Fans of Interracial Romance discussion

General Chatting > Do You Think This is Rude?

Comments Showing 1-37 of 37 (37 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stacy-Deanne (new)

Stacy-Deanne Stacy-Deanne (wwwgoodreadscomstacydeanne) Hi All,

This is a question some author friends of mine and I were discussing.

Do you think it's rude to email or write an author just to tell them you hated their book? Would you do this and have you ever done this?

I couldn't do that. It's not just because I am an author, it's because I'm not like that. I wouldn't write an author just to tell them I hated their book. What I would do was put my thoughts in a review (politely) if I wanted to express my opinion. I think it goes overboard to write an author JUST to be rude and tear their book down. Sure, authors should expect all kinds of mail from readers but I don't see the good of writing the author personally when you hate their book. I think that's like going to someone's house and making fun of their car. LOL! I just think that's being mean in my opinion. I think criticism would be more helpful in a review as long as it didn't personally attack the author.

Some authors mentioned they've gotten hateful mail and they didn't appreciate being written personally just to be ridiculed when it wasn't helpful.

What are your thoughts?

Best Wishes!

http://www.stacy-deanne.net

message 2: by Danielle The Book Huntress , Sees Love in All Colors (new)

Danielle The Book Huntress  (gatadelafuente) | 7314 comments Mod
I wouldn't do that. Here are my reasons:

1)It's very rude and uncalled for.

2)My time is too valuable to write a dislike/rant letter to a writer for a book.

3)I try to be a positive person and focus on the good and not the bad. I even feel bad giving a book a bad review on here or my blog. I am definitely not going to write an author just to tell her/him how much I disliked their book.