Martha Perez's Blog

July 30, 2020

Wicked Spirits

1 like ·   •  1 comment  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on July 30, 2020 07:56

February 18, 2020

Enough Is Enough

Sometimes we run and leave everything behind. We hide from the evilness of the world when we feel the fight staring us in the face. It takes courage to stand and be a warrior, a powerful man or a woman with a strong body that takes over. There’s no control.
No one will win because they are both leaders of the pack. It takes courage to take a sword and put it on your back. If you’re holding weapons in the end, there will be a reward or no winners.
The rage of evil demands war. The commander of this land will lend a helping hand to those who follow them. There’s a fire in them. They will fight until the end of time, so don’t disrespect them ever again. At the end of the day, someone will win the battle, some will lose their land, but everything will be as it should—peaceful and free. Just remember: Evil never wins.
~ Martha Perez
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on February 18, 2020 15:31

August 11, 2019

The Light In The Woods

RIDICULOUSLY ENTERTAINING! This book will make you laugh, cry, and leave you shaking your head. The Light in the Woods is a sizzling diverse collection of six short stories fast-paced written in first person POV, intriguing, and at times down-right-funny. Martha Perez writes with a style that is fresh and vivid–dark humor and characters with indelible voices that have a painted past, troubled childhood, or painful experience. The book opens up with the fictional story, “Lost Souls,” friends on a hiking trip get lost in the woods separated by a mysterious fog in this haunting Sci-Fi tale. “Looking for Mr. Right,” a manipulative woman looking for a man to take care of her and finds more than she expects. “Twisted,” a serious–funny tale of a husband that hires a hitman to kill his wife, but the wife has a twist of her own. “ABUSED,” Based on a true story of a twelve-year-old boy growing up in a dysfunctional family and forced to kill his father and spends the rest of his life as a fugitive on the streets–homeless. “Gang Banger,” a member of the Second Street gang changes his life, and the past comes back to haunt him when he least expects it. And the final story “My Dream Vacation,” a husband takes his wife to Hawaii and ditches her the first night in a twisted tale of romance and mystery. It’s impossible not to enjoy and appreciate the entertainment and intrinsic value of these stories–there’s a lesson to be learned from each one. Also included is my favorite section, “Bonus Content,” four short stories from other books written by Martha Perez that will blow your mind; “Dark Mountain,” “The Boathouse,” “The House on the Hill,” and “Dark Angel.” All in all, you are going to love this book. Read 10% "Free" Look Inside scroll up to the top left corner of the page or click the buy button and start reading in 1 minute.
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on August 11, 2019 12:35

October 3, 2016

Broken Pieces

“We could never learn to be brave and patient if there were only joy in the world.” ~Helen Keller

Shattering, Captivating & Emotional; written in First Person POV in the voice of a child. The words latch on to your brain and never let go. Some people would say that a child is incapable of writing with such depth, clarity, thinking and philosophical musings that are akin to an adult. But it’s a child’s naivety, a sobering voice that’s grown in the midst of struggle, humility along with plainness of speech and unpretentious honesty that can send chills through one’s body. This is a heart-wrenching story of child neglect, abuse, and the resilience to overcome childhood experiences that shape and mold us all.
The book tells the story of Abigail Marie Pena, more often known simply as Abby, as she struggles to overcome a traumatic and violent childhood as she moves forward in life.
From a broken home, dysfunctional family and physical and emotional abuse, as she becomes an adult, Abby finds herself in a bad marriage with two sons. It seems like she’ll never escape from the cycle of violence and degradation she’s been stuck in for as long as she can remember. But with the strength of will and determination, she makes a place in the world for herself. All that’s missing is a man to share it with–and then two come along, bring with them ghosts from her past and forcing her to make a decision on which all her future happiness depends.
Broken Pieces will appeal to readers who enjoy the reality of everyday life without sugar coating. Written in a gritty, straightforward style that nevertheless recognizes the potential for love and compassion to illuminate our lives.
In the midst of change, we often discover wings we never knew we had–this is a novel that will live with you for a long time after you read it.
3 likes ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on October 03, 2016 19:03