The Reasons Why you wrote your book or books discussion

what are the first steps to getting published

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ari (new)

Ari S | 14 comments as a new writer I have always wondered where i would start in my writing. hints, tips, or ideas would be appreciated.

message 2: by Ed (new)

Ed Ditto (GratefulEd) | 3 comments Hi, Ari.

Oddly enough, I'd say start writing by reading. Read books you like and books you hate. Each one has something to teach you. "I'd like to do that" and "I'd never do that" are equally valuable lessons.

As you're getting started writing, imitate the styles of writers you like, writers who move you. Add their tools to your bag, so to speak, and you'll soon find that you're writing in a voice all your own, with its own unique character.

Don't delve into the novel right away. Start with short fiction. Publish it yourself on web writing groups, and don't get so much ego wrapped up into it that you're unable to listen to constructive criticism--because constructive criticism is your best friend at this point.

And this is heavy personal opinion, here, but don't get caught up in contests. Try to sell your work instead. (Writer's Market is a good friend.) A check is better than a blue ribbon, I think, and when you sell--actually sell-- that first piece you'll see what I mean.

One great way to learn basic storytelling is to approach a local independent newspaper and offer to write lifestyle-type pieces for them. Learn how to interview a subject and help them tell their story on the printed page, and the jump to helping fictional people tell their stories won't seem like such a long one.