SciFi and Fantasy Book Club discussion

Recommendations and Lost Books > Looking for books that feature Mars

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Odette (new)

Odette (odman) | 29 comments I am just new to this group as I have recently joined a real life SciFi/Fantasy book club. I am also fairly new to this genre, of which I want to read more. The theme for the next meeting is Mars.
Just looking for recommendations for books that feature Mars.

message 2: by Gary (new)

Gary (plaidchuck) | 55 comments I'm gonna be that guy, but The Martian

message 3: by CBRetriever (new)

CBRetriever | 4625 comments Red Mars
Green Mars
Blue Mars
= a series by Kim Stanley Robinson

A Princess of Mars
The Gods of Mars
The Warlord of Mars
The Chessmen of Mars
Thuvia, Maid of Mars
Swords of Mars
John Carter of Mars = first book in series which was made into a movie
several other books
a fantasy series by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Podkayne of Mars
by Robert Heinlein

Mars
by Ben Bova

The Sands of Mars
by Arthur C. Clarke

Old Mars
by George R,R, Martin

message 4: by John (new)

John Siers | 255 comments … and of course
The Martian Chronicles
by Ray Bradbury

message 5: by Jacqueline (new)

Jacqueline | 2306 comments We Can Remember it for you Wholesale by Phillip K Dick. The story that the movie Total Recall was loosely based on.

message 6: by Jacqueline (new)

Jacqueline | 2306 comments Also a couple of Doctor Who stories take place on Mars or are about Mars. Anything involving the Ice Warriors or the Waters of Mars.

message 7: by Karin (last edited Jul 22, 2018 05:39PM) (new)

Karin | 773 comments Don't forget Out of the Silent Planet and Stranger in a Strange Land which are both classics. I really enjoyed The Martian (already mentioned) but read Podkayne of Mars as a kid so don't know if I'd like it now.