THE Group for Authors! discussion

The Craft > Name your most successful marketing technique

Comments Showing 1-50 of 722 (722 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 14 15

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Events. Writing YA fantasy I go where my readers are - home school conventions and book festivals. Armed with 10 minutes of animated videos, colorful and collectable bookmarks and my daughter dressed in costume of the lead female, we catch attention.

message 2: by M.A. (new)

M.A. Demers | 169 comments I have a successful marketing technique?? :-)

Actually, I have had one successful accidental marketing technique: helping other writers. I never saw it as a marketing, so the sales came as a surprise. The relationships I've been building with other writers have been what has sustained me emotionally through this arduous journey.

Michelle
[image error]

message 3: by Jim (new)

Jim Gilliam (seadoc) | 31 comments Hi Linda,

I'm new to Goodreads so I'm not sure how much can be attributed to my use of this site. However, I have become a student of book marketing. See my e-zine article Publishing Your Book is Not Enough by Jim Gilliam on the internet--if you can't find it let me know and I'll forward the link to you. Also, I've used a multi-facetted approach. First establish a website: mine is www.pointdeception.com, make a book trailer video and get it on YouTube mine is Point Deception by Jim Gilliam.wmv, become a guest blogger on well known blogs, get as many good reviews as you can. Seek out organizations within your target audience and provide copies of your book that they can use as door prizes at their major meetings and annual banquets. I could go on, but I think you get the idea. Remember, you are only limited by your imagination. Your answer to the question how large is my imagination, should be "Infinite!"

Jim Gilliam
Author, Point Deception

message 4: by [deleted user] (last edited Jul 14, 2011 02:13PM) (new)