn’t expected to learn something reading a collection of essays, but I learned a lot of strange stuff that I’m pretty sure I never even thought about before. Like how the Jurassic Park’s version of velociraptor is based on a different dinosaur with a less dramatic name, or how we chill offices to accommodate middle-aged males in suits rather than a woman who m
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Troubled Blood (Cormoran Strike, #5)
  • Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know About the People We Don’t Know
  • Recursion
  • Foul Lady Fortune (Foul Lady Fortune, #1)
  • The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings, #1)
  • The Mars Room
  • The Twilight Collection
  • Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics (Mr. Lemoncello's Library, #2)
  • The Tale of Despereaux
  • Treasure Hunters (Treasure Hunters, #1)
  • Danger Down The Nile (Treasure Hunters, #2)
  • Zonia's Rain Forest
  • Wonder Walkers
  • Eyes that Kiss in the Corners
  • Mel Fell
  • Bodies Are Cool
  • It Feels Good to Be Yourself: A Book About Gender Identity
  • Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America
See similar books…
See top shelves…
294,637 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.

John Green's first novel, Looking for Alaska, won the 2006 Michael L. Printz Award presented by the American Library Association. His second novel, An Abundance of Katherines, was a 2007 Michael L. Printz Award Honor Book and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. His next novel, Paper Towns, is a New
...more

Articles featuring this book

Now that we’re halfway through the year, it’s time to check in on the 2022 Goodreads Reading Challenge, our rigorous annual initiative for book...
175 likes · 46 comments
“We all know how loving ends. But I want to fall in love with the world anyway, to let it crack me open. I want to feel what there is to feel while I am here.” 234 likes
“One of the strange things about adulthood is that you are your current self, but you are also all the selves you used to be, the ones you grew out of but can't ever quite get rid of.” 190 likes
More quotes…