Space Opera Fans discussion

Linesman (Linesman, #1)
This topic is about Linesman
BOTM READER > May 2018 READER: Linesman by Dunstall

Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Teresa, Plan B is in Effect (new) - rated it 4 stars

Teresa Carrigan | 2654 comments Mod
The May 2018 READER Pick is Linesman (Linesman, #1) by S.K. Dunstall Linesman by S.K. Dunstall. Please use this thread to post questions, comments, and reviews, at any time.

Official description:
The lines. No ship can traverse the void without them. Only linesmen can work with them. But only Ean Lambert hears their song. And everyone thinks he’s crazy…

Most slum kids never go far, certainly not becoming a level-ten linesman like Ean. Even if he’s part of a small, and unethical, cartel, and the other linesmen disdain his self-taught methods, he’s certified and working.

Then a mysterious alien ship is discovered at the edges of the galaxy. Each of the major galactic powers is desperate to be the first to uncover the ship’s secrets, but all they’ve learned is that it has the familiar lines of energy—and a defense system that, once triggered, annihilates everything in a 200 kilometer radius.

The vessel threatens any linesman who dares to approach it, except Ean. His unique talents may be the key to understanding this alarming new force—and reconfiguring the relationship between humans and the ships that serve them, forever.

Trike | 598 comments Did not like. This was amateur hour for me.

message 3: by Teresa, Plan B is in Effect (last edited Apr 28, 2018 03:12PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars