SciFi and Fantasy Book Club discussion

GoodReads Authors' Discussion > I’m a new author and would value your feedback 😊

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Beth (new)

Beth Worsdell (bethworsdell) | 6 comments What started as a weird ass dream has turned into a 76,000 word book lol. It’s book one of a series ( I’ve started book 2 already) you can read the prologue and first three chapters to my debut book here 😊 https://www.wattpad.com/517552278-ear.... I would greatly value your feedback as it’s a very original story concept. Thank you in advance for helping a newbie !!!! any advice or tips would be greatly received 😊

message 2: by Trike (new)

Trike I’m three sentences in and we need to talk about commas. (Just so you know, I was a professional proofreader and editor for years.) So, your first two paragraphs:

We should have known someone or something, would step in and save our planet. Who could blame anyone for trying to save the planet, we'd been steadily destroying for centuries! Let's face it we couldn't possibly be the only inhabitants of a planet in the whole universe. Especially when you considered how much evidence there was, of ancient aliens and proof of UFOs being seen, not only recently but in ancient history records. +

We had tried to change our ways we really did. However our farmers had already poisoned our soil with pesticides for decades, and purely for profit. Such as wheat farmers who were using pesticides just before a harvest, so their wheat crops would yield more.

Wow, Wattpad, that was a PITA to copy and paste. Anyway....

The first sentence: remove the comma. It’s extraneous. Second sentence, ditto.

Third sentence: there should be a comma after “Let’s face it”.

The fourth sentence should technically be part of the third, but as a style thing it’s perfectly fine. I write that way, too, so no biggie. HOWEVER, there should not be a comma between “was” and “of”.