Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Bulletin Board > Something which is bugging me

Comments Showing 1-50 of 98 (98 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by A.L. (new)

A.L. Butcher (alb2012) | 848 comments Ok, this is a bit of an idiot question.

I was always told the punctuation went INSIDE the speech marks in dialogue.
"Hello," said Bob.

However I keep seeing "Hello", said Bob. Even in published books. it looks wrong to me. Can anyone clarify if I am wrong or not?

message 2: by Cheryl (new)

Cheryl Landmark (clandmark) | 242 comments Alexandra, I'm no expert, but I've always thought the punctuation went inside the quotation marks as well. It really doesn't make sense to me to put it outside.

message 3: by Steph (new)

Steph Bennion (stephbennion) | 182 comments "You are correct," said Bob.

message 4: by Janelovering (new)

Janelovering | 52 comments Yes, because the punctuation is punctuating what has been said, not the sentence in which it features, therefore goes inside the speech marks.

message 5: by A.L. (new)

A.L. Butcher (alb2012) | 848 comments Me too. Glad to hear I am right:)

message 6: by Denise (new)

Denise Baer | 321 comments From what I have learned, the punctuations go inside the quotes. The only time I know the punctuation is outside quotes is when something is quoted.

"The carbon monoxide from the trees fails to keep the foliage green... ".

BTW, I have no idea where this quote came from so I don't even know if it's a quote.

message 7: by Cassandra (new)

Cassandra Giovanni Your original phrase is correct. Punctuation goes inside if it is a part of the quotation.

message 8: by A.L. (new)

A.L. Butcher (alb2012) | 848 comments Yay. I keep seeing it in print books and it was beginning to get on my nerves. I tend to find if something look wrong it probably is:).

Then I saw it again today and thought, right I am finding out who wrong.

Nice it wasn't me, that made my day:)

message 9: by Justin (new)