Ray Bradbury
This topic is about Ray Bradbury
Ray Bradbury, R.I.P.

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jim (new)

Jim | 498 comments Source.

From the People magazine obituary:
"Libraries raised me," The New York Times quoted the outspoken Bradbury as saying. "I believe in libraries because most students don't have any money. When I graduated from high school, it was during the Depression and we had no money. I couldn't go to college, so I went to the library three days a week for 10 years."

By one calculation, Bradbury's name appears on more than 30 books, nearly 600 short stories and innumerable essays and plays, in addition to screenplays, teleplays, speeches and personal letters.

In June 2012, for a special science-fiction issue of The New Yorker, Bradbury wrote of being totally consumed as a child by space hero Buck Rogers and adventure author Edgar Rice Burroughs. "When I look back now, I realize what a trial I must have been to my friends and relatives," he said. "I would go out to [my grandparents' front] lawn on summer nights and reach up to the red light of Mars and say, 'Take me home!' "

If there's any justice, he's there now.

In addition to his literary legacy, I'll also remember the Ray Bradbury Theater, which ran on HBO and USA from 1985 to 1992. I still remember one episode called "Banshee," with Peter O'Toole and Charles Martin Smith, which was both funny and terrifying. What I didn't know at the time was that the characters were directly based on John Huston and Bradbury himself. Wonder if I still have that videocassette around here somewhere...?

message 2: by Matt, I am the Great Went. (new)

Matt | 1517 comments Mod