Michael   Potts

year in books
Joe Pinney
1,187 books | 199 friends

David J...
324 books | 905 friends

Carrie ...
75 books | 2,690 friends

Sam
297 books | 803 friends

Rebecca
590 books | 194 friends

Yuuki N...
194 books | 80 friends

Abby Go...
1,153 books | 702 friends

DeeDee
164 books | 62 friends

More friends…

Michael Potts

Goodreads Author


Born
in Smyrna, Tennessee, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
James Agee, Ray Bradbury, Stephen King, Cormac McCarthy

Member Since
March 2012


Michael Potts is a writer of Southern Fiction, Southern Gothic, horror, and poetry originally from Smyrna, Tennessee. He is the author of End of Summer (Tullahoma, TN: WordCrafts Press, 2011), a Southern Fiction novel, and the horror novels Unpardonable Sin (WordCrafts, 2014) and Obedience (WordCrafts, 2016). His poetry chapbook, From Field to Thicket, won the 2006 Mary Belle Campbell Poetry Book Award of the North Carolina Writers' Network. WordCrafts Press also published his book, Aerobics for the Mind: Practical Exercises in Philosophy that Anybody Can Do in 2014. His creative nonfiction essay, "Haunted," won the 2006 Rose Post Creative Nonfiction Contest of the NC Writer's Network. He is a 2007 graduate of Middle Tennessee State Univers ...more

To ask Michael Potts questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Michael Potts I am currently revising a full-length horror screenplay, "Obedience," which is about a teenage girl facing the madness of her Fundamentalist preacher …moreI am currently revising a full-length horror screenplay, "Obedience," which is about a teenage girl facing the madness of her Fundamentalist preacher father.(less)
Michael Potts I read, or if I'm exhausted, I lie down and take a cat nap. Taking a walk in the woods or some other pleasant place is great for ending writer's block…moreI read, or if I'm exhausted, I lie down and take a cat nap. Taking a walk in the woods or some other pleasant place is great for ending writer's block.(less)
Average rating: 4.28 · 61 ratings · 28 reviews · 8 distinct worksSimilar authors
End of Summer

4.05 avg rating — 20 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Unpardonable Sin

4.44 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hiding from the Reaper and ...

4.44 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Obedience

4.75 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2016 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aerobics for the Mind: Prac...

3.89 avg rating — 9 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Obedience: a novel

4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beyond Brain Death: The Cas...

by
4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2001
Rate this book
Clear rating
Nurse

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 1 rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Michael Potts…

Review of Carl R. Trueman, "The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self"

The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self: Cultural Amnesia, Expressive Individualism, and the Road to Sexual Revolution The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self: Cultural Amnesia, Expressive Individualism, and the Road to Sexual Revolution by Carl R. Trueman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


From whence did "wokeness" arise? What led to the decline of traditional Christian morality among the elite and the acceptance of gay marriage and transgenderism? Carl Trueman locates the reasons for such cultural changes in the accepta Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on June 24, 2021 04:22 Tags: freud, gay-marriage, marcuse, marx, modernity, sexual-revolution, trueman
The Wise Friend
Michael is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
US Chess Federati...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Michael’s Recent Updates

Michael is now friends with Steve Vertlieb
Michael wants to read
The Skin by Curzio Malaparte
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael rated a book it was amazing
The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self by Carl R. Trueman
Rate this book
Clear rating
From whence did "wokeness" arise? What led to the decline of traditional Christian morality among the elite and the acceptance of gay marriage and transgenderism? Carl Trueman locates the reasons for such cultural changes in the acceptance of "expres ...more
Michael rated a book it was amazing
Apollo 1 by Ryan S. Walters
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ryan Walters has written an informative and interesting book on one of the great tragedies of the drive toward landing a man on the moon--the Apollo 1 disaster. Three astronauts, in a flight simulation on the ground, were killed when a flash fire das ...more
Michael rated a book it was amazing
Smithy by Amanda Desiree
Smithy
by Amanda Desiree (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
"Smithy" is a fine horror book in the tradition of Henry James and M. R. James. The horror is a slow build to the climactic scene, and the result is well worth the wait. The thesis is unique--what if an ape in a sign language study seems to see somet ...more
Michael wants to read
1984 by George Orwell
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael wants to read
The Atrocities by Jeremy C. Shipp
The Atrocities
by Jeremy C. Shipp (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael is currently reading
The Wise Friend by Ramsey Campbell
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael is currently reading
US Chess Federation’s by U.S. Chess Federation
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael is currently reading
The Universal Christ by Richard Rohr
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Michael's books…
Neil Postman
“We were keeping our eye on 1984. When the year came and the prophecy didn't, thoughtful Americans sang softly in praise of themselves. The roots of liberal democracy had held. Wherever else the terror had happened, we, at least, had not been visited by Orwellian nightmares.

But we had forgotten that alongside Orwell's dark vision, there was another - slightly older, slightly less well known, equally chilling: Aldous Huxley's Brave New World. Contrary to common belief even among the educated, Huxley and Orwell did not prophesy the same thing. Orwell warns that we will be overcome by an externally imposed oppression. But in Huxley's vision, no Big Brother is required to deprive people of their autonomy, maturity and history. As he saw it, people will come to love their oppression, to adore the technologies that undo their capacities to think.

What Orwell feared were those who would ban books. What Huxley feared was that there would be no reason to ban a book, for there would be no one who wanted to read one. Orwell feared those who would deprive us of information. Huxley feared those who would give us so much that we would be reduced to passivity and egoism. Orwell feared that the truth would be concealed from us. Huxley feared the truth would be drowned in a sea of irrelevance. Orwell feared we would become a captive culture. Huxley feared we would become a trivial culture, preoccupied with some equivalent of the feelies, the orgy porgy, and the centrifugal bumblepuppy. As Huxley remarked in Brave New World Revisited, the civil libertarians and rationalists who are ever on the alert to oppose tyranny "failed to take into account man's almost infinite appetite for distractions." In 1984, Orwell added, people are controlled by inflicting pain. In Brave New World, they are controlled by inflicting pleasure. In short, Orwell feared that what we fear will ruin us. Huxley feared that what we desire will ruin us.

This book is about the possibility that Huxley, not Orwell, was right.”
Neil Postman, Amusing Ourselves to Death: Public Discourse in the Age of Show Business

Albert Einstein
“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.”
Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.”
Albert Einstein

Dr. Seuss
“You know you're in love when you can't fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”
Dr. Seuss

Marcus Tullius Cicero
“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
Marcus Tullius Cicero

13824 Literary Darkness — 3948 members — last activity 2 hours, 4 min ago
This group is dedicated to an appreciation of important works of literature, both classic and contemporary... that happen to fall into the category of ...more
69484 Book Promotions — 2646 members — last activity Jul 15, 2021 06:23AM
Well, it seems there is a group for everything else out there, but not one specifically for promoting books. There are places within groups to do it, ...more
108 Horror Aficionados — 18030 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vampires, werewolves, zombies, serial killers, plagues, or ...more
134618 99 cent Bestsellers — 3119 members — last activity Jun 21, 2021 11:49PM
Welcome to 99 cent Bestseller. We give you the best books pricing 99 cents from amazon. If you love books then this group is for you. Authors can also ...more
198610 ThunderClap For Authors — 378 members — last activity May 01, 2018 07:02AM
ThunderClap is a clever tool that promotes an online flash mob . A message is louder when you and your friends say it together. Through Facebook, Twit ...more
190112 Judging Book Covers - ALL. DAY. LONG. — 1252 members — last activity May 05, 2020 04:12AM
Yeah, we judge books by their covers - So What!
170721 The Drunken Druid Awards — 1020 members — last activity Apr 14, 2021 06:21AM
The Drunken Druid Award is a prestigious literary prize awarded each year for the best original full-length fictional novel. This peer-reviewed Book A ...more
31471 THE Group for Authors! — 11907 members — last activity 3 hours, 56 min ago
This is a group for authors to discuss their craft, as well as publishing and book marketing.
168867 Readers & Writers — 3627 members — last activity Jul 24, 2021 08:06AM
This is a place for Readers, Writers, Authors, Bloggers & Publishers to make connections, find new friends, ask for help and discover great new reads. ...more
98908 The Reading Cafe — 1231 members — last activity 23 hours, 53 min ago
The Reading Cafe is an online book review website that features: book reviews author interview cover model interviews giveaways cafe news blog tours ...more
More of Michael’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.