Lovers of Paranormal discussion

What to read after HP

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dan (new)

Dan (danlewis) Hey everyone! I'm new to Goodreads and to this group. One thing I'm certainly not new to is the HP series. I've read the books more times than anyone would deem sane. Now I'm trying to branch out and find some similar work. Perhaps something more mature but still incorporating a magical element. Most recently, I read The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and The Magicians series by Lev Grossman. I loved them! Anyone have any other suggestions for a 20-something HP lover who wants something a bit more mature?
Thanks everyone!

message 2: by Leslie (new)

Leslie Ronish (lronish) If you want something a bit more mature there is always the change series, which is about a modern day apocalypse of sorts. It has more mature content, but relatively no magic. If you want something spectacularly magically I recommend Holly Black. She wrote a book called Tithe, which is park of a series and its a great book in my opinion. She focuses on faeries. If you are more into dragons and other worlds then Amelia Atwater-Rhodes is also great. She wrote Hawksong, which again is part of a series but I love all of her books. I always feel like I'm transported somewhere else, unfortunately they are a bit thin in comparison to HP.

message 3: by Anna, LoP BOTM & R2R mod (last edited Sep 08, 2015 09:27PM) (new)

Anna Erishkigal (annaerishkigal) | 795 comments Mod
I recommend the following series after Harry Potter:

I see you already read the Pendragon series! If you are looking for YA without too much teenage angst:

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: