Sarah

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Sarah.

https://www.goodreads.com/MackenzieC

Add as a Friend Follow Reviews   Send Message | Compare Books


Sarah’s Recent Updates

Sarah entered a giveaway
Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan
"It was engaging, if a little fluffy and not entirely cliche-free. A late summer guilty pleasure. The thing that struck me was the title and cover. There is no "bookshop" per se: it's a bookmobile, or book "van" as it's called in the book. And it's..." Read more of this review »
Sarah entered a giveaway
The Sisters of Glass Ferry by Kim Michele Richardson
The Sisters of Glass Ferry
by Kim Michele Richardson (Goodreads Author)
5 copies available, ends on September 27, 2017 Enter to win »
Sarah rated a book really liked it
Breaking Free by Beth Moore
Rate this book
Clear rating
This workbook written to accompany Beth Moore's video series is an in-depth study of the book of Isaiah. Although I completed this study years ago it has only been in recent months that I have come to realize its lasting impact and significance in my ...more
Sarah rated a book really liked it
Sting-Ray Afternoons by Steve Rushin
Sting-Ray Afternoons
by Steve Rushin (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
In the tradition of Bill Bryson's The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid and Jean Shepherd's In God We Trust, Sports Illustrated journalist Steve Rushin takes on the 1970's. This is memoir writing at its finest, a collision of pop culture, history ...more
Sarah rated a book really liked it
Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tee hee. Maria Semple makes me laugh. Out loud. And curse the fact that I am lying in bed and have no one with whom to share droll passages.
As was the case with Semple's earlier, Where'd You Go Bernadette, the first third of this book is pure fun. To
...more
Sarah rated a book it was ok
Tales from the Crib by DeeDee Filiatreault
Rate this book
Clear rating
A collection of extremely brief columns about motherhood. The snippets featured are the oft-told cliched, trying to hard to be funny stories. In the introduction the author offers her collection up as a bathroom book. I'd agree with that title. Since ...more
Sarah rated a book it was ok
Riptide by Barbara Hale-Seubert
Rate this book
Clear rating
Do you ever have the dilemma when faced with a sad Facebook post of whether or not to hit the "like" button? Does hitting the like button mean you are glad the person is going through hard times or is it an indication of support? Rating Riptide falls ...more
Sarah rated a book really liked it
The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion
Rate this book
Clear rating
Don Tillman's back! Don Tillman's back! The delightful protagonist from the equally delightful The Rosie Project once again has captured my heart and tickled my funny bone.
I have long been fascinated by autism thus some of my favorite books (The Curi
...more
More of Sarah's books…
Harper Lee
“The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you're licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.
- Atticus Finch”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“People generally see what they look for, and hear what they listen for.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Margery Williams Bianco
“Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don't matter at all, because once you are Real you can't be ugly, except to people who don't understand.”
Margery Williams Bianco, The Velveteen Rabbit

Laura Hillenbrand
“His books were the closest thing he had to furniture and he lived in them the way other men live in easy chairs.”
Laura Hillenbrand, Seabiscuit: An American Legend

2014 Favorite Reads (Children's Books)
1 chapters   —   updated Jan 01, 2015 06:10PM
Description: My top reads of 2014
3983 Read Aloud Books — 59 members — last activity Aug 03, 2014 09:45PM
A place to discuss read aloud books. Open to anyone interested in children's literature.
83453 Literary Disco — 1114 members — last activity Sep 01, 2017 07:24PM
A podcast all about books. Hosted by Tod Goldberg, Julia Pistell, and Rider Strong. Old books, new books, and book-related games. Occasionally, a gues ...more
25x33 Checking In — 2 members — last activity Feb 28, 2009 10:11PM
This is a private group to suggest possible books for both a real-life and on-line book club.
108625 The Next Best Book — 23 members — last activity Jul 13, 2013 02:51PM
Hey Ho Book Lovers! Please join us if you can relate to any of the following: Do you often feel unenthused at the idea of having what you read next di ...more
Carrie
6,530 books | 2,508 friends

Vanessa
870 books | 189 friends

Lynne
5,344 books | 61 friends

Suzanne
207 books | 36 friends

Eric Vi...
254 books | 22 friends

Naomi
1,312 books | 20 friends

Ashlee ...
615 books | 106 friends

Emily G...
83 books | 23 friends

More friends…
Alex by Frank DefordEric by Doris Herold LundEat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth GilbertGive Me One Wish by Jacquie GordonEducating Esme by Esmé Raji Codell
favorite non-fiction
407 books — 350 voters
Anne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryOh, What A Busy Day! by Gyo Fujikawa
Favorite books from my childhood
3,675 books — 6,655 voters

More…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
161 (0.1%)

correct:
150 (93.2%)

skipped:
719 (81.7%)

90743 out of 1735050

streak:
1

best streak:
33

questions added:
14



Polls voted on by Sarah

Lists liked by Sarah