Loosed in Translation discussion

Recommendations > The Athenian Murders by José Carlos Somoza

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rise (last edited Feb 25, 2012 05:15AM) (new)

Rise | 81 comments A thread for the group discussion of The Athenian Murders by José Carlos Somoza.

The book selection is part of "Translators in Fiction" reading list featuring books with a translator as main character and dealing with some aspects of translation.

http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/7...

message 2: by Rise (last edited Feb 25, 2012 05:42AM) (new)

Rise | 81 comments Somoza, born in 1959 in Cuba, is a writer from Spain. He is a psychiatrist by profession before becoming a full-time writer. The Athenian Murders, translated from Spanish by Sonia Soto, is his first novel to come out in English. The book was originally published as La caverna de las ideas (Alfaguara, 2000). The title should translate as "The Cave of Ideas", which, considering the milieu of the novel, is a very apt title. The novel is set in ancient Greece, in the time of Plato and his school, the Academy. Plato's Allegory of the Cave and Theory of Ideas are major philosophical concerns in the book.

The novel is a detective story, with footnotes. The actual text is presented as a translation of a classic Greek text that appeared right after the Peloponnesian War. The (fictional) translator reveals his presence through copious footnotes that serve as commentary and background story of the translation manuscript. The translator is supposedly working from a critical edition of the book that was prepared by a contemporary scholar named Montalo. At the outset, the narrator perceives the book to be an "eidetic text", employing a literary device called "eidesis".

An extract from one of the several more-than-a-page-long footnotes: