Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Migrations” as Want to Read:
Migrations
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Migrations

by
4.73  ·  Rating details ·  37 ratings  ·  11 reviews
For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.

A will is a powerful thing, and mine has been called terrible.

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can
...more
Hardcover, 272 pages
Expected publication: August 25th 2020 by Flatiron Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Migrations, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Migrations

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.73  · 
Rating details
 ·  37 ratings  ·  11 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Migrations
Sage
Oct 08, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars — I have a lot of feelings about this book and I don’t even know where to start. I’m not giving it 5 stars because I was so meh about it at the beginning, but that’s only because it wasn’t the type of book I usually gravitate toward, I suppose.

Migrations is about a deeply flawed, fucked up, selkie of a woman named Franny Stone who starts the book in Greenland, trying to get passage on a ship so that she can track the last of the Arctic Terns, in a world where birds and other animals
...more
Audrey
Dec 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
An effortlessly beautifully tale about a woman following the migration of the last arctic terns from Greenland to Antarctica. Most wildlife is now extinct, including most fish and birds, Franny talks her way onto a fishing boat to follow these precious birds to fishing grounds. Her past slowly unfolds as does the hardship of the fishing life. And the consequences of humankind’s thoughtless actions on our world. This book grabbed my heart from the first sentence and didn’t let go until I reached ...more
Sara Murphy
Jul 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Equally beautiful and gripping. A love letter to the other species who share our planet -- to their pure wildness, to the miracle of their existence and the brutality of their loss in the face of human selfishness. Franny's own internal wildness makes her sharp, vulnerable, and fascinating all at once. I still feel stunned after finishing the final page.
Susan
Feb 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I was trying to figure out why it was taking me a little longer than usual to get through this novel. In the end, I think I was savoring not just the language but the melancholy. There is something deeply satisfying in a story told slowly and deliberately and I came to understand that this was exactly the right pace for this novel. This is the story of migration and movement and the natural course of things. It's about the pain we carry and the burden of deep empathy by some and abject neglect ...more
Sudalu
Jan 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
No book has captured me quite like this. Family, wildlife, science, romance and hope are interwoven in this seamless and beautiful novel by Charlotte McConaghy. The main character is such a strong, shattered, lost soul on a mission that you will make you cheer her on as you want to envelope in a big hug. The romance she has with her orintoligist husband is one you will envy. The mystery surrounding her Mam and Da will possess you to flip the pages well into the night. The plight of the last ...more
Karen
Jan 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely brilliant. A warning, a struggle for survival warring against the urge to give in, give up. An incredible book.
Jody Yarnall
Dec 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book was wonderful, full of emotion, fear, turmoil, love, life, and death. It’s the end of the world and greed has won. Its the end of life as we know it. Of hard salty folk who don’t know how to stop. It’s a sad story of what will come if humans don’t change their ways, love for the earth and all its inhabitants. Sad, hurt people who see a light, a chance for redemption. This story is our story, our end, but it offers hope, and the magnification ending made me cry.
Linda
Feb 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
First, thank you to Goodreads for the ARC of this wonderful book.

What a stunning, melancholy, visceral book. A young woman, with a wandering soul in search of meaning in her life coincides with her study of the migration of the Arctic tern. The atmospheric writing is amazing and there is enough unspoken secrets to keep you immersed.

This book will touch your soul.
Dulcey Heller
Feb 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Devoured in an evening. This is one of those rare books that continues to expand within you as you read, both breaking and filling your heart.
Eric
Feb 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A haunting but beautiful love letter to the natural world and everything that resides in it. With prose that beg to be read over and over. This book came out of nowhere and left me stunned.
Susan
Jan 03, 2020 rated it liked it
3.5 stars
Jennifer
rated it it was amazing
Jan 21, 2020
Rivka (TheLitWitch)
rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2019
Heather Orlando Jerabek
rated it it was amazing
Dec 18, 2019
Amelia
rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2020
Ellen Speers
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2020
Sofia
rated it it was amazing
Feb 28, 2019
Ula
rated it really liked it
Jan 08, 2019
Audrey Stewart
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2020
Julia
rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2019
Flatiron Books
rated it it was amazing
Aug 27, 2019
Gretchen Marie
rated it it was amazing
Nov 21, 2019
Schmarro
rated it it was amazing
Jun 11, 2019
Jess
rated it it was amazing
Dec 12, 2019
Molly
rated it really liked it
Jun 19, 2019
Ali
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2020
Rose Cronin-Jackman
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2019
Kelly
rated it it was amazing
Aug 16, 2019
Samantha
rated it it was amazing
Dec 16, 2019
Arden
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Hollywood Park: A Memoir
  • American Dirt
  • My Dark Vanessa
  • The Paris Hours: A Novel
  • The Safe Place
  • The House in the Cerulean Sea
  • Oona Out of Order
  • Cilka's Journey (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #2)
  • Saint X
  • The Starless Sea
  • The Shadows
  • Your House Will Pay
  • Blindtunnel
  • The Flatshare
  • The Book of V.
  • King of the Mississippi
  • Luster
  • The Grace Year
See similar books…
343 followers
Hi! I'm Charlotte, the author of the forthcoming novel MIGRATIONS, published in the US in August 2020, and published in the UK and AUS as THE LAST MIGRATION.

After having grown up writing SFF, this is my first foray into adult literary fiction and will be my first book to cross oceans. I have a Graduate Degree in Screenwriting and a Masters in Screen Arts, I live in Sydney, and my three favourite
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »