Building a SciFi/Fantasy Library discussion

questions > New to Fantasy What should I read?

Comments Showing 1-37 of 37 (37 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Anthony (new)

Anthony | 1 comments I read Robert Jordan, Tolkein, and Patrick Rothfuss and enjoyed their work. I am new to the fantasy world and would like some tips of what I should be reading next.

message 2: by Werner (new)

Werner Tony, since I haven't read anything by Jordan or Rothfuss myself, I probably don't have a complete picture of what you like; but I have read Tolkien. I think you'd like Terry Brooks' Sword of Shannara series, starting with Sword of Shannara, because he's very much influenced by Tolkein (he finds more of his own voice in his Magic Kingdom of Landover series). R. A. Salvatore is another writer who owes a lot to Tolkien; I can recommend his Spearwielder's Saga, starting with The Woods Out Back.

You might also like Raymond Feist's Riftwar Saga, beginning with Magician: Apprentice. That work doesn't have Tolkien's quest structure, but it does feature wizards and is definitely epic fantasy.

message 3: by Linda (new)

Linda | 12 comments Hi you may enjoy Trudi canavan trilogy The Black Magician Or RA Salvatore books are good.He has several different series going.The forgotten reals series are also good.Each book is written by different people and there are a lot of different series.
Linda

message 4: by Dan (new)

Dan (dannytheinfidel) | 32 comments Gavrielle Guy Kay, all what he have written are more or less good stuff.

Ursula Le Guin, her books about Earth Sea are really good. More or less classics.

Katharine Kerr, good stuff, but be warned there are a lot of books in here series about Deverry.

Lois McMaster Bujold's books about Chalion are well written.

message 5: by Christina (new)

Christina (renobirds) | 1 comments Sara Douglass is one of my favorites!! Just finished Terry Goodking Sword of Truth Series and would recommend it!