SciFi and Fantasy Book Club discussion

GoodReads Authors' Discussion > Thoughts on being a writer on Goodreads

Comments Showing 1-50 of 81 (81 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Kira (new)

Kira Wilson | 15 comments Greetings, my fellow authors!

Ever since I joined Goodreads, I've been very, VERY cautious regarding my conduct, my tone, my posts, and how much "Hey I'm a writer!" I put into my interactions with fellow readers. So much so that I think it's strangled part of my enjoyment of being on Goodreads.

Like every author I've ever heard of, I was a reader first, and continue to be one. I love books! I love digging into another person's world, getting to know their characters and becoming part of that collective experience. I belong here! But I'm not just here for the books. I'm here for the readers too, to get to know them on a personal level, to find out what they like and are looking for in a story... or what they can't stand and learn from that.

And also to let them know that I've written books that they might like.

Sometimes it's embarrassing to put yourself out there, even if you're proud of what you've written. It feels like bragging. There's also the awareness that authors have treated Goodreads poorly in the past. They've used it as another faceless advertising platform without becoming a part of the communities or taking part in the discussions. Therefore, people can be leery of us putting ourselves out there.

But since becoming aware of how awkward I feel sometimes when I think about discussing my books with readers, I wondered if I wasn't the only one.

How about you guys? Do you feel shy or awkward about telling people here that you've written books? Do you think you censor yourself too much because you don't want to be perceived as being one of "those authors"?

message 2: by Trike (new)

Trike You don’t even need to be an author to feel that.