Travel Literature Makes My Heart Beat Faster.. discussion

What is it you like about travel writing?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 56 (56 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Murray (new)

Murray Gunn (murraygunn) | 20 comments As a new travel writer, I'm interested in what people in this group like about travel writing? What style do you like to read and why do you enjoy it so much?

Are you reading for inspiration for your next holiday? Do you read because you can't travel yourself? Do the sights inspire you or the culture? Do you just want the story or do you want to know who's telling it?

What is it that makes your 'heart beat faster'?

message 2: by Andrea (new)

Andrea | 127 comments I like to know who's telling the story, but there seems to be a delicate balance between including the writer's voice and getting so interior that all that's there is the writer. I, personally, like the author to include more than just the observations of a single trip. I like history, natural history, anthropology, modern politics, some kind of hook so that I'm "learning" something as I read.

message 3: by Patrick (new)

Patrick Miller | 2 comments Many governments run 30-second TV spots promoting travel and tourism to a particular area. These are largely generic in nature, saying "come visit (insert place)." These spots offer beautiful visuals. However, literature can offer a much deeper and lasting emotional connection to a place, whether fiction set in a real location or nonfiction from a travel writer. Often, the writer's response to the place becomes an important part of the story, something that just can't be done on a typical TV spot or other travel advertisement. People might read a book for two hours with undivided attention. This makes travel literature the perfect vehicle for prospective tourists who want to learn more about a place before they visit.

message 4: by Rdonn (new)