Climate Change

Climate change is a significant and lasting change in the statistical distribution of weather patterns over periods ranging from decades to millions of years. It may be a change in average weather conditions, or in the distribution of weather around the average conditions (i.e., more or fewer extreme weather events). Climate change is caused by factors such as biotic processes, variations in solar radiation received by Earth, plate tectonics, and volcanic eruptions. Certain human activities have also been identified as significant causes of recent climate change, often referred to as "global w ...more

New Releases Tagged "Climate Change"

Underland: A Deep Time Journey
Falter: Has the Human Game Begun to Play Itself Out?
Permafrost
The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After Warming
The Wall
Blackfish City
Losing Earth: A Recent History
The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History
Falter: Has the Human Game Begun to Play Itself Out?
Gold Fame Citrus
This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate
New York 2140
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes
The Ends of the World: Supervolcanoes, Lethal Oceans, and the Search for Past Apocalypses
The Planet Remade: How Geoengineering Could Change the World
Out of the Wreckage: A New Politics in the Age of Crisis
The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World
This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate
Flight Behavior
The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History
The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After Warming
Six Degrees
Merchants of Doubt: How a Handful of Scientists Obscured the Truth on Issues from Tobacco Smoke to Global Warming
Field Notes from a Catastrophe: Man, Nature, and Climate Change
The Weather Makers: How Man Is Changing the Climate and What It Means for Life on Earth
Eaarth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet
Don't Even Think About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change
Storms Of My Grandchildren: The Truth About The Climate Catastrophe And Our Last Chance To Save Humanity
The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable
The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World
Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming
With Speed and Violence: Why Scientists Fear Tipping Points in Climate Change
This Changes Everything by Naomi KleinThe Spell of the Sensuous by David AbramSilent Spring by Rachel CarsonHot, Flat, and Crowded by Thomas L. FriedmanEcopsychology by Theodore Roszak
Waking Up to the Earth and Sky
198 books — 34 voters
101 Ideas to Improve Your New Home by Eduardo ReisinhoVeritas The Pharmacological Endgame by Alessandro BoccalettiNew Carbon Architecture by Bruce KingMaking Your Home More Energy Efficient by Amanda AltonGreen Building and Remodeling for Dummies by Eric Corey Freed
Green building
7 books — 4 voters

Dead Reckoning by Dave AtchesonThe Founding Fish by John McPheeThe Old Man and the Sea by Ernest HemingwayKing of Fish by David R. MontgomerySalar the Salmon by Henry Williamson
fishing and fisheries
53 books — 14 voters
Frozen Solid by James M. TaborAt the Mountains of Madness by H.P. LovecraftIcy Passage by Ann GimpelTrident Code by Thomas Waite
SF & F Atlas - Antarctica
4 books — 2 voters



Related Genres

Gary L. Francione
I am opposed to animal welfare campaigns for two reasons. First, if animal use cannot be morally justified, then we ought to be clear about that, and advocate for no use. Although rape and child molestation are ubiquitous, we do not have campaigns for “humane” rape or “humane” child molestation. We condemn it all. We should do the same with respect to animal exploitation. Second, animal welfare reform does not provide significant protection for animal interests. Animals are chattel property; the ...more
GaryLFrancione

Karen Russell
when you’re raising weather by artificial means, it’s hard to pretend you don’t have a hand in the change
Karen Russell, Orange World and Other Stories

More quotes...
Hiking the Dark Mountain For readers of Greer, Dark Mountain, etc.
1 member, last active 2 years ago
Yale Blue Green's Book Club
3 members, last active 2 years ago
JC Book Club When I first decided to work towards a more susainable fashion industry I had no idea of the wor…more
2 members, last active 2 years ago
Nic School Book Recommendations A group for Duke University Nicholas School of the Environment students and alumni to recommend…more
8 members, last active 4 years ago
A Confused Indian
1 chapters — updated Nov 06, 2016 01:04AM — 0 people liked it
Incident in Geneva
1 chapters — updated Dec 21, 2016 08:51AM — 0 people liked it