Play Book Tag discussion
2023 Activities and Challenges
>
Subdue the Shelf Challenge and Rules
date
newest »


That's very fair. Thank you for responding. I just hope I don't get five 1's.

But... YAHTZEE! :-)

Amy, the bonus participation points require that you land on the book during the month of the matching tag. The Friendship tag is for April, so if you already landed on the book in March, it won't earn the extra participation points. You will still get the normal 2 points when you read and review it in April. And of course you will still move along the board. (When you get to the later boards, the rules change a little.) You might want to send a PM to Anita to check on your particular situation.
We are all keeping track of our rolls, dates, points, etc. to make it easier on Anita and Joanne. It's a good idea to add the dates to your rolls and reviews on your tracking log, especially when a roll matches the tag. Otherwise it will be too hard to verify anything.

Joy had the same situation as Olivermagnus earlier in the game. I didn't really have a good plan for this situation, and did not treat it in the same manner.
Joy is going to receive a compensatory move now that is equal to the dice she did not get to utilize.
However, going forward, we will handle this situation identically. The dice may be split up as described in post 107 should this situation arise again.

Just a heads up, The Sun Sister hardcover edition on Amazon is actually 656 pages. We use Amazon to verify the hardcover page count because Goodreads has often proved inaccurate.
So still extra dice, but not as many.

b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an extra move to use when you wish:
5-25 taggers - move forward 1 space
25-50 taggers - move forward 2 spaces
50-100 taggers move forward 5 spaces
More than 100 taggers - roll two dice
Does that mean roll two dice total? Or roll two dice in addition to your normal one for three dice total?

b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an extra move to use when you wish:
5-25 tagg..."
I interpret it to mean 2 extra rolls when you want, on top of a regular roll, or at a different time. It would have to be 2 rolls to make the reward more valuable than the 5 space reward for 50-100 tags.
I’m eager to get to the friendship and book club books on my new board, so I might use one of these rewards very soon to finish my current board.

b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an extra move to use when you wis..."
Last month was Japan and on my gameboard I landed on Surviving Hiroshima: A Young Woman's Story. So i guess this would give me 2 extra rolls when I want.

b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an extra move to u..."
It depends on how many Japan tags it has. If there are 5 to 25 Japan tags, you can move one space. You need 100 tags to get two extra rolls.

b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an extra move to u..."
@ Cosmic - The extra rolls only apply if you are on a gameboard other than Clerk, and I see you are on #16 Clerk. On the Clerk gameboard, you get 3 points if the book you land on matches that month's tag by at least 5 tags and you finish and review the book in same month.

b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an ..."
Good catch Theresa. I forgot about that.

b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an extra move to u..."
You need to complete the Clerk board before the extra rolls for the tag come into play.
The Clerk board has a more basic set of rules.
Let me know if there's confusion on this point, and I can provide more detail!!

If you are working your way through your original game board, great! Keep going! You will be eligible for consolation prizes, and we will continue to track your progress on our Master Board.
Once you have completed your initial game board, you will have the option to continue and earn one of the following designations by year's end:
Conductor (Pro) - 8 or more loops
Station Master (Expert) - 6 or more loops
Engineer (Advanced) - 4 or more loops
Porter (Easygoing) - 2 or more loops
Clerk (Novice) - 1 loop
But after your first loop, there will be some rule changes. These are enumerated below. Again, these rules only apply for people who have completed their game board once.
1. There will be a separate tracking thread for each loop, so if you have finished as a Clerk, you must re-initiate your board on the Porter (Easygoing) tracking thread. You may copy over the exact same board, OR you may revise the board as much as you wish.
2. You may now only roll ONE die at a time.
3. You may only ask for a new roll of the die once you have completed your book and reviewed it.
4. You will start over with 2 swaps when you begin a new board. However you may carry over any other special prizes you received/earned to the new board.
5. You will still be eligible for special rolls, however a special roll will be designated by two adjacent rolls of the die. For example, if your first roll in round two is a 6 and your second roll in round two is a 4, then you will be eligible for the 6-4 special roll and the surprise advantage that goes with that.
6. Special rolls may still impact people on the original board and vice-versa.
7. For those that are no longer on the original gameboard, some new benefits and challenges kick in.
a) If you read a book longer than 500 pages you get to roll an extra die for every incremental 100 pages. So a 500 page book let's you roll two dice on your next turn. A 600 page book let's you roll 3 dice, and so on.
b) If you land on a book that has the same tag as the monthly tag, you will get an extra move in conjunction with any future roll:
5-25 taggers - move forward 1 space
25-50 taggers - move forward 2 spaces
50-100 taggers move forward 5 spaces
More than 100 taggers - roll two dice
This award must be noted on your tracking thread at the time you land on the book that earns it. The book does not need to be completed/reviewed in the month with the tag . . .this bonus is triggered when you land on the book.
c) Every Sunday will be "Shake It Up Sunday". Everyone on a board above Clerk (Novice) will be entered into the randomizer. The person selected will roll the die, and move backward whatever number is rolled on their next turn. The book on that space must be read and reviewed before progressing forward again.
d) In honor of PBT's 15th birthday, if you land on the 15th spot on your board, whether you move forward to that spot or backward to that spot, the randomizer will pick a number between 15 and 100, and you will transport to that spot on your board.

"a) If you read a book longer than 500 pages you get to roll an extra die for every incremental 100 pages. So a 500 page book let's you roll two dice on your next turn. A 600 page book let's you roll 3 dice, and so on."
Where do we get the page count from? Is it the Amazon hard cover book? Or is it a hardcover edition from here on GR?
I'm reading A Time for Mercy by Grisham and my paperback copy has over 600 pages, but many other editions only have 400-something pages.
But there are a lot of editions.
And yes, I know this has been asked before, but that could have been in any number of threads, so I'm asking again. Thanks.


Thank you!
Books mentioned in this topic
A Time for Mercy (other topics)Surviving Hiroshima: A Young Woman's Story (other topics)
The Sun Sister (other topics)
The Sun Sister (other topics)
The Sun Sister (other topics)
More...
Oh, my apologies. I may have looked at the wrong rule. Eek. I looked at the rule regarding the book fitting the tag, not the rule regarding the length.
I deleted my incorrect response.
The rule for length is:
If you read a book longer than 500 pages you get to roll an extra die for every incremental 100 pages. So a 500 page book let's you roll two dice on your next turn .
But I will allow you to use part of the roll to roll off the end and the rest of the roll to start your new board. You need to use the dice in order though. So if the dice are 5-4-6-1-2, the 5 and the 4 will need to be used to get off the end of the board, and then the remaining 3 dice can be used on the next board. If the roll is 1-1-1-4-6, you would need to use the 1-1-1-4 to get off the end and then you can use the 6 on the new board.