Authors Lounge discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
The Lounge > Getting the word out

Comments Showing 1-32 of 32 (32 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Waterfall *Daughter of Northridge Earthquake* (falls) Add an apostrophe to Authors. That's been bugging me since I joined. Other than that, I adore the title.

Waterfall *Daughter of Northridge Earthquake* (falls) 's shows possession, dear. It's not the authors lounge. It's the Author's Lounge. Otherwise it'd just be the Author Lounge.

message 3: by Ward (new)

Ward (kd_pl) Authors' Lounge?

The plural possessive? But I am an engineer, so don't take my word for anything about grammar.

message 4: by C. (new)

C. Purtill Ditto what Ward said. Plural possessive is correct because this is a lounge for more than one author. I'm a grammar freak so I had to weigh in! :)

Waterfall *Daughter of Northridge Earthquake* (falls) Oh, right, because it's not your lounge, you're sharing it.

message 6: by Ward (new)

Ward (kd_pl) C. wrote: "Ditto what Ward said. Plural possessive is correct because this is a lounge for more than one author. I'm a grammar freak so I had to weigh in! :)"

I may have to may have to write this day down in my calendar. I am never right when it comes to grammar. Good thing a comma wasn't involved. . .

message 7: by C. (new)

C. Purtill I know it seems like a minor thing but if you're a writer (particularly if you self-pub) you need to care about the details. The readers will. When I read a book by an indie author and there are too many grammar mistakes that could have been easily corrected, I put the book down. I assume that a writer can't tell a story properly if he or she hasn't mastered the English language.

message 8: by Agent (new)

Agent S.D. | 151 comments Mod
Well, on this account, I only have 17 friends and 4 of them are already part of this group. But I'd be happy to help in any way I can. :)

message 9: by Guy (new)