Karin Boye


Born
in Gothenburg, Sweden
October 26, 1900

Died
April 24, 1941

Genre


Karin Boye was a Swedish poet and novelist.

She is perhaps most famous for her poems, of which the most well-known ought to be "Yes, of course it hurts" (Swedish: "Ja visst gör det ont") and "In motion" (Swedish: "I rörelse"). She also wrote a few novels including "Kallocain". Inspired by the rise of National Socialism in Germany, it was a portrayal of a dystopian society in the vein of Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four and Huxley's Brave New World (though written almost a decade before Nineteen Eighty-Four). In the novel, an idealistic scientist named Leo Kall invents Kallocain, a kind of truth serum.

Boye died in an apparent suicide when swallowing sleeping-pills after leaving home on April 23, 1941.
...more

Average rating: 3.77 · 10,226 ratings · 638 reviews · 72 distinct worksSimilar authors
Kallocain

by
3.77 avg rating — 7,727 ratings — published 1940 — 87 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kris

3.56 avg rating — 449 ratings — published 1934 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ella gör sig fri

3.32 avg rating — 331 ratings — published 1940 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dikter

4.23 avg rating — 208 ratings — published 1942 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Astarte

by
3.49 avg rating — 340 ratings — published 1931 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Snäckorna

3.64 avg rating — 198 ratings — published 1941 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Complete Poems

by
4.14 avg rating — 219 ratings — published 1994 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Moln

3.93 avg rating — 94 ratings — published 1922
Rate this book
Clear rating
För trädets skull

4.10 avg rating — 91 ratings — published 1935 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ja visst gör det ont : dikt...

4.04 avg rating — 52 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Karin Boye…
Dikter i urval: Volym I Dikter i urval: Volym II
(2 books)
by
3.82 avg rating — 11 ratings

“Hur kan jag säga om din röst är vacker.
Jag vet ju bara, att den genomtränger mig
och kommer mig att darra som ett löv
och trasar sönder mig och spränger mig.”
Karin Boye

“Den mätta dagen, den är aldrig störst
Den bästa dagen, är en dag av törst

Nog finns det mål och mening i vår färd
Men det är vägen, som är mödan värd”
Karin Boye, Dikter

“Ni bygger utifrån , vi byggs inifrån och in. Ni bygger med er själva som stenar och faller sönder utifrån och in. Vi bygger inifrån som träd, och det växer ut broar mellan oss som inte är död materia och dött tvång. Från oss går det levande ut. I er går det livlösa in, sid 75”
Karin Boye, Kallocain

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
75 Books...More o...: Liz's 2009 Books - Completed! 93 174 Sep 03, 2009 06:49AM  
The Next Best Boo...: Liz's Reading Goal 2009 63 309 Dec 18, 2009 11:19AM  
The Book Challenge: Liz's Book Challenge 2009 79 151 Dec 30, 2009 09:01AM  
100+ Books in 2021: Adwielle's book challenge 2009 72 147 Dec 30, 2009 09:06AM  
Science Fiction A...: European Science Fiction 11 135 Oct 31, 2013 02:33PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: The Old Challenge 202 153 Mar 06, 2014 05:33AM  
Crazy Challenge C...: Listopia challenge 2013 498 237 Jun 24, 2014 07:13PM