THE Group for Authors! discussion

General Discussion > Feature I'd Like...

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Skylar (new)

Skylar Burris (skylarburris) | 6 comments Author profiles are of course public. It would be nice if I could keep my "reader" profile private, however, so only friends could see my bookshelves and additional info. Currently, I believe anything I have in my reader profile is accessible because I am a Goodreads Author. Is that true?

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

Skylar wrote: "Author profiles are of course public. It would be nice if I could keep my "reader" profile private, however, so only friends could see my bookshelves and additional info. Currently, I believe anyth..."

I agree, Skylar. I would love to have the option to hide certain shelves.

message 3: by rivka (new)

rivka | 562 comments As a reader (and non-author), I understand this request, but I think it's a shame. I love being able to see what some of my favorite authors are reading!

Then again, I choose to have a private profile, so I definitely empathize with the desire to not have one's reading choices broadcast to the entire internet.

This Is Not The Michael You're Looking For Broadly speaking, a number of users (author or not) have discussed the idea of having private shelves or (more recently) privacy controls more similar to that of other social websites which allow finer scale control of who can see what info (e.g., everyone, private, friends-only, perhaps even subsets of designated friends).

This would solve the problem for authors as well as other users if GR were to consider implementing it.

Petra kissed a prince and he turned into a frog (petra-x) If there are to be author profiles which do not show any personal info, including bookshelves, then the friends option should be removed, leaving only 'fans' as Facebook.

message 6: by Skylar (new)