THE Group for Authors! discussion

Gathering Clouds...
This topic is about Gathering Clouds...
Publishing and Promoting > Is this marketing technique the answer?

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by James (new)

James Field | 14 comments I am a new indie author and have registered, with alarm, other indie author's cries of despair when nobody purchases their book. My ebook, 'Gathering Clouds…', was published six weeks ago and I have sold the grand total of six. In other words, my ebook has sunk and disappeared into the swamp of a hundred thousand other indie ebooks.
How can we indie authors sell our books and receive honest reviews? I have a suggestion. Why not start a simple, harmless, indie ebook chain?
This is how it might work. An indie author is invited to join an ebook chain. On that chain are four indie ebook titles which the invited author buys, reads, and writes honest reviews. The invited author removes the ebook title from the top of the list, places his own at the bottom of the list, and invites four new indie authors to join the ebook chain.
Let us assume the invited indie author is you. The life and progression of your title on the on the chain would work like this:
Invite–
ebook A;
ebook B;
ebook C;
ebook D.
(Your investment. You buy/review all 4)

Link 1–
ebook A;
ebook B;
ebook C.
Your ebook;
(Remove ebook A, and place your title at the bottom. You invite 4 new indie authors. Your commitment to the chain is now finished.)

Link 2–
ebook B;
ebook C.
your ebook;
ebook D;

Link 3–
ebook C;
your ebook;
ebook D;
ebook E.

Link 4–
your ebook.
ebook D;
ebook E;
ebook F;

At the next link, Your title is pushed off the list, and the list lives on.

For an investment of purchasing, reading, and reviewing four (4) indie ebooks, your reward is 340 book sales, and, for sorrow or joy, 340 honest reviews.