Climate Change

Climate change is a significant and lasting change in the statistical distribution of weather patterns over periods ranging from decades to millions of years. It may be a change in average weather conditions, or in the distribution of weather around the average conditions (i.e., more or fewer extreme weather events). Climate change is caused by factors such as biotic processes, variations in solar radiation received by Earth, plate tectonics, and volcanic eruptions. Certain human activities have also been identified as significant causes of recent climate change, often referred to as "global w ...more

New Releases Tagged "Climate Change"

Migrations
Migrations
The Overstory
Weather
The New Wilderness
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference
The Wall
A Children's Bible
We Are the Weather: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast
Greenwood
The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After Warming
Apocalypse Never: Why Environmental Alarmism Hurts Us All
The Story of More: How We Got to Climate Change and Where to Go from Here
The Way the World Ends (Warmer Collection #1)
Our House Is on Fire: Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis
On Fire: The Case for the Green New Deal
This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate
The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After Warming
The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History
Flight Behavior
The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable
Merchants of Doubt: How a Handful of Scientists Obscured the Truth on Issues from Tobacco Smoke to Global Warming
Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet
Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming
Field Notes from a Catastrophe: Man, Nature, and Climate Change
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference
The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World
Don't Even Think About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change
Losing Earth: A Recent History
We Are the Weather: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast
The Weather Makers: How Man Is Changing the Climate and What It Means for Life on Earth

Related Genres

Murray Bookchin
Any attempt to solve the ecological crisis within a bourgeois framework must be dismissed as chimerical. Capitalism is inherently anti-ecological. Competition and accumulation constitute its very law of life, a law … summarised in the phrase, ‘production for the sake of production.’ Anything, however hallowed or rare, ‘has its price’ and is fair game for the marketplace. In a society of this kind, nature is necessarily treated as a mere resource to be plundered and exploited. The destruction of ...more
Murray Bookchin

Gary L. Francione
I am opposed to animal welfare campaigns for two reasons. First, if animal use cannot be morally justified, then we ought to be clear about that, and advocate for no use. Although rape and child molestation are ubiquitous, we do not have campaigns for “humane” rape or “humane” child molestation. We condemn it all. We should do the same with respect to animal exploitation. Second, animal welfare reform does not provide significant protection for animal interests. Animals are chattel property; t ...more
GaryLFrancione

More quotes...
This is a book club for Climate Guides mentors and mentees. The goal of this book club is to dev…more
7 members, last active 2 years ago
Solarpunk Science fiction doesn’t have to been depressing: Welcome to Solarpunk! Solarpunk is a new genr…more
210 members, last active 7 hours ago
Hiking the Dark Mountain For readers of Greer, Dark Mountain, etc.
2 members, last active 3 years ago
Environmentalism for Pragmatists focuses on books related to the environment. It is such a chall…more
1 member, last active 3 years ago
Dragonfly
1 chapters — updated Jan 28, 2016 07:09AM — 0 people liked it
Battered Earth
1 chapters — updated Apr 28, 2011 03:37AM — 0 people liked it