College Students! discussion

books, books, and more books! > When it comes to required readings--is there a limit

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Daniel (last edited Aug 21, 2009 08:01PM) (new)

Daniel Clausen Before I started graduate school as an International Relations student, I was an English major. I use to think that the reading load for those classes were tough: typically 7-10 books a class as well as articles. But one of the courses I'm taking this semester has 17 books. And not think ones either, some of them are full on thick size textbooks. I was just wondering how that compares with your guys class. There is a consensus that there is no way to actually do that much reading for a single class--and essentially each student needs to make tough choices about what to read and what not to read. But at what point do course syllabuses just become information overload?

Abigail (42stitches) | 53 comments Wow, granted I've never done grad studies, but that seems a little harsh. The most I have ever had for a single class was required internet reading, three small to medium sized text books (one was mostly pictures) and a list of other recommended but not required books. Granted that was a drawing class and we were also expected to draw approximately 10 hours a week outside of class and memorize about 100 or more human muscles (names and locations). I never read any of the extra books...

Do they really expect you to read everything? Or are some of them recommended only for a couple of chapters? That just seems ridiculous. Out of morbid curiosity, care to post a list of these books?

message 3: by Kellie (new)