Fans of Interracial Romance discussion

Authors/Writers' Corner > Writing About Another Race

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Arch , Mod (new)

Arch  | 6570 comments Mod
When you write about a person from a different race than yours, do you just write what you feel the person will be like or do you research that race to make sure you present that person right?

I will speak for myself. I don't research anything. I write what I feel the person would be like, because we are all human and every race show their human side.

I know some people feels that "this race" wouldn't do this or wouldn't do that.

In my story, they will do what I want them to do.

I'm a make believe writer. I will write some make believe stuff in my stories, after all they are fiction and although fiction have reality in it - it also have make believe in it as well.

message 2: by A.M. (new)

A.M. | 349 comments Hi Arch,

Good questions. For me I guess my writing is more about writing human charcteristic that have nothing in particular to do with race, but more do with ones personality.

Like you I don't research, I just write the story as it the charcters tells it to me.

A.M./brenda

message 3: by Stephanie (new)

Stephanie Williams | 128 comments Hmmm, good topic. I come from this perspective:

Since I have traveled around the world since I was two, and lived in Italy for four years and still travel and married to a Sicilian, I noticed that there are some differences in how other races may respond to different sitations, how they love, their sarcasm (which is way different from ours), their bluntness, things like that.

In Northern Exposure, I wrote about a Finnish man. I've been to Finland many times, so it was easy to write about his personality.