The Magical Universe of Books discussion

Author's Corner: Yourself/Books > R J Askew ~ One Swift Summer

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by R.J. (last edited Oct 29, 2014 02:29PM) (new)

R.J. Askew (rjaskew) | 12 comments Greetings all. I live in St Albans just outside London. I was a journalist and editor with a big news agency until recently. Literary fiction's my preference, esp novellas. I also read and review a lot as well as write. One Swift Summer is a story of redemption set in Kew Gardens. I wrote it in about 2001. I collected a file of rejection letters from agents and the story slept under my bed, gathering dust n dead spiders for a decade. No rush! Pitch: a young photo-journalist needs to refocus her life after seeing one too many wars. She meets Tom after she scopes in on his smile through her camera lens. I hope you will be tempted to have a look at how she is drawn by Tom. I am happy to discuss any aspect of writing, editing, reading. My itch is to do more voice work online, in part to practice for public readings. I used to read poetry in public, but I was never very well rehearsed. Still, it's great to breathe life into creative work. I look fwd to hearing from you. *bows*
One Swift Summer by R.J. Askew

T4bsF (Call me Flo) (time4bedsaidflorence) It looks interesting RJ - I would be tempted if I didn't have so many on my tbr list at the moment. Good luck with it and welcome to the group.

message 3: by R.J. (new)

R.J. Askew (rjaskew) | 12 comments Cheers CMF .. I am more than happy to be in the Magical Universe .. best place to be! *bows*

p.s. what is top of your list?

message 4: by R.J. (last edited Oct 30, 2014 12:47PM) (new)