The Sword and Laser discussion

The Martian
This topic is about The Martian
2014 Reads > TM: How we define Science Fiction

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Shaina (shainaeg) | 165 comments I absolutely loved this book. One of the things it got me thinking about is how we define science fiction.

My immediate thought on reading the description of this book was that it was sci-fi because it takes place on Mars. As I read the book I kept feeling like this really shouldn't be defined as sci-fi, more just an science adventure book. There weren't any aliens or currently unrealistic technologies (as far as I know). I'm no scientist, so there may be some futuristic technologies that I overlooked, but most of the technology seemed like stuff that we have the capability to do now even if we haven't.

As our technologies have grown what is science fiction is constantly changing because what we are capable of is changing. 100 years ago, a book about traveling to the moon would have been sci-fi, but since the apollo missions the line between fiction and science fiction has gotten increasingly blurry.

How does everyone else feel, is this science fiction or just scientifically leaning fiction?

And yes I know that categories don't really matter in the end, but it's fun to think and talk about.

Gordon (daftyman) | 28 comments also loving the book, not even a tenth of the way through. Obviously there's sci-fi and there's sci-fi. While this isn't as fantastical as some full of worm holes and aliens it must be science fiction, but I feel that it could also sit in a more regular fiction bookshelf as it is more speculative. you feel that there is a real grounding in what's available now. That there is a very real chance that this could happen. It almost seems unfair to put this in a sci-fi genre as it would automatically push some people away that would get a real kick out of the book.