Tiger Woods NOT Disqualified, Rule 34-1b/1 as applied to rule 20-12

Tiger Woods did not apply rule 26 as it relates to water hazards and rule 20-2 as it relates to dropping a ball properly.  Thus, Tiger Woods ended up signing an incorrect scorecard.  Should Tiger be disqualified?  According to a strict interpretation of the rules, the answer is NO. 

This breach is covered by Rule 34-1b/1, and also falls under 33-7:


http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-34/#34-1b/1


34-1b/1


Omission of Penalty Stroke When Score Returned

Q.In stroke play, a competitor returned an incorrect score for a hole due to failure to include a penalty stroke. After the competition closed the error was discovered. Does Rule 34-1b allow imposition of a disqualification penalty for a breach of Rule 6-6d?


A.As stated in Rule 34-1b, the Committee should impose a penalty of disqualification if the competitor knew, before the competition closed, that he had incurred the penalty but intentionally or unintentionally failed to add the penalty to his score, but not if the competitor did not know he had incurred the penalty.


 


33.7


A penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.

Any penalty less than disqualification must not be waived or modified.


If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule.



 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on April 13, 2013 07:29
No comments have been added yet.