The Sword and Laser discussion

Reading Where it Happens

Comments Showing 1-50 of 54 (54 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by William (new)

William | 397 comments Have you ever read a book in the actual spot it happened?

I’ve had a few weird experiences, for instance I read the climactic scene of Mortal Engines while actually flying over St Paul's. I read some of The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter while sitting in a tea shop on Baker Street.

Today I read a key scene from Intervention (a life-changing favourite of mine) while sitting in the very spot it was taking place.

This got me wondering if anyone has had a similar experience? Please share.

PS: This is my first time starting a thread. I really hope I’m doing it right.

Intervention

Intervention

Intervention

message 2: by Alan (new)

Alan Denham (alandenham) | 137 comments William wrote: "Have you ever read a book in the actual spot it happened? ..."

Most of what I read takes place on different planets, either in SF or Fantasy - though I have read a couple of detective stories set in locations I know well, and I tried writing something in an identifiable location, but it is going slowly, and not well, so may get binned!

message 3: by Trike (new)

Trike | 8155 comments A few times in the past I’ve been reading along and suddenly encounter a passage that takes place where I am. It was always weird to read something that happens in Dayton, Ohio, because it always seems like no one knows about Dayton despite all of the world-famous celebrities and life-changing inventions from there.