Timothy Ferriss's Blog, page 87
April 11, 2016
How I Built a #1-Ranked Podcast With 60M+ Downloads

The kitchen table where I’ve recorded the majority of my podcasts.
This is my first public exploration of the business and art of podcasting. I still have much to improve, but I’m ready to share a few lessons learned. It’s my hope that they’ll save you a ton of time.
I’m still flabbergasted by how this experiment took on a life of its own. It started with too much booze with Kevin Rose, and I expected it to die a quiet death after six episodes.
That said, here are a few quick stats on The Tim Ferriss Show after 150 episodes of mucking about, screwing up, and refining (as of this writing):
Nearly 70,000,000 downloads as of April 2016
More than 2,500 reviews on iTunes, 2,100+ 5-star reviews
Selected for “Best of iTunes” in 2014 and 2015
Out of 300,000+ podcasts on iTunes, it’s generally the #1 business podcast and an overall top-25 podcast
Won “Podcast of the Year” in 2015 for the Jamie Foxx episode (via Product Hunt)
I’ve certainly stumbled a lot, but that’s how you figure things out.
I’ll share the first batch of big lessons in this post. If you like it, there’s a whole lot more to divulge (e.g. exactly how I get guests, etc.). If the response is a collective “meh,” I’ll play with my dog instead.
I’ve formatted this little ditty as a Q&A, based on the most common questions from readers, podcasters, and journalists.
Hope you find it useful!
The overarching principles explored apply to a whole lot more than podcasting…
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QUESTION: Why did you start the podcast? How has it evolved over 150 episodes?
The podcast was never intended to be a business.
I was burned out after The 4-Hour Chef, which was nearly 700 pages, and I wanted a casual but creative break from big projects. Since I enjoyed being interviewed by Joe Rogan, Marc Maron, Nerdist, and other podcasting heavies who really move the needle, I decided to try long-form audio for six episodes. If I didn’t enjoy it, I would throw in the towel and walk.
My rationale: Worst-case scenario, the experience would help me improve my interviewing, which would help later book projects. This is a great example of what Scott Adams, creator of Dilbert, would call “systems” (win even if you lose) thinking. He discusses this at length with me here.
Flash forward to the current day, the podcast has found a nest in my “business,” but there is a clear hierarchy. Here are the pieces, in descending order of importance:
1) E-mail newsletter and “5-Bullet Friday” — Unlike, say, Facebook or Twitter, I own this communication directly and it’s less subject to the whims of algorithm changes (e.g. “Oops! Now you only reach 10% of your audience.”). Some people insist that e-mail is dead for younger generations, and they’re right… until those young people get jobs. E-mail will stick around for a while, despite attempts to kill it.
It’s still the most reliable delivery mechanism, although mobile push notifications are increasingly interesting to me. Though I use Slack for internal team communication, email is still #1 for external.
2) Blog and website — Based on WordPress VIP, ditto for the above. Even if Automattic goes out of business (disclosure: I’m an advisor, so I think this unlikely), WordPress is open source and I’ll survive. Video and audio are fantastic, but few things travel as well as text. Unlike video and audio, I feel there is a greater appreciation of page value with solid long-form, evergreen text content. The vast majority of my most popular posts are years old (e.g. Hacking Kickstarter: How to Raise $100,000 in 10 Days, Scientific Speed Reading). The best SEO is good, non-newsy content that remains relevant for years.
3) Podcast — This is the fastest growing piece of the puzzle, and I’m heavily investing here. Unlike the above two, audio can be a secondary activity. In other words, people can listen to my podcast when they commute, cook, walk the dog, work, etc. There’s also no degradation of experience when moving from laptop to mobile. Last but not least, I’m currently having the most fun with audio.
All that said, I put “business” in quotation marks in this answer because I don’t rely on my writing, etc. for money.
The majority of my finances come from early-stage startup investing, which I started in 2007 (portfolio) and stopped about six months ago. For this reason, I don’t feel pressured to monetize, per se. I put out what I want to put out, when I want to put it out, and that’s it.
Paradoxically, this seemingly lax approach appears to generate more revenue than if I focused on pushing product. My fan dedication (and occasional conversion) is high precisely because I don’t constantly bombard them with sales pitches and calls to action. Sure, I could make $5-10M additional per year for 1-3 years until I burned my audience out, but these people (you!) are worth far more to me than that. They’re a high-calibre bunch, people I want to be friends with rather than irritate.
Your network is your net-worth, and there are many ways to build it. Content is definitely one tool.
QUESTION: Does the podcast make any money directly, though?
Yes. If I wanted to fully monetize the show at my current rates, I could make between $2-4M per year, depending on how many episodes (“eps”) and spots I offer.
So why “if I wanted to fully monetize?” Because “fully monetizing”–bleeding the stone for all it’s worth–is nearly always a mistake, in my opinion.
I want to convert casual listeners into die-hard, fervent listeners, and I want to convert casual sponsors into die-hard, fervent sponsors. This requires two things: 1) Playing the long game, and 2) Strategically leaving some chips on the table. As a mentor once told me, “You can shear a sheep many times, but you can skin him only once.”
So, don’t skin your fuckin’ sheep, kids. In practical terms…
The podcast over-delivers for sponsors (here’s one example), partially because I deliberately undersell downloads. If I hypothetically get 1M downloads per episode, I might only guarantee (and charge for) 750K downloads. This has attracted and kept sponsors ranging from Audible and Wealthfront to MeUndies and 99Designs.
I don’t have any sophisticated “funnel” or loss-leader campaign. I charge each sponsor per thousand downloads/listens that I guarantee. This cost per thousand (e.g. downloads, impressions, delivered email, etc.) is abbreviated as “CPM,” and the amount you charge per M (“thousand” in Roman numerals) is your “CPM rate.”
I’m not going to give my exact rates in this post, but I’ll give you something better: the bigger picture.
Premium podcasts tend to charge between $25-100 CPM. By “premium,” I mean high-converting, (often) single-host (due to Oprah-like sales impact), iTunes top-50 podcasts.
Let’s look at some numbers. If you can hypothetically guarantee 100,000 downloads per episode, as measured at six weeks post-publication (which seems standard for some odd reason), here is how the math shakes out at different CPM rates:
$50 CPM x 100,000 = 50 x 100 = $5,000 per sponsor per episode
$75 CPM x 100,000 = $7,500 per sponsor per episode
$100 CPM x 100,000 = $10,000 per sponsor per episode
Now, if a podcaster can guarantee 500,000 or 1M downloads/listens, you can see how the numbers add up.
To put these rates in context with other advertising, consider banner ads and email newsletters targeting high HHI (household income) demographics.
On the cheaper end, display/banner ads often cost less than $10 CPM, but a high-converting email newsletter can sell ads/sponsorship at $200-250+ CPM (with no guarantee of opening, only delivery). Premium podcasts currently fall in the middle.
Some podcasts charge $100 CPM or more and are worth it, but… I like setting numbers I can easily beat.
Any marginal short-term loss is made up for by repeat sponsors and larger, long-term purchase orders. I also rig the game to tilt ROI for sponsors by including blog posts (~2.5M uniques/month), e-mail newsletter (500K-1,000,000+ with sharing), and social (2M+) in the podcast sponsorship versus charging separately a la carte. That might change, but it currently guarantees that 90%+ of my sponsorships clobber competitors, as the cumulative CPM is probably 50% below market.
(Related: If you spend at least $100K per year in marketing and are interested in test sponsoring the podcast, click here for more. Minimum test spend is, at least, $50K-$100K. Seriously inquiries only, please, and pricing is non-negotiable.)
Note to everyone asking “How do I get sponsors?”: It’s critical to realize that I didn’t accept advertisers for the podcast until I had 100,000+ downloads per episode, as measured six weeks after publication.
Novice podcasters (which I was) and bloggers get too distracted in nascent stages with monetization. In the first 3-9 months, you should be honing your craft and putting out increasingly better work. Option A: you can waste 30-50% of your time to persuade a few small sponsors to commit early and stall at 30,000 downloads per episode because you’re neglecting creative. Option B: you can play the long game, wait 6-12 months until you have a critical mass, then you get to 300,000 downloads per ep and make 10x+ per ep with much larger brands. If you can afford it, don’t be in a rush. Haste makes waste; in this case, it can make the difference between $50,000 per year and $1,000,000+ per year. To reiterate a phrase more often used for blogging: “Good content is the best SEO.” Read The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing to be different, not just incrementally better.
But…all this advertising talk is important to consider in the context of higher-level strategies. In podcasting, it’s easy to get stuck in the CPM and what-preamp-do-I-need? weeds. Decide on your larger framework and philosophy first.
Example — In general and across the board, I split my content in a very binary fashion: free or ultra-premium.
“Free” means that 99% of what I do is free to the world (e.g. podcast, blog) or nearly free (books). I write on topics A) that I enjoy and want to learn more about, and B) that I think will attract intelligent, driven, and/or accomplished people. This is what allows “ultra-premium.”
“Ultra-premium” means:
Once in a blue moon, I offer a high-priced and very limited product or opportunity, such as an event with 200 seats at $7,500-$10,000 per seat. I can sell out a scarce, ultra-premium opp within 48 hours with a single blog post.
I use the network and contacts I’ve built through “free” to find excellent non-content opportunities. I already mentioned one example: my early-stage tech investing. This came from the first book, blog, and social. I found Shopify, for instance, via my fans on Twitter while updating The 4-Hour Workweek. I started advising Shopify when they had ~10 employees. Now they have 1,000+ and are a publicly traded company (SHOP).
An openness to indirect paths means I don’t obsess over selling my content, and I never have. If the podcast sponsorship stuff turns into a headache, I’ll just drop it. Not to beat a dead horse, but let’s restate the most important takeaway — my network, built through writing, is my net worth. That travels with me. If you’d like more practice thinking laterally, try the work of Edward de Bono as an introduction.
Back to the money…
Whenever possible, I avoid what I consider the “blood-bath zone” — products or services priced from $20-100. This is where your customers will be at least 1/3 high-maintenance and cost-sensitive. For my minimalist preferences and operation, that’s too much customer service headache for the ROI, unless it’s automated like my book club with Audible.
[Afterword: I asked my Managing Editor to proofread this post, and he gave me the below comment. I’ve decided to simply copy and paste it.]
*** Tim: I think you should dig in more on just how much money you actually pass up. Including:
1) You don’t do more than 2 sponsors per ep (you could).
2) You vet [and use] all products and turn down >80% of advertisers.
3) You turn down sponsors that want you to do ridiculous reads. I’ve seen it multiple times where advertisers are like, “We need this to be longer” and you tell them to fuck off. This is important. You value your listener waaaaaaay more than they ever realize, and do it to the tune of legitimately millions “lost.” It’s not lost, but is worth mentioning and understanding.
4) You want the ads–like the content–to add value. You’re hoping when you hear it for the first time that you think it’s cool, new, different, or interesting. Otherwise, you wouldn’t share. When you hear it the 4th time, are you tired of it? Maybe. But your fourth time might be someone else’s first. It’s like complaining about shared content on social media. Just because you’ve experienced something before, that doesn’t mean everyone has, and your job is to best serve the audience. You do pre/post roll [instead of mid-roll] to make avoiding this easy: if you don’t like it, they can simply fast forward.
QUESTION: What’s your long-term revenue strategy with the podcast?
There is no long-term revenue strategy. I focus solely on making it as fun as possible for me to do. But — perhaps this itself is a solid strategy, not a lack of one. Simple can be effective. At least 50% of the venture capitalists I’ve met over the years laughed at my simplistic “scratch my own itch” investing approach. Net-net, I’ve now beaten most of their IRR. (Don’t get me wrong; many investors perennially kick my ass.)
For me, the moral of the story is this: Revenue opportunities often present themselves if you focus on creating something you’d pay for yourself. If you can easily sell it to 10 friends and do some basic market research on top of that, the odds improve.
Of course, “scratching your own itch” doesn’t always work, but I think of it as necessary but not sufficient. If you have enough at-bats, and if you know how to limit losses (knowing when to fold ’em and walk away, like my six-episode commitment), you’ll eventually hit the ball.
The recipe is straightforward — Study the craft like it’s your job (e.g. Find people like master interview Cal Fussman), make yourself smile, don’t rush, don’t whore yourself, test a lot of wacky ideas, and think laterally. If you want to increase your income 10x instead of 10%, the best opportunities are often seemingly out of left field (e.g. books → startups).
Just remember that, even in a golden age, podcasting is a squirrely opportunity and not a panacea on a silver platter. Even if you work smart, you still have to do the work and take your lumps.
Amelia Boone, the world’s top female obstacle racer, said on my podcast that she’d put the following on a billboard: “No one owes you anything.” I think that’s a good mantra for life.
Try your best, take notes, and do better the next time.
QUESTION: What gear do you use for the podcast?
The recording gear is better and cheaper every year. It’s extremely easy for me to travel with a small recording studio in my backpack. If you’re on a budget, even an iPhone will do, but–bang for the buck–the ATR-2100 is hard to beat.
My mantra for gear is borrowed from my podcast with Morgan Spurlock: “Once you get fancy, fancy gets broken.” Keep it simple.
For post-production and editing, I used Garageband for the first 30-40 episodes, but I now outsource to people who use primarily Ableton and Hindenburg. The simplicity of the latter is very appealing to me, but as a pure editor, it doesn’t include sound effects, transitions, etc. as a Garageband does.
Pat Flynn, a seasoned podcaster who’s helped me a ton, made a great and free podcast-editing tutorial for you all. This covers nearly everything you need to know for basic post-production.
For free options, Audacity is also popular. My suggestion: use the simplest editing software you can, or pay someone to do it for you. If Garageband appears too amateur for your first 1-3 episodes, I’d bet money you quit before episode 5. Keep it simple.
I host episodes on Libsyn for reasons I can elaborate on in future posts.
Regarding consumption and promotion — I love Marco Arment’s Overcast, both as a listener (smart speed) and podcaster (can link to specific time stamps). My wish and ask for them: to embed a small player on my blog instead of having to link out.
QUESTION: Is it too late to start a podcast? Don’t you feel pressured by all the competition? it seems like thousands launch every week.
Competition makes you better.
Everyone should try podcasting for at least 3-6 episodes, even if just to get better at asking questions and eliminating verbal tics. Those gains transfer everywhere.
If someone ends up better than me (or ranking better than me), they deserve to beat me. I’ll be the first person to buy them a beer. Remember that podcasting isn’t a zero-sum game, and a rising tide raises all ships (Check out the “Serial effect”). There’s plenty of room for more good shows, and the pie is expanding. Bring your A game and the cream will rise to the top.
Of course, you don’t need to be perfect (and you won’t be), but you need to try your best. As Michael Gerber, author of The E-Myth Revisited, told me over coffee before I wrote The 4-Hour Workweek: “If you’re going to write a book, write a fucking book.”
If you start out bad but are incrementally improving towards awesome, that’s totally fine. If you’re half-assing it and coasting, find something else you can whole-ass.
QUESTION: How much time do you put into the podcast? Aren’t you The 4-Hour Workweek guy?
The 4-Hour Workweek is, first and foremost, about 10x’ing your per-hour output. I have no problem with hard work, as long as it’s applied to the right things, and I never have.
This is partially why The 4-Hour Workweek and the podcast have attracted some of the world’s most successful hedge fund managers and start-up founders. They might work 80+ hours per week, but they value efficient and elegant solutions.
The objective is to control your time — a non-renewable resource — and apply it where you have the highest leverage or enjoyment. For me right now, the Archimedes lever is clearly the podcast. I get to interview the most fascinating people I can find, including Rick Rubin, Jamie Foxx, Maria Popova, General McChrystal, Tony Robbins, and dozens of others. I would pay a small fortune to do this. Instead, I somehow get paid. For the time invested, especially when batching (e.g. I try and record eps on Mondays and Fridays, two weeks a month), it has the most disproportionate hours-to-ROI imaginable.
I don’t want my readers to be idle. Mini-retirements are wonderful (here’s a month-long example), but I’m not going to spend my entire life on the sidelines. This is all covered in the “Filling the Void” chapter of 4HWW, but it bears repeating.
For those curious, here’s what one of my days looks like. No two are quite alike.
QUESTION: But–for God’s sake–I don’t have bestselling books or a big blog! You had an unfair advantage. What can I do?
Get started.
Remember Amelia Boone, the most successful female obstacle racer in history? No one owes you anything. So… gird your loins and fucking get amongst it. Prepare to bloody your knees and learn a lot.
Yes, I came into podcasting with a text-loving audience, but guess what?
#1) Like everyone else, at one point, I had zero readers and zero listeners. We all start out naked and afraid. Then your mom starts checking out your stuff, or perhaps a few friends give a mercy-listen, and the fragile snowball grows from there. Here are a few ugly first versions of popular blogs. Mine was incredibly unpopular and hideous.
#2) Coming to the party with a pre-existing audience isn’t enough. Celebrities, YouTube icons, and bestselling authors start podcasts every week that get abandoned three weeks later.
Fortunately, the most common pitfalls are easy to avoid.
Here are a few things I found helpful that might help you:
1) Upload at least 2-3 pre-recorded episodes when you launch your podcast (real-world example). This appears to help with iTunes ranking, which — like bestseller lists — can be self-propagating. The higher you rank, the more people see you, the higher you continue to rank, etc.
2) Keep the format simple. Most would-be blockbuster podcasters quit because they get overwhelmed with gear and editing. Much like Joe Rogan, I decided to record and publish entire conversations (minimizing post-production), not solely highlights. I also use a tremendously simple gear setup and favored Skype interviews for the first 20 or so interviews, as the process is easier to handle when you can look at questions and prep notes in Evernote or a notebook.
As Tony Robbins would say: complexity is the enemy of execution. You do NOT need concert hall-quality audio; most people will be listening in the subway or car anyway, and they’ll forgive you if recordings are rough around the edges. Audio engineers will never be fully satisfied with your audio, but 99.9% of listeners will be happy if you’re intelligible and loud enough.
3) Don’t pursue or even think about sponsors until you have a critical mass. I discussed this earlier. It’s a distraction. Play the long game.
4) Get transcripts and send highlights with pitch ideas to print/text journalists. I have done this with several outlets, and it’s resulted in some outstanding original pieces like this one from Business Insider, who came up with the story angle on their own. I suspect this type of coverage also helped the Jamie Foxx episode win “Podcast Episode of the Year” on Product Hunt.
5) If you use blog posts, utilize graphics to increase podcast downloads/listens for your target platform. This is a tip I got from podcasting veteran John Lee Dumas. Here is one example of mine, where the iTunes button is exceptionally clear.
6) Experiment constantly. I have tested conversations in a sauna (Rick Rubin), solo Q&As based on reddit submissions (e.g. Maria Popova, Round Two), drunk dialing fans via Skype, audiobook excerpts (e.g. Tim Kreider), and more. It’s easy to assume that labor-intensive, polished episodes get the most downloads. Luckily, sometimes the opposite is true—the easy, low-labor stuff kills. This experimentation also keeps things fun for me. Podcasting isn’t radio, and there aren’t any hard-and-fast rules. Go nuts and let the world tell you what works.
A Few Closing Thoughts
There is no reason to bore your listeners (or yourself) because you’re slavishly following someone else’s playbook.
This post explains a few things I’ve found useful, but they’re guidelines at best, not rules.
Borrow, be ridiculous on occasion, and be yourself. This is one medium where it can pay 100-fold to simply be you: warts, weirdness, and all.
How about throwing chimpanzee screeches in the middle of an episode? Fuck it, sure. Making weird Mogwai noises during the intros with no explanation whatsoever? If I’ve had enough wine, definitely. Recording last-minute guest bios in an airplane bathroom? Done it.
If you make yourself laugh every once in a while, at least you will have fun.
And that is perhaps the best strategy of all.
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Last but certainly not least, I want to thank a few smart people who generously spent many hours educating me on the details, tech, and craft of podcasting. In alphabetical order by first name (and if I forgot anyone, please let me know!):
John Lee Dumas of Entrepreneur on Fire
Jordan Harbinger of The Art of Charm
Lewis Howes of The School of Greatness
Matt Lieber and Alex Blumberg of Gimlet Media
Pat Flynn of Smart Passive Income
Rob Walch of Libsyn
If you’re curious to know my top-10 most popular podcast guests (as of April 2016), here they are.
If you enjoyed this and would like more on podcasting, please let me know in the comments, and I’ll write more. Specifically, w hat would you most like to know?
April 10, 2016
On Philosophy and Riches
“Riches have shut off many a man from the attainment of wisdom.” – Seneca
Whenever I succumb to social pressure to treat time as less valuable than income, that’s when I turn to stoicism.
In this special episode of the podcast, I’m sharing one of my favorite letters from Seneca, “On Philosophy and Riches.” This is a must-listen for anyone obsessed with increasing wealth or material possessions.
My favorite portion begins with, “I might close my letter at this point,” which you can listen to here.
If you want to learn more of Seneca’s teachings, I’ve compiled his letters into a collection called the Tao of Seneca.
Enjoy!
Listen to it on iTunes.
Stream by clicking here.
Download as an MP3 by right-clicking here and choosing “save as.”
Want to hear another podcast featuring lessons from Seneca? Listen to the episode on achieving self-ownership. In this letter, Seneca offers lessons related to being a good man and the true costs of things that appear free (stream below or right-click here to download):
This podcast is brought to you by Wealthfront. Wealthfront is a massively disruptive (in a good way) set-it-and-forget-it investing service, led by technologists from places like Apple. It has exploded in popularity in the last two years and now has more than $2.5B under management. Why? Because you can get services previously limited to the ultra-wealthy and only pay pennies on the dollar for them, and it’s all through smarter software instead of retail locations and bloated sales teams.
Check out wealthfront.com/tim, take their risk assessment quiz, which only takes 2-5 minutes, and they’ll show you—for free–exactly the portfolio they’d put you in. If you want to just take their advice and do it yourself, you can. Well worth a few minutes to explore: wealthfront.com/tim.
This podcast is also brought to you by 99Designs, the world’s largest marketplace of graphic designers. I have used them for years to create some amazing designs. When your business needs a logo, website design, business card, or anything you can imagine, check out 99Designs.
I used them to rapid prototype the cover for The 4-Hour Body, and I’ve also had them help with display advertising and illustrations. If you want a more personalized approach, I recommend their 1-on-1 service. You get original designs from designers around the world. The best part? You provide your feedback, and then you end up with a product that you’re happy with or your money back. Click this link and get a free $99 upgrade. Give it a test run.
QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY: Are you unhappily striving to gain wealth? If so, how has this letter from Seneca helped your mindset? Please let me know in the comments.
Scroll below for links and show notes…
Show Notes
On Philosophy and Riches [5:38]
On the fear of poverty [7:00]
On prioritizing wisdom over wealth [9:53]
“I might close my letter at this point…” [11:53]
April 5, 2016
How to Overcome Fear – Lessons from Firefighter and Luger, Caroline Paul
“You gotta work within your human limitations. Women and the smaller guys, we know right away where our limitations are, so we’re going to compensate with other things.” – Caroline Paul
Caroline Paul (@carowriter) is a blast and can also probably kick my ass… seriously.
Caroline is the author of four published books. Her latest is the New York Times best seller The Gutsy Girl: Escapades for Your Life of Epic Adventure.
Once a young scaredy-cat, Caroline decided that fear got in the way of the life she wanted–of excitement, confidence, and self-reliance. She has since flown planes, rafted big rivers, climbed tall mountains, and fought fires as one of the first female firefighters in San Francisco.
In this episode, we discuss various types of fear and how to overcome them, using stories, habits, and tactics.
If you only have a couple of minutes, you might find this section valuable.
Listen to it on iTunes.
Stream by clicking here.
Download as an MP3 by right-clicking here and choosing “save as.”
Want to hear another podcast featuring a daring woman who challenges perceived limitations? — Listen to my conversation with Amelia Boone. In this episode, we discuss how she beats 99% of men in endurance races like the World’s Toughest Mudder (stream below or right-click here to download):
This podcast is brought to you by Wealthfront. Wealthfront is a massively disruptive (in a good way) set-it-and-forget-it investing service, led by technologists from places like Apple. It has exploded in popularity in the last two years and now has more than $2.5B under management. Why? Because you can get services previously limited to the ultra-wealthy and only pay pennies on the dollar for them, and it’s all through smarter software instead of retail locations and bloated sales teams.
Check out wealthfront.com/tim, take their risk assessment quiz, which only takes 2-5 minutes, and they’ll show you—for free–exactly the portfolio they’d put you in. If you want to just take their advice and do it yourself, you can. Well worth a few minutes to explore: wealthfront.com/tim.
This podcast is also brought to you by Audible. I have used Audible for years and I love audio books. I have two to recommend:
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Vagabonding by Rolf Potts
All you need to do to get your free 30-day Audible trial is go to Audible.com/Tim. Choose one of the above books, or choose between more than 180,000 audio programs. That could be a book, a newspaper, a magazine, or even a class. It’s that easy. Go to Audible.com/Tim and get started today. Enjoy!
QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY: What creates the most fear in your life, and how would now overcome your previous mindset? Please let me know in the comments.
Scroll below for links and show notes…
Selected Links from the Episode
The Gutsy Girl by Caroline Paul, illustrated by Wendy MacNaughton
Why Do We Teach Girls That It’s Cute to Be Scared? by Caroline Paul
Learn more about Pacifica Radio
How to join the San Francisco Fire Department
Cus D’Amato – The Coward and The Hero
Watch Amy Cuddy: Your body language shapes who you are
Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
Learn more about Olympic Women’s Skeleton
Learn more about Wendy MacNaughton
The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
The Dog Stars by Peter Heller
West with the Night by Beryl Markham
Watch Maidentrip (on iTunes) about Laura Dekker, the 13-year-old girl who sailed around the world
Lost Cat by Caroline Paul
Connect with Caroline Paul:
CarolinePaul.com | Gutsy Girl Club on Instagram | The Gutsy Girl Website
Show Notes
On Chris Sacca’s excellent introductions [6:18]
Providing context for “pulling a dead body from the bay” [7:51]
The story of the milk cartons [12:13]
On “free range” parenting [18:13]
How Caroline Paul became a firefighter [22:02]
How fighting fires works [27:28]
What makes a good firefighter [33:13]
On being the 15th woman in an organization of 1,500 men [37:36]
Life lessons from fighting fires [39:28]
Specific memories from medical calls as a firefighter [41:11]
Most terrifying moments [46:41]
Strategies for prioritizing fear and other emotions [50:58]
On coming out in the 1980s [54:33]
The thinking behind the op-ed, “Why Do We Teach Girls That It’s Cute to Be Scared [1:01:53]
Most gifted books [1:09:55]
Caroline Paul’s current workout routine [1:10:43]
The path to the Olympics [1:11:55]
When you think of the word successful, who is the first person who comes to mind and why? [1:23:31]
Three books Caroline Paul would give every college graduate[1:25:50]
Most important historical figures [1:27:34]
If you could have one billboard anywhere, what would it say and why? [1:32:30]
Morning and daily routines [1:32:53]
Do you wish people would break more bones as kids? [1:37:05]
Caroline Paul’s request to the audience [1:40:21]
People Mentioned
Chris Sacca
Cus D’Amato
Wendy MacNaughton
Jim Lee
Rosa Parks
Beryl Markham
March 29, 2016
Morgan Spurlock: Inside the Mind of a Human Guinea Pig
“You can sacrifice quality for a great story.” – Morgan Spurlock
This is an interview you’ve been asking for since before I started the podcast: Morgan Spurlock.
Morgan Spurlock (@morganspurlock) is an Oscar-nominated documentary filmmaker based in New York. He is a prolific writer, director, producer, and human guinea pig. His first film, Super Size Me, premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in 2004, winning Best Directing honors. The film went on to win the Writers Guild of America Best Documentary Screenplay award as well as garner an Academy Award nomination for Best Feature Documentary.
Since then he has directed, produced, and distributed multiple film, TV and digital projects, including the critically acclaimed CNN series Morgan Spurlock Inside Man, the FX series 30 Days, and the films Where in the World is Osama Bin Laden?, Confessions of a Superhero, Freakonomics, The Greatest Movie Ever Sold, and many others.
Morgan’s latest project is a tech startup called Clect (homepage, AngelList profile), which is a community for the high-spending collectors community with a one-stop marketplace where people can browse, sell, and buy collectibles of any type imaginable (Star Wars, Smurfs, comics, a Millennium Falcon made from motorcycle parts, etc.). Imagine Comic-Con meets Pinterest and eBay.
In this episode, we cover a ton:
How Morgan got his biggest breaks and, in some cases, made his own luck
How he builds rapport with people and gets them to open up
Tips for aspiring creators and filmmakers
How to get people to care about important issues
Favorite books, documentaries, movies, etc.
Morgan’s thoughts on the future of media and storytelling
If you want a taste of this fantastic interview, here’s the segment on how Morgan gets people to care about important issues.
Enjoy!
Listen to it on iTunes.
Stream by clicking here.
Download as an MP3 by right-clicking here and choosing “save as.”
Want to hear another podcast from a film director, screenwriter and producer? — Listen to my conversation with Robert Rodriguez. In this episode, we discuss the creation of “El Mariachi” and how the film went on to win the coveted Audience Award at the Sundance Film Festival (stream below or right-click here to download):
This podcast is brought to you by Wealthfront. Wealthfront is a massively disruptive (in a good way) set-it-and-forget-it investing service, led by technologists from places like Apple. It has exploded in popularity in the last two years and now has more than $2.5B under management. Why? Because you can get services previously limited to the ultra-wealthy and only pay pennies on the dollar for them, and it’s all through smarter software instead of retail locations and bloated sales teams.
Check out wealthfront.com/tim, take their risk assessment quiz, which only takes 2-5 minutes, and they’ll show you—for free–exactly the portfolio they’d put you in. If you want to just take their advice and do it yourself, you can. Well worth a few minutes to explore: wealthfront.com/tim.
This podcast is also brought to you by 99Designs, the world’s largest marketplace of graphic designers. I have used them for years to create some amazing designs. When your business needs a logo, website design, business card, or anything you can imagine, check out 99Designs.
I used them to rapid prototype the cover for The 4-Hour Body, and I’ve also had them help with display advertising and illustrations. If you want a more personalized approach, I recommend their 1-on-1 service. You get original designs from designers around the world. The best part? You provide your feedback, and then you end up with a product that you’re happy with or your money back. Click this link and get a free $99 upgrade. Give it a test run.
QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY: What important issues are you most passionate about? Please let me know in the comments.
Scroll below for links and show notes…
Selected Links from the Episode
Learn more about Clect
Bad Science by Ben Goldacre
Read about Skyler Tanner’s scientific revisitation of Super Size Me
Learn more about NYU Film School
Morgan’s films mentioned:
Inside Man | 30 Days | The Greatest Movie Ever Sold | Super Size Me
Learn more about Morgan Spurlock’s production company Warrior Poets
Learn more about Bumrungrad International Hospital in Bangkok, Thailand
Learn more about the FOCUS FORWARD innovation series by General Electric
Simple equipment used to record this interview:
Zoom H6 | Shure SM58 with XLR cables
Morgan Spurlock’s favorite documentary of all time: Brother’s Keeper
The Thin Blue Line and The Fog of War by Errol Morris
Watch examples of smart nonfiction:
The Jinx | Making a Murderer | Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room | Going Clear
Read about James Cameron’s style, Man of Extremes
Connect with Morgan Spurlock on social media:
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Snapchat: @MorganSpurlock
Check out Nuzzel, which provides a digest from the Twitter accounts you follow
Show Notes
On post-Super Size Me judgment [8:50]
How Morgan Spurlock was inspired to become a storyteller [9:36]
Why New York fits Morgan Spurlock’s personality more than Hollywood [12:45]
Important lessons learned at NYU Film School [13:46]
First major project post-film school [14:35]
On the power of listening [18:50]
On deciding to do 30 Days [24:07]
Mandatory Morgan Spurlock movies [29:23]
How to get people to care about important issues in a noisy environment [36:45]
Movie or TV – How to decide which is best? [38:47]
Resources for masterful storytelling [42:58]
Exploring the future of movie making – TV, Netflix, Networks, etc. [48:37]
Speculating on future projects [51:26]
Who are the filmmakers pushing the technological envelope? [55:52]
The story of the making of Super Size Me [57:25]
On forward-thinking thought leaders [1:01:03]
Most gifted books [1:02:43]
About Clect [1:03:55]
If you could have one billboard anywhere, what would it say and why? [1:07:20]
People Mentioned
Rick Baker
Tom Savini
Joe Berlinger
Bruce Sinofsky
Errol Morris
Michael Moore
Steve James
Al Maysles
John Landgraf
Alex Gibney
James Cameron
Why You Need a “Deloading” Phase in Life
I’ve written about my morning journaling routine once before.
But my journaling–think of it as freezing thinking on paper–isn’t limited to mornings. I use it as a tool to clarify my thinking and goals, much as Kevin Kelly (one of my favorite humans) does. The paper is like a photography darkroom for my mind.
Below is a scan of a real page. Both entries are from October 2015.
The first entry (top half) is simply a list of “fun” things I felt compelled to schedule after the unexpected death of a close friend. Since I’ve ticked all of the bullets off. You’ll notice that I blurred out a few sensitive bits, and I won’t spend time on this entry in this post.
The second entry (bottom half) was written in Samovar Tea Lounge in San Francisco after a two-hour walk. The gestation period during walking and subsequent entry lead me to re-incorporate “deloading” phases in my life. “Deloading” is a term often used in strength and athletic training, but it’s a concept that can be applied to many areas. Let’s look at the sports definition, here from T Nation:
A back-off week, or deload, is a planned reduction in exercise volume or intensity. In collegiate strength-training circles, it’s referred to as the unloading week, and is often inserted between phases or periods. Quoting from Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning: “The purpose of this unloading week is to prepare the body for the increased demand of the next phase or period,” and to mitigate the risk of overtraining.
So, how does this relate to creativity, productivity, or quality of life?
First, I’ll give a personal outcome — In the last 12 months, I’ve used “deloading” outside of sports to decrease my anxiety at least 50% while simultaneously doubling my income.
Deloading for business, in my case, consists of strategically taking my foot off the gas. I alternate intense periods of batching similar tasks (recording podcasts, clearing the inbox, writing blog posts, handling accounting, etc.) with extended periods of — for lack of poetic description — unplugging and fucking around. Oddly enough, I find both the batching and unplugging to free up bandwidth and be restorative.
The unplug can still be intense (here’s a personal example in Bali), but you shouldn’t be working on “work.”
Let’s dig into the journal entry, as it provides much of the reasoning.
I’ve provided the scan (click to enlarge) and transcribed the entry below it, including many additional thoughts. The journal itself (Morning Pages Workbook) I explain here:
Now, the transcription with revisions and additional thoughts:
– TUES – SAMOVAR @ 5:40PM –
The great “deloading” phase.
This is what I’m experiencing this afternoon, and it makes a Tuesday feel like a lazy Sunday morning. This is when the muse is most likely to visit.
I need to get back to the slack.
To the pregnant void of infinite possibilities, only possible with a lack of obligation, or at least, no compulsive reactivity. Perhaps this is only possible with the negative space to–as Kurt Vonnegut put it–fart around? To do things for the hell of it? For no damn good reason at all?
I feel that the big ideas come from these periods. It’s the silence between the notes that makes the music.
If you want to create or be anything lateral, bigger, better, or truly different, you need room to ask “what if?” without a conference call in 15 minutes. The aha moments rarely come from the incremental inbox-clearing mentality of, “Oh, fuck… I forgot to… Please remind me to… Shouldn’t I?…I must remember to…”
That is the land of the lost, and we all become lost.
My Tuesday experience reinforced, for me, the importance of creating large uninterrupted blocks of time (a la maker’s schedule versus manager’s schedule), in which your mind can wander, ponder, and find the signal amidst the noise. If you’re lucky, it might even create a signal, or connect two signals (core ideas) that have never shaken hands before.
For me, I’ve scheduled “deloading” phases in a few ways: roughly 8am-9am daily for journaling, tea routines, etc.; 9am-1pm every Wednesday for creative output (i.e. writing, interviewing for the podcast); and “screen-free Saturdays,” when I use no laptops and only use my phone for maps and coordinating with friends via text (no apps). Of course, I also use mini-retirements a few time a year.
“Deloading” blocks must be scheduled and defended as strongly as–actually, more strongly than–your business commitments. The former can be a force multiplier for the latter, but not vice-versa.
So, how can one throttle back the reactive living that has them following everyone’s agenda except their own?
Create slack, as no one will give it to you. This is the only way to swim forward instead of treading water.
###
Did you enjoy this? Please let me know in the comments. I’d also love to hear of how you “deload,” if you do.
If you’d like more on my morning routines, here are five habits that help me tremendously.
As always, thanks for reading.
March 27, 2016
How to Live in the Moment
“Show me that the good in life does not depend upon life’s length, but upon the use we make of it; also, that it is possible, or rather usual, for a man who has lived long to have lived too little.” – Seneca the Younger
I once wrote, “We all like to appear ‘successful’ (a nebulous term at best) and the media like to portray standouts as superheroes…Most ‘superheroes’ are nothing of the sort. They’re weird, neurotic creatures who do big things DESPITE lots of self-defeating habits and self-talk.”
Focusing on what people accomplish without understanding the mindset that enables success leads to limited results. To help close the gap, I wanted to share On The Shortness of Life by Seneca the Younger. It’s a short letter written roughly two thousand years ago, yet it’s timeless.
This is an essay that I revisit at least once a quarter because it focuses on how much time we’re given in life, and how it’s oftentimes misused or wasted.
You can listen to my favorite portion here, which begins with:
“Why do you torment yourself and lose weight over some problem…”
This is a fantastic reminder to mind the critical few and to ignore the trivial many.
You can listen to this one and the rest of the collection via the Tao of Seneca at Audible.com/TimsBooks.
Enjoy!
Listen to it on iTunes.
Stream by clicking here.
Download as an MP3 by right-clicking here and choosing “save as.”
Want to hear another segment from The Tao of Seneca? — Listen to How to Avoid the Busy Trap. In this episode, I dig deeper into useful philosophy and how we think of riches (stream below or right-click here to download):
This podcast is brought to you by Boll & Branch. There is a lot of nonsense in the bedding business. For instance, did you know thread-count is not a good measurement of quality? It’s a total myth. The “Made in Italy” label? It isn’t something you should necessarily pay extra for because it generally means it’s just finished in Italy and woven in places like China.
The general industry mark-up for bedding is 700 to 800 percent at most retailers. Boll & Branch creates incredibly high-quality bedding. They are the same sheets you’ll find at my home in San Francisco.
The best part? You can try anything you order at home for 30 days. If you don’t love it, send it back and get a full refund. Go to Boll & Branch and use promo code “TIM” for 20% off your entire order. Whether sheets, towels, blankets, duvet covers, or anything else. Shipping is always free.
This episode is also brought to you by Exo Protein. These guys are making protein bars using cricket protein powder. Before you look disgusted, I bet they taste better than any protein bar you’ve ever had before! With recipes that were developed by a three-Michelin-star chef, the bars are paleo-friendly, with no gluten, no grains, no soy, no dairy, and they won’t spike your glycemic response. In fact, they’re less processed than any other protein bars you’ll be able to find.
Exo Protein is offering a deep discount to Tim Ferriss Show listeners — if you go to ExoProtein.com/Tim today, you can try a sampler pack with all of the most popular flavors for less than $10. This is a startup with limited inventory that sells out all the time, so act fast!
QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY: After listening to this letter, how can you make a more productive use of your time? Please let me know in the comments.
Scroll below for links and show notes…
Show Notes
On the fleeting nature of the present moment [4:18]
Lamenting time spent on superfluous actions [7:34]
‘Why do you torment yourself and lose weight over some problem…’ [8:28]
Preparing for war [9:01]
The space between life and death [11:06]
March 23, 2016
Josh Waitzkin, The Prodigy Returns
“We don’t rise to the level of our expectations, we fall to the level of our training.” – Archilochus
Ever since episode #2 of the podcast, you’ve been asking for more Josh Waitzkin, so here it is! This is an in-depth jam session, and you can definitely listen to this one independently.
Josh Waitzkin was the basis for the book and movie Searching for Bobby Fischer.
Considered a chess prodigy, he has perfected learning strategies that can be applied to anything, including his other loves of Brazilian jiu-jitsu (he’s a black belt under phenom Marcelo Garcia) and Tai Chi push hands (he’s a world champion). These days, he spends his time coaching the world’s top performers, whether Mark Messier, Cal Ripken Jr., or high-profile investors. I initially met Josh through his incredible book, The Art of Learning, which I loved so much that I helped produce the audiobook (download here at Audible).
If you’re interested in implementing programs designed by Josh in your classroom, go to theartoflearningproject.org and find out if the program is a good fit for you.
If you have just a few minutes, I recommend learning about the principle of scarcity and how it can directly benefit your life.
This episode is DEEP, in the best way possible. Just like last time, Josh will blow your mind.
Enjoy!
Listen to it on iTunes.
Stream by clicking here.
Download as an MP3 by right-clicking here and choosing “save as.”
Want to hear another podcast with Josh Waitzkin? — In this episode (the second ever on The Tim Ferriss Show), we discuss The Art of Learning, what separates elite performers, and strategies for peak productivity (stream below or right-click here to download):
This podcast is brought to you by MeUndies. Have you ever wanted to be as powerful as a mullet-wearing ninja from the 1980’s, or as sleek as a black panther in the Amazon? Of course you have, and that’s where MeUndies comes in. I’ve spent the last 2-3 weeks wearing underwear from these guys 24/7, and they are the most comfortable and colorful underwear I’ve ever owned. Their materials are 2x softer than cotton, as evaluated using the Kawabata method. Check out MeUndies.com/Tim to see my current faves (some are awesomely ridiculous) and, while you’re at it, don’t miss lots of hot ladies wearing MeUndies.
This podcast is also brought to you by Wealthfront. Wealthfront is a massively disruptive (in a good way) set-it-and-forget-it investing service, led by technologists from places like Apple. It has exploded in popularity in the last two years and now has more than $2.5B under management. Why? Because you can get services previously limited to the ultra-wealthy and only pay pennies on the dollar for them, and it’s all through smarter software instead of retail locations and bloated sales teams.
Check out wealthfront.com/tim, take their risk assessment quiz, which only takes 2-5 minutes, and they’ll show you—for free–exactly the portfolio they’d put you in. If you want to just take their advice and do it yourself, you can. Well worth a few minutes to explore: wealthfront.com/tim.
QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY: How can you use Josh’s principle of scarcity to improve creativity, habit creation, or your learning process? Please share your insights in the comments.
Scroll below for links and show notes…
Selected Links from this Episode
Dreaming Yourself Awake by B. Alan Wallace and Brian Hodel
Set up a Gibbon Slackline
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig
Think Twice by Michael Mauboussin
Learn more about Headspace, a recommended tool for enhancing mindfulness
Learn more about Blue Zone SUP, PaddleWoo podcast and Erik Antonson
Mindset by Carol Dweck
Watch me get my ass handed to me in Brazilian jiu-jitsu
Learn more about The Art of Learning Project
Are you in the educational world? Interested in joining the project? Email: Katy {AT} JWFoundation [dot] com
Show Notes
Josh Waitzkin’s terrifying experience with the Wim Hof method [9:27]
Explaining “flow” and how Josh Waitzkin uses it as therapy [15:22]
Describing a “flow state” and how to initiate one [17:59]
On cognitive biases [21:48]
Developing high level sensitivity and listening to your senses [27:09]
Strategies for on-boarding newcomers to mindfulness training [28:45]
On parenting [38:02]
Fixed perspectives and growth mindsets [47:53]
On training somatic sensitivity [50:35]
On mitigating the dangers of a fixed identity [55:43]
Marcelo Garcia and the principle of cultivating quality as a way of life [1:01:56]
Quality and presence in parenthood [1:05:51]
What is the fire walking process [1:09:03]
Transitioning physical visualization techniques learned from martial arts to less obvious physical activities (investing for example) [1:16:23]
The principle of slack [1:20:20]
The principle of scarcity in the learning process [1:24:41]
Josh Waitzkin’s daily journaling process [1:34:23]
Talking about thematic interconnectedness in the context of education [1:36:38]
Explaining The Art of Learning Project [1:45:41]
People Mentioned
Marcelo Garcia
Jack Ma
March 22, 2016
How to Get Busy Influencers to Share Your Stuff
One of the questions I’m constantly asked is, “How do I get influencers to help me?”
This blog post will outline approaches that work with true “influencers”–people who can single-handedly make or break a product launch. I’ve been fortunate to interact with hundreds of such people since 2007. (If you’re more interested in pitching big media, here’s a template for how I do it.)
Specifically, I share an e-mail below that gets nearly every “influencer” element right.
But before we get to that, here are some ground rules for interacting with influencers or power brokers:
If you’re asking them to share something, offer GOOD CONTENT on a website and not merely a sales page or pitch. Responsible guardians of large audiences like good editorial. The reputational risk of sharing great content is close to zero. Conversely, the risk-benefit ratio of sharing a sales page is practically all downside. Make the calculus easy or you’re just pissing in the wind.
Do not e-mail or contact them unless A) they’ve given you their contact info directly, or B) you can get a warm introduction from a good friend of theirs (tip: ask the “friend” when they last had dinner or drinks together). My preferred approach is in-person meetings in social settings. Here’s the playbook I used to make SXSW in 2007 the tipping point for the launch of The 4-Hour Workweek. Cold e-mails–which most effective people ignore–are a waste of everyone’s time. Put in the ground work and play the long game. Think sniper rifle and not shotgun. If you only have one chance to make a first impression, don’t screw this up. “Sorry, let me try again…” almost never works. Review this before drafting pitches.
Before you reach out, ask yourself “If this person agrees, are they setting a dangerous precedent for themselves?” If so, they won’t agree, so don’t waste your breath. For instance, why can’t I retweet fans’ Kickstarter campaigns? Because if I publicly help even one stranger, I will be deluged by thousands of “Pls rt my Kickstarter campaign!” requests and my Twitter feed becomes unusable. For the same reason, I can’t wish people I don’t know a happy birthday; if I open that door, I will get thousands of never-ending b-day requests.
Give them a graceful exit. This means never using BS like “I look forward to your favorable reply!” That stuff is terrible. Be different and do the opposite. Close your e-mail or pitch with “Of course, no worries if you’re too busy to reply. I know how busy you are. Warmest wishes to you and yours…” In my experience, giving people an easy “out” dramatically increases response rate.
Don’t “keep in touch.” It drives busy people crazy. Treat e-mailing them as you would knocking on their door and interrupting dinner. Treat it that seriously and use it that sparingly.
All that said and as promised, please find below an e-mail from Andrew Zimmern (@andrewzimmern), which I received not long ago.
You’ll see how he gets many subtle elements right. Personally, I would have modified the subject line and closing line, but the length and don’t-make-me-think assets are otherwise outstanding.
###
Subject line: Little Help From My Friends
[TIM: The single biggest weakness in this email is the subject line, IMHO, though perhaps they tested it. I would have seen it sooner had it been “Quick question from Andrew Zimmern” or something personalized along those lines.]
Dear Friends:
I hope this email finds you well! My team and I recently relaunched our online store: Shop Andrew Zimmern and I am thrilled to share it with you. It’s a mixture of curated items that I have found on my travels and use in everyday life, along with other branded items from the AZ collection. The assortment of products is ever changing and new items will be added throughout the year. Please a take a minute to check it out: http://shop.andrewzimmern.com.
Don’t be surprised when you stumble upon something you love!
This is where I need your help. It would mean the world to me if you would take a minute and share our shop with your audiences. As we try and build a bigger customer base from the ground up, we could use your support. We provided a few tools to make it easy. Check them out below. If you have any questions, please contact Kelly (fakeemailfromtim@avoidingspam.com) or myself! Thank you again for everything.
Sample tweets:
Stocking stuffers for food geeked friends & family, hand-picked by @andrewzimmern: http://shop.andrewzimmern.com
I’m loving the globally curated gifts/gear from my pal @andrewzimmern: http://shop.andrewzimmern.com
Travel gear & food finds hand-picked by my friend @andrewzimmern: http://shop.andrewzimmern.com
Sample Facebook post:
In search of stocking stuffers for your food geeked friends & family? My pal Chef Andrew Zimmern, host of Bizarre Foods, has relaunched his online shop, featuring unique travel gear and food finds curated from around the globe. Check it out: http://shop.andewzimmern.com
Shop Andrew Zimmern – editorial content for sharing:
AZ Spotify playlist: http://bit.ly/shopAZplaylist
DIY cocktail bitters + recipe: http://bit.ly/shopAZeockc
Adventurer gift guide: http://bit.ly/shopAZadventureKindly,
xx
Andrew Zimmern
###
Afterword from Tim
As one last philosophical morsel, here is the quote that Andrew has at the bottom of his personal e-mail signature:
“If there’s one thing that frustrates me more than anything about the notion of being right, it’s that being right too often gets in the way of being generous. Because being right is too often used as a way to protect us from doing the thing that will actually most serve us. And if I can leave you with one thought, it’s that being right is completely fucking irrelevant.” – Danny Meyer
For those eager beavers out there, here are 5 more tips for e-mailing busy people, and here is my conversation with Andrew Zimmern on his success habits and routines.
March 21, 2016
How to Avoid the Busy Trap (and Other Misuses of Your Time)
“A good man will not waste himself upon mean and discreditable work or be busy merely for the sake of being busy. Neither will he, as you imagine, become so involved in ambitious schemes that he will have continually to endure their ebb and flow.” – Seneca
Today’s episode is a bite-sized morsel for your brain and for your life. This is an excerpt from my favorite writing of all-time. This letter is #22, “On the Futility of Half-way Measures.” As usual, Seneca takes a little time in his preamble to get warmed up. That is his style. He seems to enjoy feeling out the recipient of his letter before jumping into the details.
I love this letter because it addresses how we spend our time, which is one of the biggest stresses for all people, and especially entrepreneurs.
My favorite portion is:
“Hence men leave such advantages as these with reluctance.”
I encourage you to listen to this and think of ways that you can adapt Seneca’s wisdom to your own life. Enjoy!
Listen to it on iTunes.
Stream by clicking here.
Download as an MP3 by right-clicking here and choosing “save as.”
Want to hear another segment from The Tao of Seneca? — Listen to How to Achieve Self-Ownership. In this episode, I dig deeper into how we think of gain and loss and how to be a good person (stream below or right-click here to download):
This podcast is brought to you by Wealthfront. Wealthfront is a massively disruptive (in a good way) set-it-and-forget-it investing service, led by technologists from places like Apple. It has exploded in popularity in the last two years and now has more than $2.5B under management. Why? Because you can get services previously limited to the ultra-wealthy and only pay pennies on the dollar for them, and it’s all through smarter software instead of retail locations and bloated sales teams.
Check out wealthfront.com/tim, take their risk assessment quiz, which only takes 2-5 minutes, and they’ll show you—for free–exactly the portfolio they’d put you in. If you want to just take their advice and do it yourself, you can. Well worth a few minutes to explore: wealthfront.com/tim.
This podcast is also brought to you by 99Designs, the world’s largest marketplace of graphic designers. I have used them for years to create some amazing designs. When your business needs a logo, website design, business card, or anything you can imagine, check out 99Designs.
I used them to rapid prototype the cover for The 4-Hour Body, and I’ve also had them help with display advertising and illustrations. If you want a more personalized approach, I recommend their 1-on-1 service. You get original designs from designers around the world. The best part? You provide your feedback, and then you end up with a product that you’re happy with or your money back. Click this link and get a free $99 upgrade. Give it a test run.
QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY: How did this episode help you reconsider your current use of time and energy? Please let me know in the comments.
Scroll below for links and show notes…
Show Notes
Start of Letter 22 – On the Futility of Half-Way Measures [5:28]
We must withdraw from showy, depraved pursuits [5:34]
Do not hamper yourself, be content with your current business [7:43]
A motto for Stoicism [9:33]
Eluding the slavery of bickering [11:33]
Finding a way out of the trappings of wealth [12:42]
Final words on living nobly [13:22]
People Mentioned
Epicurus
Zeno
Crispus
March 16, 2016
The Random Show, Ice Cold Edition
“We were in the locker room getting naked and two guys were like ‘Tim! I love your book!'” -Kevin Rose
This is not going to be a long-form interview where I dissect and deconstruct a world-class performer. Instead, this is a special edition of The Random Show.
I am joined by Kevin Rose (@KevinRose), serial entrepreneur, and all around wild and crazy guy!
Have just 2 minutes? Learn about the dating app I think is even better than Tinder.
Enjoy!
Listen to it on iTunes.
Stream by clicking here.
Download as an MP3 by right-clicking here and choosing “save as.”
Want to hear this fascinating episode with Dom D’Agostino? I mentioned that he deadlifted 500 pounds for 10 reps after a seven-day fast. Listen to our conversation in which we discuss fasting, ketosis, and the end of cancer. (Stream below or right-click here to download):
This podcast is brought to you by Wealthfront. Wealthfront is a massively disruptive (in a good way) set-it-and-forget-it investing service, led by technologists from places like Apple. It has exploded in popularity in the last two years and now has more than $2.5B under management. Why? Because you can get services previously limited to the ultra-wealthy and only pay pennies on the dollar for them, and it’s all through smarter software instead of retail locations and bloated sales teams.
Check out wealthfront.com/tim, take their risk assessment quiz, which only takes 2-5 minutes, and they’ll show you—for free–exactly the portfolio they’d put you in. If you want to just take their advice and do it yourself, you can. Well worth a few minutes to explore: wealthfront.com/tim.
This podcast is also brought to you by 99Designs, the world’s largest marketplace of graphic designers. I have used them for years to create some amazing designs. When your business needs a logo, website design, business card, or anything you can imagine, check out 99Designs.
I used them to rapid prototype the cover for The 4-Hour Body, and I’ve also had them help with display advertising and illustrations. If you want a more personalized approach, I recommend their 1-on-1 service. You get original designs from designers around the world. The best part? You provide your feedback, and then you end up with a product that you’re happy with or your money back. Click this link and get a free $99 upgrade. Give it a test run.
QUESTION(S) OF THE DAY: What other recovery and/or self-improvement techniques would you like to learn more about? Please let me know in the comments.
Scroll below for links and show notes…
Selected Links from the Episode
Listen to episodes on sauna use with Dr. Rhonda Patrick and Wim Hof
Learn more about Ray Cronise, who helped with the Ice Age chapter in The 4-Hour Body
Check out the Hoshizaki Ice Maker
Learn more about contrast therapy
Learn more about Yaktrax for walking on snow and ice
Check out the Bumble dating app
Sign up for Kevin Rose’s newsletter – The Journal
Sign up for my 5-Bullet Friday newsletter
Watch BJ Miller’s TED Talk, “What Really Matters at the End of Life”
Pick up a Rumble Roller
The Baron in the Trees by Italo Calvino
Motherless Brooklyn by Jonathan Lethem
Get a Fitbit Blaze to monitor your heart rate
Learn more about Human Longevity, Inc.
Headed to Yellowstone? Take a tour with Two Top snowmobile rental and follow Michelle
Thinking about returning to magazines? Try these:
National Geographic | Scientific American | Monocle Magazine
Download the podcast suggested by Bill Gurley, Radiolab’s CRISPR
In New York City? Check out Hearth Restaurant
Brodo by Marco Canora
Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon
Subscribe to Foodist Podcast, the podcast of Darya Rose
Show Notes
On using saunas and cold treatment [6:03]
Winter footwear and the story of Kevin’s NYC ice wipeout [16:18]
Discussing the Bumble dating app [20:00]
Kevin’s new newsletter [25:18]
Tim’s recommended books for this episode [31:59]
The Fitbit Blaze and heart rate monitoring technology [34:23]
On returning to print magazines [45:43]
On Marco Canora’s book and Hearth Restaurant [53:52]


