Pulp Magazine Authors and Literature Fans discussion

Thematic discussions > looking for something as good as....

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dg (new)

Dg (flashharry) | 2 comments Hi..I'm just new to this so please be kind.

This group really interested me. I'm a big fan of Raymond Chandler but I've ready all his books (many times)...can anyone recommend any books as good as?

message 2: by Werner (new)

Werner Based on what I know about Chandler's work, my best suggestion for a read-alike would be The Maltese Falcon by Chandler's contemporary, Dashiell Hammett. Not being into noir myself, I didn't especially care for it; but in the world of noir, it's a major classic, and very popular with those fans. Our moderator, Steven, is a big fan of that whole subgenre, so you can probably get some good ideas from browsing his bookshelves, too. And there are very likely some good ideas on our group bookshelves as well.

Welcome to the group, and I hope you find some reads that are right up your alley!

message 3: by Werner (new)

Werner Dg, based on what I've read in reviews and mystery guides (I'm a librarian, so it's my business to know something about different kinds of fiction), I thought of a couple more Chandler read-alikes for you. One is The Postman Always Rings Twice, by James M. Cain; that's another work that's been hugely popular with "hard-boiled" subgenre fans, and has classic status. And you probably also would like any of Mickey Spillane's novels starring his series PI character, Mike Hammer, starting with I, the Jury.

Bestselling mystery writer Robert B. Parker is a Chandler fan, and he wrote a noir novel in the early 90s that was designed as a homage to Chandler. I'm pretty sure that one is titled Poodle Springs; you might like it as well.

message 4: by Werner (new)