E. Latimer

Goodreads Author


Website

Genre

Influences
Neil Gaiman, JK Rowling, Laini Taylor, Roald Dahl, Ellen Potter, Franc ...more

Member Since
July 2015

URL


E. Latimer is the author of The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray.

Her second book, Witches of Ash and Ruin, comes out from Disney Freeform on March 3rd, 2020.


Average rating: 3.71 · 729 ratings · 288 reviews · 3 distinct worksSimilar authors
Witches of Ash and Ruin

3.68 avg rating — 465 ratings — published 2020 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Strange And Deadly Port...

3.77 avg rating — 245 ratings — published 2018 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Polaris Awakening (Polaris ...

by
3.84 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Related News

While we usually think of fall and Halloween as the time for spooky books, witchy teens are undeniably having a major moment right now. No fewer...
101 likes · 51 comments

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Truthwitch
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

E.’s Recent Updates

E. Latimer answered a question about Witches of Ash and Ruin:
Witches of Ash and Ruin by E.  Latimer
I would say yes, but not explicit. Details are limited for the most part, if you can handle The Diviners by Libba Bray this should be okay for you.
E. Latimer has read
Witches of Ash and Ruin by E.  Latimer
Witches of Ash and Ruin
by E. Latimer (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
My mom gives this book 5 stars!
JK, JK. This book will inevitably horrify my mother and she will pray for my soul (love you, mom!)

In all seriousness, I'm SO excited for my witchlings to be out in the world, and since ARC copies are just now popping up
...more
E. Latimer has read
Elysium Girls by Kate Pentecost
Elysium Girls
by Kate Pentecost (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
E. Latimer has read
Other Words for Smoke by Sarah Maria Griffin
Rate this book
Clear rating
E. Latimer has read
Beyond the Ruby Veil by Mara Fitzgerald
Rate this book
Clear rating
E. Latimer has read
When We Were Magic by Sarah Gailey
When We Were Magic
by Sarah Gailey (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
E. Latimer has read
These Witches Don't Burn by Isabel Sterling
Rate this book
Clear rating
E. Latimer has read
Sweet & Bitter Magic by Adrienne Tooley
Sweet & Bitter Magic
by Adrienne Tooley (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
E. Latimer has read
The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinska
Rate this book
Clear rating
E. Latimer has read
Witches of Ash and Ruin by E.  Latimer
Witches of Ash and Ruin
by E. Latimer (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of E.'s books…
“If there’s any thing more important than tea, we must put together an expedition and hunt it down posthaste.”
E. Latimer, The Strange And Deadly Portraits Of Bryony Gray

“Mira’s face clouded over and she seized Bryony's hand. "I shall fraternize with whomever I please," she said firmly. "And besides that, Bryony Gray is the very best sort of person. And you'd think that too, if you spent more than five minutes with her. I should think you of all people would know not to judge books by their covers.”
E. Latimer, The Strange And Deadly Portraits Of Bryony Gray

“If you can’t do it dramatically then it isn’t worth doing at all.”
E. Latimer, The Strange And Deadly Portraits Of Bryony Gray

Polls

Vote to decide on our May 2020 Young Adult BOM

Nation by Terry Pratchett
Nation by Terry Pratchett

Alone on a desert island — everything and everyone he knows and loves has been washed away in a storm — Mau is the last surviving member of his nation. He’s completely alone — or so he thinks until he finds the ghost girl. She has no toes, wears strange lacy trousers like the grandfather bird, and gives him a stick that can make fire.
Daphne, sole survivor of the wreck of the Sweet Judy, almost immediately regrets trying to shoot the native boy. Thank goodness the powder was wet and the gun only produced a spark. She’s certain her father, distant cousin of the Royal family, will come and rescue her but it seems, for now, that all she has for company is the boy and the foul-mouthed ship’s parrot, until other survivors arrive to take refuge on the island. Together, Mau and Daphne discover some remarkable things (including how to milk a pig, and why spitting in beer is a good thing), and start to forge a new nation.

Encompassing themes of death and nationhood, Terry Pratchett’s new novel is, as can be expected, extremely funny, witty and wise. Mau’s ancestors have something to teach us all. Mau just wishes they would shut up about it and let him get on with saving everyone’s lives!
 
  11 votes, 44.0%

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1) by Susan Dennard
Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

There's something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she's just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she'll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance
 
  6 votes, 24.0%

Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer
Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab's Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer's motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don't stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that's impossible to put down.
 
  5 votes, 20.0%

Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson
Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, a devastating but hopeful YA debut about a ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future.

There are two kinds of people on the planet. Hunters and prey
I thought I would be safe after my mother died. I thought I could stop searching for new places to hide. But you can’t escape what you are, what you’ve always been.
My name is Savannah Darcy Rose.
And I am still prey.

Though Savannah Rose―Sparrow to her friends and family―is a gifted ballerina, her real talent is keeping secrets. Schooled in silence by her long-dead mother, Sparrow has always believed that her lifelong creed―“I’m not the kind of girl who tells”―will make her just like everyone else: Normal. Happy. Safe. But in the aftermath of a brutal assault by her seemingly perfect boyfriend Tristan, Sparrow must finally find the courage to confront the ghosts of her past, or lose herself forever…
 
  3 votes, 12.0%

More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
YA LGBT Books: * March 2020 New Releases 6 100 Dec 12, 2019 04:10PM  
Nothing But Readi...: This topic has been closed to new comments. February 2020 YA BOM Nominations 9 208 Dec 19, 2019 08:44PM  
Nothing But Readi...: This topic has been closed to new comments. May 2020 YA BOM Nominations 7 191 Mar 27, 2020 08:49AM  
Readers Unbound: * What Are You Reading II 609 34 1 hour, 2 min ago  
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 108295 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
166871 Square In Wonderland Book Club — 118 members — last activity Apr 18, 2017 06:38AM
Book Club from the combining forces of Dana from Dana Square (http://www.danasquare.blogspot.com/) and Steph from In Wonderland (http://www.stephwonde ...more
198372 Teenreaders — 361 members — last activity Feb 15, 2019 07:47AM
This group is for all Teenreaders to discuss young adult books they are reading and current trends in YA publishing.



No comments have been added yet.