Our Shared Shelf discussion

3419 views
Book Suggestions > What To Read Next: More Refugee related books

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 2: by Kate (new)

Kate (katetakate) | 96 comments Oh ok thanks Meelie, yes that’s a better spot for this topic. I’ve amended my comment so it makes sense and links back to the OSS picks.


message 3: by Pam (new)

Pam | 1070 comments Mod
This is wonderful. Thank you Kate!


message 4: by David (new)

David Simmons | 8 comments I agree


message 5: by Apeksha (last edited Aug 05, 2019 09:56PM) (new)

Apeksha | 2 comments Currently reading the ARC of The Beekeeper Of Aleppo. It is truly a brilliant piece of work. I highly recommend this read (releasing on August 27).
Also, loved reading We Are Displaced by Malala.


message 6: by Alda (new)

Alda Saldan (bioarla) | 12 comments I can recommend What Is the What by Dave Eggers. It's the tough story of Valentino Achak Deng, a child refugee from South Sudan, who was forced to leave his village during the Sudanese Civil War and became a "lost boy of Sudan".


message 7: by Kate (last edited Aug 06, 2019 03:49PM) (new)

Kate (katetakate) | 96 comments @Pam and @David, thanks, happy reading! @Apeksha and @Alda thanks those books sound interesting, I’ll check them out of my library.


message 8: by Laura (new)

Laura Heaney | 13 comments I recommend reading. - Devil's Highway


message 9: by Kate (new)

Kate (katetakate) | 96 comments @Emma, my pleasure! @Laura thanks for the reccomendation. Please can you clarify the author? I’ve searched and found a few books with that title. Thanks!


message 10: by Kate (new)

Kate (katetakate) | 96 comments Have to add: I just finished Fruit of the Drunken Tree - it is phenomenal both in its content and Ingrid Rojas Contreras’s writing style! Considered both a refugee related book and a feminist fiction novel (with thriller genre and coming of age narrative) exploring the choices women especially make during the challenging times of Pablo Escobar’s era in Bogotá, Colombia.

Lots to discuss related to OSS ethos actually...I have recommended it as a OSS book pick too as hopefully it is affordable and accessible in paperback worldwide at various places.

Thanks for those suggestions above - I’ve just got them from my library, look forward to reading! Happy reading :)


message 11: by Kim (new)

Kim Murphy  (kimfromthemillennialss) | 1 comments Hi! I have the perfect book suggestion for next read. The book is called Hassana Kaur by Shah S. Sahota. She's a self published author on Lulu. The book is about women, gender equality, sexuality and feminism. The book is on my currently reading list! ( I think I posted in the wrong area earlier.)

Here the link: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/ShahSSa...


message 12: by Laura (new)

Laura Heaney | 13 comments @Kate I highly recommend...The Devil"s Highway - a true story
By Luis Alberto Urrea


message 13: by Natasha (new)

Natasha (jouljet) (jouljet) | 3 comments Great thread!

I can recommend:

The Last Girl by Nadia Murad

The People Smuggler: The True Story of Ali Al Jenabi, the 'Oskar Schindler of Asia' by Robin De Crespigny

Unbreakable Threads by Emma Adams

No Friend But The Mountains by Behrouz Boochani (Kurdish journalist writing from Australia's refugee detention centre on Manus Island, PNG - written via covert WhatsApp messages, and brilliantly translated)

The Bone Sparrow by Zana Frallion

No Man Is An Island by Adele Dumont (an account of working in a remote detention centre for refugees in Australia)


message 14: by Pam (new)

Pam | 1070 comments Mod
Natasha wrote: No Man Is An Island by Adele Dumont (an account of working in a remote detention centre for refugees in Australia..."

Ooh. I heard that's pretty bad. People waiting for years in a refugee holding facility without word if they can leave or if they could come into to Australia. Thanks for the recommendation!


message 15: by Kate (new)

Kate (katetakate) | 96 comments @Laura thank you for the author clarification, I will look it up.


message 16: by Kate (new)

Kate (katetakate) | 96 comments @Natasha - ohh great suggestions, I have The last girl I need to read and I look forward to seeking out those other titles! Thanks!


message 17: by Laura (new)

Laura Heaney | 13 comments @Kate I would be curious to hear your thoughts about The Devil's Highway if/when you read it. It was very powerful for me, especially since I had just finished a summer of humanitarian work in the Sonoran desert (and we found full skeletal remains during an outing). 💔


message 18: by Leon (last edited Jan 13, 2020 07:32AM) (new)

Leon Stevens (leon_stevens) | 8 comments Hello everyone,

Not a book, but a poem on the related topic that I wrote. I wrote it after seeing so many news stories about people having to flee their homes all over the world. I also composed music for it.

If (The Refugee)

If I stay home
I will starve
If I remain where I grew up
I will be poor
If I linger where my roots are
violence will take me
If I refuse to leave
I will be forced to do
dreadful things
If I knock on your door
It's not because I want to
It's because
I want to live

Video
If (The Refugee)


message 19: by Leonore (new)

Leonore (sjorsdottir) I would strongly recommend City of Jasmine by by Olga Grjasnowa.

Amal, Hammoudi and Youssef are young and ambitious, the face of modern Syria. But when civil war tears through their homeland, they are left with a horrifying choice: risk death by staying in the country they love, or flee in search of a new life elsewhere?

The book gives an emphatic insight on how these people experience the war in Syria and how it eventually motivates them all to seek refuge in another country, although leaving behind your home, your family, your career, your country isn't quite as easy as some people like to make it seem.


message 20: by Pam (new)

Pam | 1070 comments Mod
Grace wrote: "What happens when a woman is forced to choose between her country and her family?.."

Thank you Grace, but according to the Group Rules all members are to refrain from self promotion. Please remove the post or the moderators will remove it for you.


message 21: by Samuel (new)

Samuel Willoughby | 4 comments I would recommend an Australian book I’m studying at school which is absolutely amazing. ‘Foreign Soils’ by Maxine Beneba Clarke is great!


message 23: by Mary (new)

Mary | 5 comments The Secret Sky: A Novel of Forbidden Love in Afghanistan by Atia Abawi. A couple from two different ethnic groups flees the threat of honor killings from religious extremists, as well as the abuse from their own families.


message 24: by Katherine (new)

Katherine Books clap when you land/ elizaberh acevedo


message 25: by Katherine (new)

Katherine Books i am not your perfect mexican daughter


message 26: by Katherine (new)

Katherine Books somethin fierce carmen aguirre


message 27: by Katherine (new)

Katherine Books something to declare julia alvarez


message 28: by Katherine (new)

Katherine Books land of unknown anericans cristin henriquez


message 29: by Kate (new)

Kate (katetakate) | 96 comments Great book suggestions everyone!! Thanks for adding more.


back to top