Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy discussion

General Discussion > Which should I read first?

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lola (last edited Dec 04, 2010 05:31PM) (new)

Lola (llhlola) | 9 comments I am fairly new to Goodreads, and I just purchased a bunch of ebooks. I am wondering which one to start first:

1. The Iron Duke
2. The City of Bones
3. Ecstasy: The Shadowdwellers
4. The Light of Asteria
5. Grave Witch
6. Storm Glass
7. Clockwork Angel

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Terry (Ter05 TwiMoms/ MundieMoms) (ter05) | 608 comments City of Bones!! Clockwork Angel is best read after you read all three of the Mortal Instruments books (City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass) as it is a prequel to them. I have read the three four times and will read them again...and own the audio CD's.

message 3: by ஐAndreaஐ (new)

ஐAndreaஐ (rosesrrblue) | 707 comments City of bones!

message 4: by Lora (new)

Lora Savchova (luxuria) | 313 comments City of Bones! Absolutely. And then the next two and Clockwork Angel.
Haven't really read the others, except for Storm Glass and it was good, but CoB is exceptional.

message 5: by Irene (new)

Irene Hollimon | 182 comments I liked Grave Witch.

JESSICA ~Snuggly Bear Paws~ (brenian) Llhgrey wrote: "I am fairly new to Goodreads, and I just purchased a bunch of ebooks. I am wondering which one to start first:

1. The Iron Duke
2. The City of Bones
3. Ecstasy: The Shadowdwellers
4. The..."

Clockwork Angel

Terry (Ter05 TwiMoms/ MundieMoms) (ter05) | 608 comments Just curious. Why would you read Clockwork Angel before City of Bones and the next two? I know it pre-dates them a century, but there are things in there that readers of the trilogy know and a reader of CA would not. There is much more Shadowhunter history in the MI books, explanation of the runes, etc. that is not totally explained in CA.

message 8: by Danielle (new)