Amazon Kindle discussion

Who reads independent authors? Why or why not?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 185 (185 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4

message 1: by Everly (last edited Jul 11, 2011 07:56PM) (new)

Everly Anders | 71 comments As an independent author, i am always curious to know how many people who have Kindles actually read self-published authors? I would love to know why or why not? You can be brutally honest here. Think this could be interesting.

Elle

message 2: by Terri (new)

Terri (terrilovescrows) | 2 comments I read them BUT one of my concerns I have found is that sometimes such books are not well edited, which I find very frustrating

message 3: by Melissa (new)

Melissa (melissa_wy) Since getting my Kindle, I have read mainly self-published authors. Their ideas are fresh and the writing is sometimes grittier! I loved The Blood That Bonds by Christopher Buecheler , Being by T.R. Mousner , Hollowland (The Hollows, #1) by Amanda Hocking and Switched (Trylle Trilogy, #1) by Amanda Hocking , just to name a few! I like to see who and what else is out there. I'm actually reading a free e-book called Dead Man's Eye by Shaun Jeffrey and it's also very interesting!!

message 4: by Everly (new)

Everly Anders | 71 comments Yes, I think this is a very good point! I have paid to have a professional editor edit my work, but I have noticed the majority of people have not. Good point Terri!
Elle

message 5: by Everly (new)

Everly Anders | 71 comments Those look great. I to love Amanda Hocking. Thanks for the recommendations Melissa.
Elle

message 6: by Melissa (new)

Melissa (melissa_wy) Editing doesn't get in my way. There are some books where I can still easily read through the not so great editing, it doesn't mess up the flow for me. if it is so bad that my sentences get all jumbled, I may stop. But so far, I have'nt had to many problems with editing. Maybe some punctuation and "there, instead of "their" but I get the jist, and keep on reading!