The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > Hi from a history geek!

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Boogoalo (new)

Boogoalo Hi Everyone! I'm new to Good Reads and am eager to meet lots of other cool readers.

I'm a professor at Vanderbilt (which has surprised us ALL by making ESPN today). I read and write all types of nonfiction: history, science/medicine.

You'll find out about some of my wacky history of medicine interests over at:

http://wondersandmarvels.blogspot.com

Let me know if you have any ideas about topics you'd like to see there. AND, especially, if there are any recent books/authors that I absolutely must profile.

Looking forward to being part of this group.

All the best, Holly

message 2: by Boogoalo (new)

Boogoalo Glad to be here! And thanks for your email back! :)

message 3: by Ari (last edited Oct 04, 2008 11:34AM) (new)

Ari (aricl) | 54 comments Hi, Holly! It's great to find other people who are interested in such a specific topic :)

PS: wow! I just glanced at your blog and the info you give is awesome... I hope I can find some of those texts at online stores!!

message 4: by Laura (new)

Laura (apenandzen) Hi Holly, I see another one of our history geeks, Leppaluoto AKA Ken, already found you :)

I was talking w/Ken earlier today about one of the textbooks we read in my college history course called Freedom from Fear: The American People in Depression and War, 1929-1945.

History (and science, actually) were always my downfalls in school. This book was terrific in that, it kept me interested to the point I felt like I was reading fiction.

I just found out today there is a Freedom from Fear, Part II, which of course now I want to pick up. BUT I was wondering if you could suggest any other books on American History that are written in the same vein.

Really glad you found us!

:)