Science Fiction Microstory Contest discussion

JUNE - 2020 - MICROSTORY CONTEST (COMMENTS ONLY)

Comments Showing 1-41 of 41 (41 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tom (new)

Tom Olbert | 1056 comments Theme: Military Service
Required elements:

1) Veteran families
2) Honoring the fallen

message 2: by Jack (new)

Jack McDaniel | 245 comments Holy shit! Dean's back! Welcome.

message 3: by Dean (new)

Dean Hardage | 82 comments Jack wrote: "Holy shit! Dean's back! Welcome."
Thanks, Jack. I haven't really gone anywhere, just got pulled away by life and other things. As a former soldier, I felt particularly attached to this theme.

message 4: by Jack (last edited Jun 04, 2020 03:21PM) (new)

Jack McDaniel | 245 comments Dean wrote:
Thanks, Jack. I haven't really gone anywhere, just got pulled away by life and other things. As a former soldier, I felt particularly attached to this..."

That I understand. I've been missing a lot myself. Timely theme for me. I do a lot of volunteer work here in Colorado with veterans and the homeless. A buddy of mine is former Air Force and he gets out to the graves of our fallen soldiers regularly, in particular the kids who lost their lives in Iraq and Afghanistan. One of the things we do is clean up the grave site, put in a flag and flowers and say a few words. Usually, I take a photo and Tony delivers it to the family. It's a simple thing, but it means the world to the families involved.

My brother is former Delta Force and Homeland Security. He suffers from PTSD and a few other things now. So, I like to think by doing my part here someone in Virginia might do something for him.

My most recent novel, Purple Hearted Man, is the story of a war vet who suffers from PTSD and a psychotic break.

Glad you wrote a story. I will read it soon.

message 5: by Dean (last edited Jun 05, 2020 06:22AM) (new)