,
E.  Latimer

E. Latimer’s Followers (289)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
Tabitha...
2,593 books | 632 friends

Harker
1,325 books | 804 friends

Jen Samson
163 books | 424 friends

Lexy
2,139 books | 578 friends

G.B. Ga...
175 books | 935 friends

Ben
Ben
718 books | 190 friends

Lissa Joy
3,674 books | 123 friends

Michell...
486 books | 10 friends

More friends…

E. Latimer

Goodreads Author


Website

Genre

Influences
Neil Gaiman, JK Rowling, Laini Taylor, Roald Dahl, Ellen Potter, Franc ...more

Member Since
July 2015

URL


E. Latimer is the author of The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray and Witches of Ash and Ruin.

Her third book, Escape to Witch City, comes out from Tundra Books August 2021.




Average rating: 3.63 · 2,271 ratings · 584 reviews · 4 distinct worksSimilar authors
Witches of Ash and Ruin

3.61 avg rating — 1,750 ratings — published 2020 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Strange and Deadly Port...

3.67 avg rating — 382 ratings — published 2018 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Escape to Witch City

3.80 avg rating — 121 ratings — published 2021 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Polaris Awakening (Polaris ...

by
3.83 avg rating — 18 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Related News

While we usually think of fall and Halloween as the time for spooky books, witchy teens are undeniably having a major moment right now. No fewer...
106 likes · 51 comments
Truthwitch
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Quotes by E. Latimer  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“If there’s any thing more important than tea, we must put together an expedition and hunt it down posthaste.”
E. Latimer, The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray

“Mira’s face clouded over and she seized Bryony's hand. "I shall fraternize with whomever I please," she said firmly. "And besides that, Bryony Gray is the very best sort of person. And you'd think that too, if you spent more than five minutes with her. I should think you of all people would know not to judge books by their covers.”
E. Latimer, The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray

“If you can’t do it dramatically then it isn’t worth doing at all.”
E. Latimer, The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray

Polls

Vote to decide on our May 2020 Young Adult BOM

Nation by Terry Pratchett
Nation by Terry Pratchett

Alone on a desert island — everything and everyone he knows and loves has been washed away in a storm — Mau is the last surviving member of his nation. He’s completely alone — or so he thinks until he finds the ghost girl. She has no toes, wears strange lacy trousers like the grandfather bird, and gives him a stick that can make fire.
Daphne, sole survivor of the wreck of the Sweet Judy, almost immediately regrets trying to shoot the native boy. Thank goodness the powder was wet and the gun only produced a spark. She’s certain her father, distant cousin of the Royal family, will come and rescue her but it seems, for now, that all she has for company is the boy and the foul-mouthed ship’s parrot, until other survivors arrive to take refuge on the island. Together, Mau and Daphne discover some remarkable things (including how to milk a pig, and why spitting in beer is a good thing), and start to forge a new nation.

Encompassing themes of death and nationhood, Terry Pratchett’s new novel is, as can be expected, extremely funny, witty and wise. Mau’s ancestors have something to teach us all. Mau just wishes they would shut up about it and let him get on with saving everyone’s lives!
 
  10 votes, 41.7%

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1) by Susan Dennard
Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

There's something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she's just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she'll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance
 
  6 votes, 25.0%

Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer
Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab's Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer's motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don't stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that's impossible to put down.
 
  5 votes, 20.8%

Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson
Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, a devastating but hopeful YA debut about a ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future.

There are two kinds of people on the planet. Hunters and prey
I thought I would be safe after my mother died. I thought I could stop searching for new places to hide. But you can’t escape what you are, what you’ve always been.
My name is Savannah Darcy Rose.
And I am still prey.

Though Savannah Rose―Sparrow to her friends and family―is a gifted ballerina, her real talent is keeping secrets. Schooled in silence by her long-dead mother, Sparrow has always believed that her lifelong creed―“I’m not the kind of girl who tells”―will make her just like everyone else: Normal. Happy. Safe. But in the aftermath of a brutal assault by her seemingly perfect boyfriend Tristan, Sparrow must finally find the courage to confront the ghosts of her past, or lose herself forever…
 
  3 votes, 12.5%

More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
YA LGBT Books: * March 2020 New Releases 6 149 Dec 12, 2019 04:10PM  
Nothing But Readi...: This topic has been closed to new comments. February 2020 YA BOM Nominations 9 208 Dec 19, 2019 08:44PM  
Nothing But Readi...: This topic has been closed to new comments. May 2020 YA BOM Nominations 7 193 Mar 27, 2020 08:49AM  
Fantasy Book Club: What are you reading in July 2021 32 16 Aug 01, 2021 04:46PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: A - Z Authors 2021 98 91 Jan 18, 2022 05:43PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: A-Z Book Covers 2021 95 65 Jun 09, 2022 11:24AM  
Crazy Challenge C...: Giant Pandas 85 97 Dec 22, 2022 05:04PM  
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 190765 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
166871 Square In Wonderland Book Club — 107 members — last activity Apr 18, 2017 06:38AM
Book Club from the combining forces of Dana from Dana Square (http://www.danasquare.blogspot.com/) and Steph from In Wonderland (http://www.stephwonde ...more
198372 Teenreaders — 333 members — last activity Feb 15, 2019 07:47AM
This group is for all Teenreaders to discuss young adult books they are reading and current trends in YA publishing.



No comments have been added yet.